People

Staff list

List of all academic, research, technical and administrative staff.

For corrections, please contact the Institute Secretary below.

Institute of Quantitative Biology, Biochemistry and Biotechnology staff list

Head of Institute

NameEmail AddressTelephone
Professor Paul Barlow Paul.Barlow@ed.ac.uk +44 (0) 131 650 4727

Institute Secretary

NameEmail AddressTelephone
Louise Bishop Louise.Bishop@ed.ac.uk +44 (0) 131 650 5366

Building Manager

NameEmail AddressTelephone
George McMillan George.McMillan@ed.ac.uk +44 (0) 131 650 5438

Administrative Staff

NamePositionEmail AddressTelephone
Helena Sim Postgraduate Programme Administrator helena.sim@ed.ac.uk +44 (0) 131 650 7366

Academic Staff and Principal Investigators

NameResearch InterestEmail Address
AUER, Manfred Professor Innovative drug discovery manfred.auer@ed.ac.uk
BARLOW, Paul Professor Professor of Structural Biology Paul.Barlow@ed.ac.uk
BLAKELY, Garry Dr Site-specific recombination in bacteria Garry.Blakely@ed.ac.uk
BOETTCHER, Bettina Professor Cryo-EM of macromolecular complexes bettina.boettcher@ed.ac.uk
BRAMHAM, Janice Dr Structure and dynamics of biological macromolecules Janice.Bramham@ed.ac.uk
COOK, Atlanta Dr Complexes in RNA metabolism Atlanta.Cook@ed.ac.uk
FREE, Andrew Dr Microbial communities and their applications in biotechnology and medicine Andrew.Free@ed.ac.uk
FRENCH, Chris Dr Biosensors, biomass conversion, gene assembly C.French@ed.ac.uk
GALLAGHER, Maurice Dr Bacterial physiology and vaccine development MP.Gallagher@ed.ac.uk
GRANNEMAN, Sander Dr Ribosome biosynthesis sgrannem@staffmail.ed.ac.uk
GRIMA, Ramon Dr Modelling stochastic processes Ramon.Grima@ed.ac.uk
HALLIDAY, Karen Dr Biochemistry & Metabolomics. Plant Development & Evolution karen.halliday@ed.ac.uk
HORSFALL, Louise Dr Microbial biotechnology and synthetic biology Louise.Horsfall@ed.ac.uk
HOUSTON, Douglas Dr Computational drug discovery DouglasR.Houston@ed.ac.uk
LE BIHAN, Thierry Dr Kinetic paramaterization thierry.lebihan@ed.ac.uk
MARLES-WRIGHT, Jon Dr signal processing Jon.Marles-Wright@ed.ac.uk
MCLAUGHLIN, Paul Dr Senior Lecturer Paul.McLaughlin@ed.ac.uk
MILLAR, Andrew Professor Systems biology and biological clocks Andrew.Millar@ed.ac.uk
MOLINA, Nacho Dr Computational biology and evolutionary genomics Nacho.Molina@ed.ac.uk
REID, Graeme Professor Professor of Molecular Microbiology/ Dean of Learning & Teaching G.A.Reid@ed.ac.uk
RICHARDSON, Julia Dr Structural biology of DNA transposition Julia.Richardson@ed.ac.uk
ROSSER, Susan Professor Professor of Synthetic Biology susan.rosser@ed.ac.uk
SPAGNOLO, Laura Dr Large biological assemblies laura.spagnolo@ed.ac.uk
SWAIN, Peter Professor Stochastic biology peter.swain@ed.ac.uk
TAYLOR, Paul Dr Computational drug discovery P.Taylor@ed.ac.uk
WALKINSHAW, Malcolm Professor Protein-ligand interactions Malcolm.Walkinshaw@ed.ac.uk
WANG, Baojun Dr Synthetic biology, Systems biology, Designing customised gene circuits for novel biosensing and bioremediation applications Baojun.Wang@ed.ac.uk

Honorary and Visiting Staff

NamePositionEmail Address
Professor Tony Crowther Visiting Professor
Dr Linda Gilmore Honorary Fellow linda.gilmore@ed.ac.uk
Professor Paul Michels Visiting Professor paul.michels@ed.ac.uk
Robert Muetzelfeldt Honorary Fellow
Professor Lindsay Sawyer Professor Emeritus l.sawyer@ed.ac.uk
Professor Michael Tyers Visiting Professor m.tyers@ed.ac.uk

