People

List of all academic, research, technical and administrative staff.

For corrections, please contact the Institute Secretary below.

Institute of Immunology and Infection Research staff list

Head of Institute

NameEmail AddressTelephone
Professor Keith Matthews iiirhead@ed.ac.uk +44 (0) 131 651 3639

Institute Secretary

NameEmail AddressTelephone
Patricia Dougall Pat.Dougall@ed.ac.uk +44 (0) 131 650 5464

Building Manager

NameEmail AddressTelephone
Dr David Brown David.Brown@ed.ac.uk +44 (0) 131 650 5453

Administrative Staff

NamePositionEmail AddressTelephone
Carole Ferrier Postgraduate Secretary Carole.Ferrier@ed.ac.uk +44 (0) 131 650 5455
Jayne Glendinning School Research Administrator Jayne.Glendinning@ed.ac.uk +44 (0) 131 650 7274
Jennifer Hurst Administrative Assistant jennifer.hurst@ed.ac.uk +44(0)131-650-3688
Kasia Kokowska CIIE Centre Manager Kasia.Kokowska@ed.ac.uk +44 (0) 131 650 3683
Hilary Snaith Executive Manager, Edinburgh Infectious Diseases Hilary.Snaith@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 3688

Academic Staff and Principal Investigators

NameResearch InterestEmail Address
ALLEN, Judith Professor Immune modulation & effector mechanisms induced by helminths J.Allen@ed.ac.uk
ARNOT, David Professor Malaria molecular biology, epidemiology and vaccines D.E.Arnot@ed.ac.uk
BUCK, Amy Dr Micro-RNA function in the host-pathogen context a.buck@ed.ac.uk
CAVANAGH, David Dr Human immune response to antigens from the erythrocytic stage of Plasmodium falciparum, with the aim of developing effective vaccines targeting these parasite proteins David.Cavanagh@ed.ac.uk
FEVRE, Eric Dr Epidemiology of zoonotic and emerging diseases Eric.Fevre@ed.ac.uk
GRAY, David Professor Immunological memory and T-B cell interactions D.Gray@ed.ac.uk
IVENS, Alasdair Dr Bioinformatics for genome analysis Al.Ivens@ed.ac.uk
MAIZELS, Rick Professor Immune modulating molecules of helminths Rick.Maizels@ed.ac.uk
MATTHEWS, Keith Professor Cell biology of African trypanosomes keith.matthews@ed.ac.uk
MUTAPI, Francisca Dr Immunoepidemiology of human schistosomiasis F.Mutapi@ed.ac.uk
POTOCNIK, Alexandre Chancellor's Fellow Alexandre.Potocnik@ed.ac.uk
ROWE, Alex Professor Cell biology of malaria infection and disease Alex.Rowe@ed.ac.uk
SAVILL, Nicholas Dr Epidemiology and evolution of infectious diseases nick.savill@ed.ac.uk
SCHNAUFER, Achim Dr Mitochondrial biology of trypanosomatid parasites Achim.Schnaufer@ed.ac.uk
SIMMONDS, Peter Professor Professor of Virology Peter.Simmonds@ed.ac.uk
SPENCE, Philip Dr Plasmodium virulence and immunity to malaria Philip.Spence@ed.ac.uk
SZOOR, Balazs Dr Phosphatases in parasite biology Balazs.Szoor@ed.ac.uk
TAYLOR, Matthew Dr Priming and maintenance of regulatory and effector T cell responses during chronic helminth infections Matthew.Taylor@ed.ac.uk
THOMPSON, Joanne Dr Molecular biology of malaria parasites Joanne.Thompson@ed.ac.uk
VAZQUEZ-BOLAND, Jose Professor Mechanisms of intracellular parasitism, bacterial pathogenesis jvbgroup@ed.ac.uk
ZAISS, Dietmar Dr Function of the EGF-R signalling pathway in the immune system Dietmar.Zaiss@ed.ac.uk
ZAMOYSKA, Rose Professor Regulation of T cell differentiation, activation and homeostasis Rose.Zamoyska@ed.ac.uk

