People

List of all academic, research, technical and administrative staff.

For corrections, please contact the Institute Secretary below.

Institute of Molecular Plant Sciences staff list

Head of Institute

NameEmail AddressTelephone
Professor Andrew Hudson A.Hudson@ed.ac.uk +44 (0) 131 651 3383

Institute Secretary

NameEmail AddressTelephone
Louise Bishop Louise.Bishop@ed.ac.uk +44 (0) 131 650 5366

Building Manager

NameEmail AddressTelephone
George McMillan George.McMillan@ed.ac.uk +44 (0) 131 650 5438

Administrative Staff

NamePositionEmail AddressTelephone
Toni Jenkins Postgraduate Programme Administrator Toni.Jenkins@ed.ac.uk +44 (0) 131 650 7366

Academic Staff and Principal Investigators

NameResearch InterestEmail Address
DOERNER, Peter Dr Plant Development & Evolution Peter.Doerner@ed.ac.uk
FRY, Stephen Professor Plant cell wall biochemistry S.Fry@ed.ac.uk
GOODRICH, Justin Dr Plant Development & Evolution Justin.Goodrich@ed.ac.uk
HUDSON, Andrew Professor Plant Development & Evolution A.Hudson@ed.ac.uk
KIDNER, Catherine Dr Plant Development & Evolution Catherine.Kidner@ed.ac.uk
LOAKE, Gary Professor Plant Pathology & Fungal Biology G.Loake@ed.ac.uk
MCCORMICK, Alistair Dr Plant molecular physiology and synthetic biology Alistair.McCormick@ed.ac.uk
MILNE, Richard Dr Plant Development & Evolution R.Milne@ed.ac.uk
MOLNAR, Attila Dr RNA silencing and epigenetic gene regulation in plants Attila.Molnar@ed.ac.uk
NAGY, Ferenc Professor Photobiology Ferenc.Nagy@ed.ac.uk
NAKAYAMA, Naomi Dr Biomechanics and synthetic morphology naomi.nakayama@ed.ac.uk
OPARKA, Karl Professor Plant cell biology Karl.Oparka@ed.ac.uk
SPOEL, Steven Dr Signalling and transcription Steven.Spoel@ed.ac.uk
VAN OOIJEN, Gerben Dr Circadian clocks Gerben.vanOoijen@ed.ac.uk

Honorary and Visiting Staff

NamePositionEmail Address
Dr Crinan Alexander Honorary Fellow c.alexander@rbge.ac.uk
Dr George Argent Honorary Fellow
Professor Stephen Blackmore CBE Honorary Professor S.Blackmore@rbge.ac.uk
Professor John E Dale Professor Emeritus
Professor Mary Gibby OBE Honorary Professor
Dr David Harris Honorary Fellow d.harris@rbge.ac.uk
Dr Stephan Helfer Honorary Fellow s.helfer@rbge.org.uk
Professor Peter Hollingsworth Honorary Fellow p.hollingsworth@rbge.org.uk
Professor David Ingram Honorary Professor
Dr Chris Jeffree Honorary Fellow C.Jeffree@ed.ac.uk
Dr David Long Honorary Fellow
Professor Toby Pennington Honorary Fellow t.pennington@rbge.ac.uk
Dr James Ratter Honorary Fellow
Dr Louis Ronse de Craene Honorary Fellow l.ronsedecraene@rbge.ac.uk
Professor Misha Taliansky Visiting Professor
Professor Lesley Torrance Visiting Professor
Professor A J Trewavas Professor Emeritus trewavas@ed.ac.uk

Research Staff

NameGroup / PositionEmail Address
Erica De Leau Oparka Group (Research Technician) E.S.deLeau@ed.ac.uk
Dr Lenka Franková Fry Group (Research Fellow) lenka.frankova@ed.ac.uk
Dr Eve-Marie Josse Nagy Group (Postdoctoral Research Associate) Eve-Marie.Josse@ed.ac.uk
Dr Kirsten Knox Oparka Group (Postdoctoral Research Associate) kirsten.knox@ed.ac.uk
Dr Xin Tian Doerner Group (Postdoctoral Research Associate) Xin.Tian@ed.ac.uk
Dr Manda Yu Loake Group (Research fellow) M.Yu@ed.ac.uk

Technical Staff

NameGroup / PositionEmail Address
Karen Bell Oparka Group (Research Technician) k.j.bell@ed.ac.uk
Janice Miller Fry Group (Senior Research Technician) Janice.Miller@ed.ac.uk
Stephen Mitchell Oparka Group (Electron Microscopy Technician) Steve.Mitchell@ed.ac.uk

PhD Students

NameGroup / PositionEmail Address
Mansour Abdullah Kidner Group s0974592@sms.ed.ac.uk
Priya Ayyar Loake Group s1065986@sms.ed.ac.uk
Karina Banda Rodriguez Kidner Group s1267301@sms.ed.ac.uk
Matthew Barnbrook Hudson Group s1257960@sms.ed.ac.uk
Karen Bell Oparka Group s0976135@sms.ed.ac.uk
Kerstin Brzezek Loake Group s0931285@sms.ed.ac.uk
Tao-Ho Chang Loake Group s1267194@sms.ed.ac.uk
Rebecca Dewhirst Fry Group s0811975@sms.ed.ac.uk
Alan Elliott Milne Lab s1053182@sms.ed.ac.uk
Katie Emelianova Kidner Group s1257940@sms.ed.ac.uk
Nurun Fancy Loake Group s1128203@sms.ed.ac.uk
James Furniss Spoel Group s0790814@sms.ed.ac.uk
Maria Camila Gomez Gutierrez Milne Lab s1051835@sms.ed.ac.uk
Lipczak Hansen van Ooijen Lab s1365154@sms.ed.ac.uk
Claire Holland Fry Group s0680243@sms.ed.ac.uk
Rafael Homem Loake Group s1153186@sms.ed.ac.uk
Suzy Howat Loake Group s1139120@sms.ed.ac.uk
Sophie Kneeshaw Spoel Group s1238571@sms.ed.ac.uk
Chuan-Chih Ku Doerner Group s1051088@sms.ed.ac.uk
Lakmini Kumarage Milne Lab s1051343@sms.ed.ac.uk
Yuan Li Loake Group s1066310@sms.ed.ac.uk
Laura Lopes del Egidio Kidner Group s1372642@sms.ed.ac.uk
Javier Luna Castro Kidner Group s1165177@sms.ed.ac.uk
Franklin MacHin Doerner Group s1365157@sms.ed.ac.uk
Azizah Nahari Doerner Group s106653@sms.ed.ac.uk
Cam Tu Nguyen Phan Fry Group s1066432@sms.ed.ac.uk
Christina O'Rourke Fry Group s0977985@sms.ed.ac.uk
Marisol Ochoa Villarreal Loake Group s1355580@sms.ed.ac.uk
Danae Paultre Oparka Group s0785500@sms.ed.ac.uk
Pumi Perera Goodrich Group s1150633@sms.ed.ac.uk
Carmen Puglisi Milne Lab s0677990@sms.ed.ac.uk
Ghulam Sahi Loake Group s0977123@sms.ed.ac.uk
Tom Simmons Fry Group s0936167@sms.ed.ac.uk
Michael Skelly Loake Group s1038623@sms.ed.ac.uk
Ying Tan Hudson Group s1326403@sms.ed.ac.uk
Andrew Waters Goodrich Group s0964145@sms.ed.ac.uk
Minghui Yin Loake Group s0895293@sms.ed.ac.uk

Accessibility menu