List of all academic, research, technical and administrative staff.

For corrections, please contact the Institute Secretary below.

Institute of Molecular Plant Sciences staff list

Head of Institute

NameEmail AddressTelephone
Professor Andrew Hudson +44 (0) 131 651 3383

Institute Secretary

NameEmail AddressTelephone
Louise Bishop +44 (0) 131 650 5366

Building Manager

NameEmail AddressTelephone
George McMillan +44 (0) 131 650 5438

Administrative Staff

NamePositionEmail AddressTelephone
Toni Jenkins Postgraduate Programme Administrator +44 (0) 131 650 7366

Academic Staff and Principal Investigators

NameResearch InterestEmail Address
DOERNER, Peter Dr Plant Development & Evolution
FRY, Stephen Professor Plant cell wall biochemistry
GOODRICH, Justin Dr Plant Development & Evolution
HUDSON, Andrew Professor Plant Development & Evolution
KIDNER, Catherine Dr Plant Development & Evolution
LOAKE, Gary Professor Plant Pathology & Fungal Biology
MCCORMICK, Alistair Dr Plant molecular physiology and synthetic biology
MILNE, Richard Dr Plant Development & Evolution
MOLNAR, Attila Dr RNA silencing and epigenetic gene regulation in plants
NAGY, Ferenc Professor Photobiology
NAKAYAMA, Naomi Dr Biomechanics and synthetic morphology
OPARKA, Karl Professor Plant cell biology
SPOEL, Steven Dr Signalling and transcription
VAN OOIJEN, Gerben Dr Circadian clocks

Honorary and Visiting Staff

NamePositionEmail Address
Dr Crinan Alexander Honorary Fellow
Dr George Argent Honorary Fellow
Professor Stephen Blackmore CBE Honorary Professor
Dr David Chamberlain Honorary Fellow
Professor John E Dale Professor Emeritus
Professor Mary Gibby OBE Honorary Professor
Dr David Harris Honorary Fellow
Dr Stephan Helfer Honorary Fellow
Professor Peter Hollingsworth Honorary Fellow
Professor David Ingram Honorary Professor
Dr Chris Jeffree Honorary Fellow
Dr David Long Honorary Fellow
Professor Toby Pennington Honorary Fellow
Dr James Ratter Honorary Fellow
Dr Louis Ronse de Craene Honorary Fellow
Professor Misha Taliansky Visiting Professor
Professor Lesley Torrance Visiting Professor
Professor A J Trewavas Professor Emeritus

Research Staff

NameGroup / PositionEmail Address
Erica De Leau Oparka Group (Research Technician)
Dr Lenka Franková Fry Group (Research Fellow)
Dr Debra Frederickson Matika Molnar Group (Research Technician)
Dr Eve-Marie Josse Nagy Group (Postdoctoral Research Associate)
Dr Kirsten Knox Oparka Group (Postdoctoral Research Associate)
Dr Michael Skelly Spoel Group (Postdoctoral Research Associate)
Dr Xin Tian Doerner Group (Postdoctoral Research Associate)
Dr Manda Yu Loake Group (Research fellow)

Technical Staff

NameGroup / PositionEmail Address
Karen Bell Oparka Group (Research Technician)
Janice Miller Fry Group (Senior Research Technician)
Stephen Mitchell Oparka Group (Electron Microscopy Technician)

PhD Students

NameGroup / PositionEmail Address
Mansour Abdullah Kidner Group
Priya Ayyar Loake Group
Karina Banda Rodriguez Kidner Group
Matthew Barnbrook Hudson Group
Karen Bell Oparka Group
Samuel Casasola Zamora Loake Group
Tao-Ho Chang Loake Group
James Clugston Milne Lab
Rebecca Dewhirst Fry Group
Alan Elliott Milne Lab
Katie Emelianova Kidner Group
Nurun Fancy Loake Group
Yue Fei Molnar Group
James Furniss Spoel Group
Maria Camila Gomez Gutierrez Milne Lab
Kathryn GRant Nakayama Group
Lipczak Hansen van Ooijen Lab
Claire Holland Fry Group
Rafael Homem Loake Group
Suzy Howat Loake Group
Sophie Kneeshaw Spoel Group
Lakmini Kumarage Milne Lab
Yuan Li Loake Group
Laura Lopes del Egidio Kidner Group
Javier Luna Castro Kidner Group
Franklin MacHin Doerner Group
Kyran Maloney Loake Group
Azizah Nahari Doerner Group
Cam Tu Nguyen Phan Fry Group
Christina O'Rourke Fry Group
Marisol Ochoa Villarreal Loake Group
Danae Paultre Oparka Group
Pumi Perera Goodrich Group
Anne Ritzenhoff Fry Group
Ghulam Sahi Loake Group
Tom Simmons Fry Group
Ying Tan Hudson Group
Eric Thorand Nakayama Group
Lewis Watt Spoel Group
Minghui Yin Loake Group

Accessibility menu