Research Staff

NameGroup / PositionEmail Address
Elizabeth Blackburn Postdoctoral Research Associatee.a.blackburn@ed.ac.uk
Dr Yin Hoon Chew Millar Group (Postdoctoral Research Associate)YinHoon.Chew@ed.ac.uk
Dr Claudia Cianci Grima Group (Postdoctoral Research Associate)ccianci@staffmail.ed.ac.uk
Ivan Clark Experimental OfficerIvan.Clark@ed.ac.uk
Matthew Crane Swain Group (Postdoctoral Research Associate)M.Crane@ed.ac.uk
Dr Andrew Cronshaw Rappsilber Group (.)Andrew.Cronshaw@ed.ac.uk
Jacqueline Dornan Walkinshaw Group (Postdoctoral Research Associate)Jacqui.Dornan@ed.ac.uk
Dr Matthew Edmundson Horsfall Lab (Postdoctoral Research Associate)medmunds@staffmail.ed.ac.uk
Heather Grey Richardson Group (Research Assistant)Heather.Grey@ed.ac.uk
Sarah Hodge Millar Group (Experimental Officer)sarah.hodge@ed.ac.uk
Sebastian Jaramillo Riveri SynthSys (Research Associate in Numerical Modelling)sjaramil@staffmail.ed.ac.uk
Dr Uma Jayachandran Cook Lab (Research Assistant)ujayacha@staffmail.ed.ac.uk
Mai-Britt Jensen Rosser Group (Postdoctoral Research Associate)mai-britt.jensen@ed.ac.uk
Dr Lorraine Kerr SynthSys (Synthsys Project Manager - Experiments)Lorraine.Kerr@ed.ac.uk
Dr Galina Lebedeva SynthSys (Synthsys Project Manager - Modelling)galina.lebedeva@ed.ac.uk
Dr Chao-kuo Liu French Group (Postdoctoral Research Associate)cliu2310@exseed.ed.ac.uk
Dr Cihan Makbul Boettcher Group (Postdoctoral Research Associate)cmakbul@staffmail.ed.ac.uk
Dr Iain McNae Walkinshaw Group (Postdoctoral Research Associate)Iain.McNae@ed.ac.uk
Dimitrios Milios Research Associatedmilios@exseed.ed.ac.uk
Zeenat Noordally Millar Group (Postdoctoral Research Associate)Zeenat.Noordally@ed.ac.uk
Dr Mathew Nowicki Walkinshaw Group (Postdoctoral Research Associate)matthew.nowicki@ed.ac.uk
Nicolas Oury SynthSysNicolas.Oury@ed.ac.uk
Dr Nham Pham Auer Group (Postdoctoral Research Associate)Nhan.Pham@ed.ac.uk
Dr David Radford French Group (Postdoctoral Research Associate)dradford@staffmail.ed.ac.uk
Lindsay Ramage Swain Group (Scientific Curator)Lindsay.Ramage@ed.ac.uk
Daniel Seaton SynthSys (Mathematical Modeller)dseaton@staffmail.ed.ac.uk
Steven Shave Auer Group (Research Fellow Combinatorial Chemistry)S.Shave@ed.ac.uk
Dr Maryia Trubitsyna Rosser Group (Research Associate)M.Trubitsyna@ed.ac.uk
Dr Caroline Wardrope Rosser Group (ResearchTechnician)C.Wardrope@ed.ac.uk
Steven Watterson SynthSyss.watterson@ed.ac.uk
Martin Wear Protein Production Facility ManagerMartin.Wear@ed.ac.uk
Andrea Weisse Swain Group (Post Doc)Andrea.Weisse@ed.ac.uk
Jan Wildenhain Tyers Group (Data Management System Developer)Jan.Wildenhain@ed.ac.uk

Technical Staff

NameGroup / PositionEmail Address
Kirsten Altenbach Marles-Wright Group (Research Technician) Kirsten.Altenbach@ed.ac.uk
Dr Joanna Brown Boettcher Group (Technologist) Joanna.Brown@ed.ac.uk
Sandra Bruce Walkinshaw Group (Lab Manager) Sandra.Bruce@ed.ac.uk
Michael Capeness Horsfall Lab (Research Technician) Michael.Capeness@ed.ac.uk
Aileen Greig Tyers Group (Research Technician) Aileen.Greig@ed.ac.uk
Lisa Imrie Proteomics Facility Operator Lisa.Imrie@ed.ac.uk
James Kinkead Walkinshaw Group (Research Technician) jkinkead@staffmail.ed.ac.uk
Katalin Kis Katalin.Kis@ed.ac.uk
Divya Malik Walkinshaw Group (Research Technician) Divya.Malik@ed.ac.uk
Maria Martin Agudo Millar Group (Research Technician) mmartin7@staffmail.ed.ac.uk
Scott Neilson Millar Group (Modern Apprentice Lab Technician) sneilson@staffmail.ed.ac.uk
Jane Paget Rosser Group (Research Technician) Jane.Paget@ed.ac.uk
Eliane Salvo-Chirnside SynthSys (Senior Research Technician) Eliane.Chirnside@ed.ac.uk
Fiona Strathdee Free Group (Research Technician) fiona.strathdee@ed.ac.uk
Dr Caroline Wardrope Rosser Group (ResearchTechnician) C.Wardrope@ed.ac.uk
Helen Williamson Free Group (Research Technician) Helen.Williamson@ed.ac.uk
Li-hsuan Yen Walkinshaw Group (Research Technician) lyen@staffmail.ed.ac.uk

