Edinburgh Global Online Distance Learning Master's Scholarships

The University of Edinburgh will offer 6 Master's scholarships for eligible distance learning Master's programmes offered by the University.

Scholarships will be available for students pursuing one of the following distance learning programmes:

College of Humanities and Social Science

  • MSc Advanced Clinical Skills
  • MSc Creative Writing
  • MSc Digital Education (including PG Certificate and PG Diploma)
  • MSc Global Challenges
  • MSc History (Online Distance Learning)
  • LLM Information Technology Law
  • LLM Innovation, Technology and the Law
  • LLM Intellectual Property Law
  • LLM International Commercial Law and Practive
  • MSc Landscape, Environment & History
  • LLM Law
  • LLM Medical Law and Ethics
  • MSc Mental Health and Well-being of Children, Young People and Families

College of Science and Engineering

  • MSc Next Generation Drug Discovery
  • MSc Research-Informed Science Education

College of Medicine and Veterinary Medicine

  • ChM General Surgery
  • MSc Biodiversity, Wildlife and Ecosystem Health
  • MSc Clinical Education
  • MSc Clinical Management of Pain
  • MSc Clinical Trials
  • MVetSci Conservation Medicine
  • MSc Equine Science
  • MSc Global eHealth
  • MSc Global Health and Infectious Diseases
  • MSc Global Health: Non Communicable Diseases
  • MSc Imaging
  • MSc Internal Medicine
  • MSc International Animal Health
  • MSc International Animal Welfare, Ethics and Law
  • MSc Neuroimaging for Research
  • MSc One Health
  • MSc Paediatric Emergency Medicine
  • MSc Surgical Sciences
  • MSc Translational Medicine

Each scholarship will have a total value of £5,000 which will be deducted from the tuition fee for the entire part-time programme of study.


The scholarships will be awarded to students who are accepted for admission onto the above eligible distance learning Master's programmes at the University of Edinburgh. Applicants must be both nationals of and resident in the following countries:

  • Afghanistan
  • Bangladesh
  • Benin
  • Burkina Faso
  • Burundi
  • Cambodia
  • Central African Republic
  • Chad
  • Comoros
  • Congo, Dem Rep
  • Côte d'Ivoire
  • Eritrea
  • Ethiopia
  • Gambia, The
  • Ghana
  • Guinea
  • Guinea-Bissau
  • Haiti
  • India
  • Kenya
  • Korea, Dem Rep
  • Kyrgyz Republic
  • Lao PDR
  • Liberia
  • Madagascar
  • Malawi
  • Mali
  • Mauritania
  • Mongolia
  • Mozambique
  • Myanmar
  • Nepal
  • Niger
  • Nigeria
  • Pakistan
  • Papua New Guinea
  • Rwanda
  • São Tomé and Principe
  • Senegal
  • Sierra Leone
  • Solomon Islands
  • Somalia
  • South Sudan
  • Sudan
  • Tajikistan
  • Tanzania
  • Timor-Leste
  • Togo
  • Uganda
  • Uzbekistan
  • Vietnam
  • Yemen, Rep
  • Zambia
  • Zimbabwe

Applicants should already have been offered a place at the University of Edinburgh and should have firmly accepted that offer or be intending to do so.


The scholarship will be awarded broadly on the basis of academic merit. Candidates must have, or expect to obtain, a UK first class or 2:1 Honours degree at undergraduate level or the international equivalent.


This award is now closed. We can no longer accept applications for the 2014-2015 session.

Selection Procedure

A Selection Committee will meet in June 2014 to select the scholarship holders. The winners of the scholarships will be announced in July 2014.

Accessibility menu