Honorary and Visiting Staff

NamePositionEmail Address
Dr Hamza Babiker Honorary Fellow H.Babiker@ed.ac.uk
Professor Richard Carter Senior Honorary Professorial Fellow R.Carter@ed.ac.uk
Dr David Dresser Honorary Fellow david.dresser@btinternet.com

Research Staff

NameGroup / PositionEmail Address
Yvonne Adams Rowe Group (Visitor) Yvonne.Adams@ed.ac.uk
Simon Babayan CIIE (CIIE Junior Fellowship) S.Babayan@ed.ac.uk
Tom Barr Gray Group Tom.Barr@ed.ac.uk
Natalie Blair - Natalie.Blair@ed.ac.uk
Jess Borger Research Fellow jborger1@staffmail.ed.ac.uk
Sheila Brown Gray Group Sheila.Brown@ed.ac.uk
Rebecca Brownlie Zamoyska Group Rebecca.Brownlie@ed.ac.uk
Stefano Caserta Zamoyska Group stefano.caserta@ed.ac.uk
Dr Alessandro Ceroni Post Doc aceroni@staffmail.ed.ac.uk
Margo Chase-Topping EpiGroup margo.chase@ed.ac.uk
Kashyap Chhatbar Bioinformatician kashyap.c@ed.ac.uk
Peter Cook MacDonald Group peter.cook@ed.ac.uk
Graeme Cowan Cavanagh Group Graeme.Cowan@ed.ac.uk
Maria Rosa Domingo Sananes Post Doc Maria.Domingo-Sananes@ed.ac.uk
Karen Fairlie-Clarke Graham Group Karen.Fairlie-Clarke@ed.ac.uk
Celine Garcia Zamoyska Group (Research Assistant) cgarcia@exseed.ed.ac.uk
Ashfaq Ghumra Rowe Group aghumra@staffmail.ed.ac.uk
Matthew Gould Schnaufer Lab (Postdoctoral Research Associate) Matt.Gould@ed.ac.uk
Katie Hamilton Fevre Group katie.hamilton@ed.ac.uk
James Hewitson Maizels Group james.hewitson@ed.ac.uk
Steve Jenkins Allen Group stephen.jenkins@ed.ac.uk
Lucy Jones Allen Group (Postdoctoral research fellow) lucy.jones@ed.ac.uk
Johanna Knipper Postdoctoral Research Associate johanna.knipper@ed.ac.uk
Sarah Knowles sarah.knowles@ed.ac.uk
Gabbi Lindergard Thomson Group g.lindergard@ed.ac.uk
Binny Manonmony Matthews Group (Postdoctoral Research Associate) Binny.Mony@ed.ac.uk
Luke McNally Research Fellow Luke.McNally@ed.ac.uk
Seanna McTaggart Obbard Group (CIIE Junior Fellowship) smctagga@staffmail.ed.ac.uk
Janice Murray Maizels Group J.Murray@ed.ac.uk
Norman Nausch Mutapi Group nnausch@staffmail.ed.ac.uk
Dr Sema Nickbakhsh EpiGroup (Research Fellow) Sema.Nickbakhsh@ed.ac.uk
Alex Phythian-Adams MacDonald Group (Research Fellow) Alex.Phythian-Adams@ed.ac.uk
Dr Eva Rico Vidal Postdoctoral Research Associate Eva.Rico@ed.ac.uk
Dr Federico Rojas Matthews Group Federico.Rojas@ed.ac.uk
Dominik Ruckerl Allen Group dominik.ruckerl@ed.ac.uk
Stephanie Ryan Maizels Group (Research Assistant) S.Ryan@ed.ac.uk
Robert Salmond Senior Research Fellow robert.salmond@ed.ac.uk
Jayanthi Santhanam jsanthan@staffmail.ed.ac.uk
Dr Fabio Simbari fsimbari@staffmail.ed.ac.uk
Katie Smith Maizels Group K.Smith@ed.ac.uk
Dr Danielle Smyth Postdoctoral Research Associate Danielle.Smyth@ed.ac.uk
Tara Sutherland Allen Group Tara.Sutherland@ed.ac.uk
Dr Thomas Tan Post Doc Thomas.Tan@ed.ac.uk
Pegine Walrad Matthews Group Pegine.Walrad@ed.ac.uk
Dr Martin Waterfall Flow Cytometry Manager Martin.Waterfall@ed.ac.uk
Kim Wilson Research Assistant Kim.Wilson@ed.ac.uk

