Institutes and Centres

In our Interdisciplinary Research Centres critical masses of clinical and basic scientists interact closely around their basic-to-translational goals, overcoming boundaries between "wet" and "dry" science and primary and secondary care, adding substantial value and offering the finest research training environments.

The excellence of these Centres is evidenced by prestigious external funding awards including: 4 Medical Research Council (MRC) Centres, 2 British Heart Foundation (BHF) Centres, a Cancer Research UK (CRUK) Centre, an Asthma UK (A-UK) Centre for Applied Research, a BBSRC Strategically funded institute (The Roslin Institute), an MRC University Unit (Human Genetics Unit) and a World Health Organisation (WHO) Collaborating Centre on Population Health Research and Training.

Centre for Reproductive Biology

The College has five major research Institutes, each with more than 500 staff and postgraduates. The Institutes consist of 3-5 interrelated Centres led by internationally renowned scientists.

The institutes at the CMVM include:

  • The Queen’s Medical Research Institute (QMRI; Director, Prof Chris Haslett, FMedSci OBE) at the new Royal Infirmary of Edinburgh (RIE) campus
  • The MRC Institute of Genetics and Molecular Medicine (IGMM; Director, Prof Nick Hastie, FRS FMedSci CBE) at the Western General Hospital (WGH) campus
  • Edinburgh Neuroscience (Director, Prof Charles ffrench-Constant)
  • The Roslin Institute (associated with the Royal (Dick) School of Veterinary Studies and Edinburgh Infectious Diseases; Director, Prof David Hume, FMedSci)
  • The Usher Institute of Population Health Sciences and Informatics (Director, Prof Andrew Morris)

Accessibility menu