People

List of all academic, research, technical and administrative staff.

For corrections, please contact the Institute Secretary below.

Institute of Molecular Plant Sciences staff list

Head of Institute

NameEmail AddressTelephone
Professor Andrew Hudson A.Hudson@ed.ac.uk +44 (0) 131 651 3383

Institute Secretary

NameEmail AddressTelephone
Louise Bishop Louise.Bishop@ed.ac.uk +44 (0) 131 650 5366

Building Manager

NameEmail AddressTelephone
George McMillan George.McMillan@ed.ac.uk +44 (0) 131 650 5438

Administrative Staff

NamePositionEmail AddressTelephone
Toni Jenkins Postgraduate Programme Administrator Toni.Jenkins@ed.ac.uk +44 (0) 131 650 7366

Academic Staff and Principal Investigators

NameResearch InterestEmail Address
DOERNER, Peter Dr Plant Development & Evolution Peter.Doerner@ed.ac.uk
FRY, Stephen Professor Plant cell wall biochemistry S.Fry@ed.ac.uk
GOODRICH, Justin Dr Plant Development & Evolution Justin.Goodrich@ed.ac.uk
HUDSON, Andrew Professor Plant Development & Evolution A.Hudson@ed.ac.uk
KIDNER, Catherine Dr Plant Development & Evolution Catherine.Kidner@ed.ac.uk
LOAKE, Gary Professor Plant Pathology & Fungal Biology G.Loake@ed.ac.uk
MCCORMICK, Alistair Dr Plant molecular physiology and synthetic biology Alistair.McCormick@ed.ac.uk
MILNE, Richard Dr Plant Development & Evolution R.Milne@ed.ac.uk
MOLNAR, Attila Dr RNA silencing and epigenetic gene regulation in plants Attila.Molnar@ed.ac.uk
NAGY, Ferenc Professor Photobiology Ferenc.Nagy@ed.ac.uk
NAKAYAMA, Naomi Dr Biomechanics and synthetic morphology naomi.nakayama@ed.ac.uk
OPARKA, Karl Professor Plant cell biology Karl.Oparka@ed.ac.uk
SPOEL, Steven Dr Signalling and transcription Steven.Spoel@ed.ac.uk
VAN OOIJEN, Gerben Dr Circadian clocks Gerben.vanOoijen@ed.ac.uk

Honorary and Visiting Staff

NamePositionEmail Address
Dr Crinan Alexander Honorary Fellow c.alexander@rbge.ac.uk
Dr George Argent Honorary Fellow
Professor Stephen Blackmore CBE Honorary Professor S.Blackmore@rbge.ac.uk
Dr David Chamberlain Honorary Fellow d.chamberlain@rbge.org.uk
Professor John E Dale Professor Emeritus
Professor Mary Gibby OBE Honorary Professor
Dr David Harris Honorary Fellow d.harris@rbge.ac.uk
Dr Stephan Helfer Honorary Fellow s.helfer@rbge.org.uk
Professor Peter Hollingsworth Honorary Fellow p.hollingsworth@rbge.org.uk
Professor David Ingram Honorary Professor
Dr Chris Jeffree Honorary Fellow C.Jeffree@ed.ac.uk
Dr David Long Honorary Fellow
Professor Toby Pennington Honorary Fellow t.pennington@rbge.ac.uk
Dr James Ratter Honorary Fellow
Dr Louis Ronse de Craene Honorary Fellow l.ronsedecraene@rbge.ac.uk
Professor Misha Taliansky Visiting Professor
Professor Lesley Torrance Visiting Professor
Professor A J Trewavas Professor Emeritus trewavas@ed.ac.uk

Research Staff

NameGroup / PositionEmail Address
Erica De Leau Oparka Group (Research Technician)E.S.deLeau@ed.ac.uk
Dr Lenka Franková Fry Group (Research Fellow)lenka.frankova@ed.ac.uk
Dr Debra Frederickson Matika Molnar Group (Research Technician)Deb.Fredericksonmatika@ed.ac.uk
Dr Eve-Marie Josse Nagy Group (Postdoctoral Research Associate)Eve-Marie.Josse@ed.ac.uk
Dr Kirsten Knox Oparka Group (Postdoctoral Research Associate)kirsten.knox@ed.ac.uk
Dr Michael Skelly Spoel Group (Postdoctoral Research Associate)M.Skelly@ed.ac.uk
Dr Xin Tian Doerner Group (Postdoctoral Research Associate)Xin.Tian@ed.ac.uk
Dr Manda Yu Loake Group (Research fellow)M.Yu@ed.ac.uk