Technical Staff

NameGroup / PositionEmail Address
Sheelagh Duncan Allen Group sheelagh.duncan@ed.ac.uk
Alison Fulton Taylor Group a.fulton@ed.ac.uk
Katrina Gordon Buck Group (Research Technician) K.Gordon@ed.ac.uk
Laurence Hall Schnaufer Lab laurence.hall@ed.ac.uk
Yvonne Harcus Maizels Group Yvonne.Harcus@ed.ac.uk
Marissa Lear Research Technician mlear@staffmail.ed.ac.uk
Niolette McGill Research Technician nmcgill1@staffmail.ed.ac.uk
Dianne Murray Matthews Group dianne.murray@ed.ac.uk
Juan Quintana Alcala Research Technician Juan.Quintana@ed.ac.uk
Rinku Rajan MacDonald Group rinku.rajan@ed.ac.uk
Ahmed Raza Rowe Group Ahmed.Raza@ed.ac.uk
Donald Smith Research Technician D.B.Smith@ed.ac.uk
Claire Sweenie Rowe Group Claire.Sweenie@ed.ac.uk
Julie Wilson Research Technician Julie.Wilson@ed.ac.uk
David Wright david.wright@ed.ac.uk
Xiaoyan Zou Research Technician

PhD Students

NameGroup / PositionEmail Address
Jennifer Agyekum Thomson Group s1126423@sms.ed.ac.uk
Laura Appleby Mutapi Group s0198187@sms.ed.ac.uk
Yvonne Azasi Rowe Group s1164877@sms.ed.ac.uk
Melanie Buehlmann Matthews Group s0792534@sms.ed.ac.uk
Gillian Coakley Buck Group s1260472@sms.ed.ac.uk
Annie Cook Fevre Group s0978529@sms.ed.ac.uk
Sinclair Cooper Savill Group s1269293@sms.ed.ac.uk
Will De Glanville Fevre Group s1059829@sms.ed.ac.uk
Caroline Dewar Schnaufer Lab s1133025@sms.ed.ac.uk
Kelwalin Dhanasarnsombut Cavanagh Group s0675947@sms.ed.ac.uk
Lian Doble Fevre Group s0793917@sms.ed.ac.uk
Kara Filbey Maizels Group s0232209@sms.ed.ac.uk
Anna Hoy Buck Group s0978517@sms.ed.ac.uk
Denys Janes Savill Group s0792549@sms.ed.ac.uk
Laura Jeacock Schnaufer Lab s0127090@sms.ed.ac.uk
Chris Johnston Maizels Group s1271810@sms.ed.ac.uk
Andrea Kemter Maizels Group s1239032@sms.ed.ac.uk
Nouf Laqtom Buck Group s0898296@sms.ed.ac.uk
Divya Malik Allen Group s0813025@sms.ed.ac.uk
Angela Marley Maizels Group s1135106@sms.ed.ac.uk
Lindsay Mcdonald Matthews Group s1228771@sms.ed.ac.uk
Rachel Milne Matthews Group s1129931@sms.ed.ac.uk
Janice Murray Maizels Group s0566649@sms.ed.ac.uk
Laure Petit Fevre Group s1268931@sms.ed.ac.uk
Pairoa Praihirunkit Thomson Group s1157741@sms.ed.ac.uk
Diwakar Santhakumar Buck Group s0678362@sms.ed.ac.uk
Eleanor Silvester Matthews Group s1164644@sms.ed.ac.uk
Shatakshi Sood Zamoyska Group s1055449@sms.ed.ac.uk
Kaija Stockner Zamoyska Group s0791676@sms.ed.ac.uk
Olivia Swann Rowe Group s0198216@sms.ed.ac.uk
Marta Trub Gray Group s0838975@sms.ed.ac.uk
Welcome Wami Mutapi Group s1065586@sms.ed.ac.uk
Lauren Webb MacDonald Group s0569597@sms.ed.ac.uk

Accessibility menu