PhD Students

NameGroup / PositionEmail Address
Elco Bakker Swain Group (PhD Student) s1135844@sms.ed.ac.uk
Elena Burlacu Granneman Group (PhD Student) s1158726@sms.ed.ac.uk
Giuseppe Cannone Spagnolo Group (PhD Student) s0978189@sms.ed.ac.uk
Yiyuan Chen Walkinshaw Group (PhD Student) s1165209@sms.ed.ac.uk
Matthew Dale Wang Lab (PhD Student) s1434789@sms.ed.ac.uk
Kwabena Duedu French Group (PhD Student) s0947473@sms.ed.ac.uk
Peter Fernandes Walkinshaw Group (PhD Student) s1475113@sms.ed.ac.uk
Ashwin Ganpudi Halliday Group (PhD Student) ashwin.ganpudi@ed.ac.uk
Charis Georgiou Walkinshaw Group (PhD Student) s1256551@sms.ed.ac.uk
Pascoe Harvey Rosser Group (PhD Student) s1342417@sms.ed.ac.uk
Kelly Jobling Blakely Lab (PhD Student) s0457747@sms.ed.ac.uk
Harriet Jones Halliday Group (PhD Student) s1063672@sms.ed.ac.uk
Christos Josephides Swain Group (PhD Student) s1038014@sms.ed.ac.uk
Rocky Kindt Free Group (PhD Student) s1269542@sms.ed.ac.uk
Maria Kowal Blakely Lab (PhD Student) s0801029@sms.ed.ac.uk
Johanna Krahmer Millar Group (PhD Student) s1131083@sms.ed.ac.uk
Bruno Martins Swain Group (PhD Student) s0880566@sms.ed.ac.uk
Neil McKenzie Walkinshaw Group (PhD Student) s0895818@sms.ed.ac.uk
Gemma Mudd Auer Group (PhD Student) s1064242@sms.ed.ac.uk
Craig Munns French Group (PhD Student) s1258254@sms.ed.ac.uk
Ndubuisi Christopher Nwankwo French Group (PhD student) s1357472@sms.ed.ac.uk
Jan Oltmanns French Group (PhD Student) s1257905@sms.ed.ac.uk
Nikolaos Pantidos French Group (PhD Student) s1159909@sms.ed.ac.uk
James Parker Spagnolo Group (PhD Student) s1063980@sms.ed.ac.uk
Andreas Piehler Swain Group (MSc by Research Student) A.Piehler@sms.ed.ac.uk
David Roberts Blakely Lab (PhD Student) s0681057@sms.ed.ac.uk
Alejandro Salinas Vaccaro French Group (PhD Student) s1261133@sms.ed.ac.uk
David Schnoerr Grima Group (PhD Student) s1255556@sms.ed.ac.uk
Aparna Shankar Blakely Lab (PhD Student) s1064972@sms.ed.ac.uk
Stephen Smith Grima Group (PhD Student) s1436741@sms.ed.ac.uk
David Toner Grima Group (PhD Student) s0962658@sms.ed.ac.uk
Simon Varzandeh Richardson Group (PhD Student) s1239002@sms.ed.ac.uk
Beatrice Vetter Rosser Group (PhD Student) Beatrice.Vetter@ed.ac.uk
Maa Vigbedor PhD Student s0897698@sms.ed.ac.uk
Xinyi Wan Wang Lab (PhD student) s1204172@sms.ed.ac.uk
Joe White French Group (PhD Student) s1038479@sms.ed.ac.uk
Anita Wilkinson Gallagher Lab (PhD Student) s0978851@sms.ed.ac.uk
Andromachi Xypnitou Walkinshaw Group (PhD Student) s1266282@sms.ed.ac.uk
Deyue Yang Halliday Group (PhD Student) s1231825@sms.ed.ac.uk
Meng Yuan Walkinshaw Group (PhD Student) s1164802@sms.ed.ac.uk
Argyris Zardilis Millar Group (PhD Student) s1437009@sms.ed.ac.uk

Accessibility menu