Technical Staff

NameGroup / PositionEmail Address
Karen Bell Oparka Group (Research Technician) k.j.bell@ed.ac.uk
Janice Miller Fry Group (Senior Research Technician) Janice.Miller@ed.ac.uk
Stephen Mitchell Oparka Group (Electron Microscopy Technician) Steve.Mitchell@ed.ac.uk

PhD Students

NameGroup / PositionEmail Address
Mansour Abdullah Kidner Group (PhD Student) s0974592@sms.ed.ac.uk
Priya Ayyar Loake Group (PhD Student) s1065986@sms.ed.ac.uk
Karina Banda Rodriguez Kidner Group (PhD Student) s1267301@sms.ed.ac.uk
Matthew Barnbrook Hudson Group (PhD Student) s1257960@sms.ed.ac.uk
Karen Bell Oparka Group (PhD Student) s0976135@sms.ed.ac.uk
Samuel Casasola Zamora Loake Group (PhD Student) s1360781@sms.ed.ac.uk
Tao-Ho Chang Loake Group (PhD Student) s1267194@sms.ed.ac.uk
James Clugston Milne Lab (PhD Student) s1255427@sms.ed.ac.uk
Rebecca Dewhirst Fry Group (PhD Student) s0811975@sms.ed.ac.uk
Alan Elliott Milne Lab (PhD Student) s1053182@sms.ed.ac.uk
Katie Emelianova Kidner Group (PhD Student) s1257940@sms.ed.ac.uk
Nurun Fancy Loake Group (PhD Student) s1128203@sms.ed.ac.uk
Yue Fei Molnar Group (PhD Student) s1431345@sms.ed.ac.uk
James Furniss Spoel Group (PhD Student) s0790814@sms.ed.ac.uk
Maria Camila Gomez Gutierrez Milne Lab (PhD Student) s1051835@sms.ed.ac.uk
Kathryn GRant Nakayama Group (PhD Student) K.R.Grant@sms.ed.ac.uk
Lipczak Hansen van Ooijen Lab (PhD Student) s1365154@sms.ed.ac.uk
Claire Holland Fry Group (PhD Student) s0680243@sms.ed.ac.uk
Rafael Homem Loake Group (PhD Student) s1153186@sms.ed.ac.uk
Suzy Howat Loake Group (PhD Student) s1139120@sms.ed.ac.uk
Sophie Kneeshaw Spoel Group (PhD Student) s1238571@sms.ed.ac.uk
Lakmini Kumarage Milne Lab (PhD Student) s1051343@sms.ed.ac.uk
Yuan Li Loake Group (PhD Student) s1066310@sms.ed.ac.uk
Laura Lopes del Egidio Kidner Group (MSc by Research Student) s1372642@sms.ed.ac.uk
Jibril Lubega Loake Group (PhD Student) J.Lubega@sms.ed.ac.uk
Javier Luna Castro Kidner Group (PhD Student) s1165177@sms.ed.ac.uk
Franklin MacHin Doerner Group (PhD Student) s1365157@sms.ed.ac.uk
Kyran Maloney Loake Group (PhD Student) K.Maloney-2@sms.ed.ac.uk
Azizah Nahari Doerner Group (PhD Student) s106653@sms.ed.ac.uk
Cam Tu Nguyen Phan Fry Group (PhD Student) s1066432@sms.ed.ac.uk
Marisol Ochoa Villarreal Loake Group (PhD Student) s1355580@sms.ed.ac.uk
Danae Paultre Oparka Group (PhD Student) s0785500@sms.ed.ac.uk
Pumi Perera Goodrich Group (PhD Student) s1150633@sms.ed.ac.uk
Anne Ritzenhoff Fry Group (PhD student) s1374323@sms.ed.ac.uk
Ghulam Sahi Loake Group (PhD Student) s0977123@sms.ed.ac.uk
Tom Simmons Fry Group (PhD Student) s0936167@sms.ed.ac.uk
Ying Tan Hudson Group (PhD Student) s1326403@sms.ed.ac.uk
Eric Thorand Nakayama Group (PhD Student) e.thorand@sms.ed.ac.uk
Lewis Watt Spoel Group (PhD Student) L.G.Watt@sms.ed.ac.uk

Accessibility menu