Staff list

Health & Safety Department:

Health and Safety Office

Charles Stewart House, 9-16 Chambers, Edinburgh, EH1 1HT.
Fax: 0131 651 4260 Email: Health.Safety@ed.ac.uk

Name Role Telephone
Mr Alastair Reid
Alastair.Reid@ed.ac.uk
Director 651 4257
Mrs Karen Darling (Mon-Thurs)
Karen.Darling@ed.ac.uk
Deputy Director 651 4258
Ms Caroline McEachen
Caroline.McEachen@ed.ac.uk
Departmental Administrator 650 8189
Mrs Joanna Chmielewski
Joanna.Chmielewski@ed.ac.uk
Secretary 651 4255
Mrs Lorna Fraser (Mon - Wed)
Lorna.Fraser@ed.ac.uk
Secretary 651 4255/4773

Biological Safety Unit

Charles Stewart House, 9-16 Chambers Street, Edinburgh, EH1 1HT.
Fax: 0131 651 4260 Email: Biosafety@ed.ac.uk

Name Role Telephone
Dr Chris Perrons
Chris.Perrons@ed.ac.uk
University Biological Safety Adviser 651 4245
Dr Fiona Harris
F.Harris@ed.ac.uk
Biosafety Training and Development Assistant 650 8013

Fire Safety Unit

9-11, Infirmary Street, Edinburgh, EH1 1NP.
Fax: 0131 651 4260 Email: Fire@ed.ac.uk

Name Role Telephone
Mr Jim Hogg (Not Wednesdays)
Jim.Hogg@ed.ac.uk
Deputy Fire Safety Adviser 651 3051
Mr Graeme Ferguson
Graeme.Ferguson@ed.ac.uk
Fire Safety Area Supervisor 650 9951
Mr Robin Griffiths
Robin.Griffiths@ed.ac.uk
Fire Safety Co-ordinator 650 9954
Mr Brian Quinn
Brian.Quinn@ed.ac.uk
Fire Safety Co-ordinator 651 3052
Mrs Caroline Smith
Caroline.Smith@ed.ac.uk
Unit Secretary 651 1226

Occupational Health Unit

Drummond Street Annexe, Drummond Street, Edinburgh, EH8 9XP.
Fax: 0131 650 9149 Email: Occupational.Health@ed.ac.uk

Name Role Telephone
Mrs Janet Craig (Mon - Thurs)
Janet.Craig@ed.ac.uk
Occupational Health Manager 651 4302
Dr Robert Malcolm (Alternate Thursdays)
Robert.Malcom@ed.ac.uk
Occupational Health Physician 650 8190
Ms Isabel Jack (Tues - Fri)
Isabel.Jack@ed.ac.uk
Senior Occupational Health Adviser 650 8192
Mr Daniel Richards (Not Tuesdays)
Daniel.Richards@ed.ac.uk
Occupational Health Adviser 650 2209
Mrs Helen Gilroy
Helen.Gilroy@ed.ac.uk
Administrative Assistant 650 8190

Occupational Hygiene Unit

Charles Stewart House, 9-16 Chambers, Edinburgh, EH1 1HT.
Fax: 0131 651 4260 Email: Occupational.Hygiene@ed.ac.uk

Name Role Telephone
Ms Candice Schmid (Mon-Thurs)
Candice.Schmid@ed.ac.uk
Health and Safety Adviser 651 4261

Radiation Protection Unit

Charles Stewart House, 9-16 Chambers, Edinburgh, EH1 1HT.
Fax: 0131 651 4260 Email: Radiation@ed.ac.uk

Name Role Telephone
Mr Colin Farmery
Colin.Farmery@ed.ac.uk
University Radiation Protection Adviser 650 2818
Mr Mark Green
Mark.Green@ed.ac.uk
Assistant Radiation Protection Adviser 650 2819

Training and Audit Unit

Charles Stewart House, 9-16 Chambers, Edinburgh, EH1 1HT.
Fax: 0131 651 4260 Email: Safety.Training@ed.ac.uk

Name Role Telephone
Mr Lawrence Dickson
Lawrence.Dickson@ed.ac.uk
Training and Audit Coordinator 651 4259
Mr John Nimmo
John.Nimmo@ed.ac.uk
Health and Safety (First Aid) Trainer 651 4256
Mrs Susan Woodman
Susan.Woodman@ed.ac.uk
Commercial and e-training Administrator 650 2394

Accessibility menu