Teaching staff

The Carbon Capture and Storage MSc programme is taught by a number of experts in their field:

Programme Director

Dr Mark Wilkinson

Mark is a geologist, with expertise in diagenesis. He is Programme Director for Stream 1: Carbon Capture and Storage.

Professor Jon Gibbins

Jon is an engineer, with expertise in combustion, power plant and CO2 capture engineering. He is Programme Director for Stream 2: Carbon Capture and Storage (Engineering).

Course Organisers

Professor Stuart Haszeldine

Stuart has wide research interests involving the movement and geochemistry of fluids in porous and fractured sedimentary rocks. He is the ScottishPower Professor of Carbon Capture and Storage.

Professor Stefano Brandani

Stefano is Professor of Chemical Engineering and is particularly interested in adsorption and membrane gas separations, and fluidization

Dr Ondrej Masek

Ondrej's research covers a wide range of energy technologies, mainly in the areas of CO2 capture and transport and biomass conversion.

Dr Hyungwoong Ahn

Hyungwoong is a member of the Materials and Processes Research Institute in the School of Engineering and works on CO2 separation process design and integration.

Dr Hannah Chalmers

Hannah’s interests include engineering analysis of CCS systems and techno-economic evaluation of power plants with CO2 capture.

Dr Maria-Chiara Ferrari

Chiara is a chemical engineer with particular expertise in membranes for CO2 capture.

Dr Mathieu Lucquiaud

Mathieu’s interests include power plant/capture plant integration and operation, post-combustion capture, carbon capture readiness and future proofing CCS power plants.

Accessibility menu