People

List of all academic, research, technical and administrative staff.

For corrections, please contact the Institute Secretary below.

Institute of Structural and Molecular Biology staff list

Head of Institute

NameEmail AddressTelephone
Professor Paul Barlow Paul.Barlow@ed.ac.uk +44 (0) 131 650 4727

Institute Secretary

NameEmail AddressTelephone
Louise Bishop Louise.Bishop@ed.ac.uk +44 (0) 131 650 5366

Building Manager

NameEmail AddressTelephone
George McMillan George.McMillan@ed.ac.uk +44 (0) 131 650 5438

Administrative Staff

NamePositionEmail AddressTelephone
Toni Jenkins Postgraduate Programme Administrator Toni.Jenkins@ed.ac.uk +44 (0) 131 650 7366

Academic Staff and Principal Investigators

NameResearch InterestEmail Address
AUER, Manfred Professor Innovative drug discovery manfred.auer@ed.ac.uk
BARLOW, Paul Professor Professor of Structural Biology Paul.Barlow@ed.ac.uk
BOETTCHER, Bettina Professor Cryo-EM of macromolecular complexes bettina.boettcher@ed.ac.uk
BRAMHAM, Janice Dr Structure and dynamics of biological macromolecules Janice.Bramham@ed.ac.uk
COOK, Atlanta Dr Complexes in RNA metabolism Atlanta.Cook@ed.ac.uk
GRANNEMAN, Sander Dr Ribosome biosynthesis sgrannem@staffmail.ed.ac.uk
GRIMA, Ramon Dr Modelling stochastic processes Ramon.Grima@ed.ac.uk
HALLIDAY, Karen Dr Biochemistry & Metabolomics. Plant Development & Evolution karen.halliday@ed.ac.uk
HOUSTON, Douglas Dr Computational drug discovery DouglasR.Houston@ed.ac.uk
LE BIHAN, Thierry Dr Kinetic paramaterization thierry.lebihan@ed.ac.uk
MARLES-WRIGHT, Jon Dr signal processing Jon.Marles-Wright@ed.ac.uk
MCLAUGHLIN, Paul Dr Senior Lecturer Paul.McLaughlin@ed.ac.uk
MILLAR, Andrew Professor Systems biology and biological clocks Andrew.Millar@ed.ac.uk
MOLINA, Nacho Dr Computational biology and evolutionary genomics Nacho.Molina@ed.ac.uk
REID, Graeme Professor Professor of Molecular Microbiology/ Dean of Learning & Teaching G.A.Reid@ed.ac.uk
RICHARDSON, Julia Dr Structural biology of DNA transposition Julia.Richardson@ed.ac.uk
SPAGNOLO, Laura Dr Large biological assemblies laura.spagnolo@ed.ac.uk
SWAIN, Peter Professor Stochastic biology peter.swain@ed.ac.uk
TAYLOR, Paul Dr Computational drug discovery P.Taylor@ed.ac.uk
WALKINSHAW, Malcolm Professor Protein-ligand interactions Malcolm.Walkinshaw@ed.ac.uk

Honorary and Visiting Staff

NamePositionEmail Address
Professor Tony Crowther Visiting Professor
Dr Linda Gilmore Honorary Fellow linda.gilmore@ed.ac.uk
Professor Paul Michels Visiting Professor paul.michels@ed.ac.uk
Professor Lindsay Sawyer Professor Emeritus l.sawyer@ed.ac.uk
Professor Michael Tyers Visiting Professor m.tyers@ed.ac.uk

Research Staff

NameGroup / PositionEmail Address
Elizabeth Blackburn Postdoctoral Research Associate e.a.blackburn@ed.ac.uk
Dr Yin Hoon Chew Postdoctoral Research Associate YinHoon.Chew@ed.ac.uk
Dr Claudia Cianci Grima Group (Postdoctoral Research Associate) ccianci@staffmail.ed.ac.uk
Ivan Clark Experimental Officer Ivan.Clark@ed.ac.uk
Matthew Crane Postdoctoral Research Associate M.Crane@ed.ac.uk
Peter Dodd Postdoctoral Research Associate P.Dodd@ed.ac.uk
Jacqueline Dornan Postdoctoral Research Associate Jacqui.Dornan@ed.ac.uk
Heather Grey Richardson Group (Research Assistant) Heather.Grey@ed.ac.uk
Ralph Hector Granneman Group (Research Assistant) Ralph.Hector@ed.ac.uk
Dr Matthew Hindle SynthSys (Research Associate Bioinformatics) Matthew.Hindle@ed.ac.uk
Sarah Hodge Experimental Officer sarah.hodge@ed.ac.uk
Sebastian Jaramillo Riveri SynthSys (Research Associate in Numerical Modelling) sjaramil@staffmail.ed.ac.uk
Dr Uma Jayachandran Cook Lab (Research Assistant) ujayacha@staffmail.ed.ac.uk
Dr Lorraine Kerr SynthSys (Synthsys Project Manager - Experiments) Lorraine.Kerr@ed.ac.uk
Dr Galina Lebedeva SynthSys (Synthsys Project Manager - Modelling) galina.lebedeva@ed.ac.uk
Dr Keun Pyo Lee Halliday Group (Postdoctoral Research Associate) Keunpyo.Lee@ed.ac.uk
Dr Cihan Makbul Postdoctoral Research Associate cmakbul@staffmail.ed.ac.uk
Dr Iain McNae Postdoctoral Research Associate Iain.McNae@ed.ac.uk
Dimitrios Milios Research Associate dmilios@exseed.ed.ac.uk
Julie Nixon Swain Group (Scientific Curator) Julie.Nixon@ed.ac.uk
Zeenat Noordally Postdoctoral Research Associate Zeenat.Noordally@ed.ac.uk
Dr Mathew Nowicki Postdoctoral Research Associate matthew.nowicki@ed.ac.uk
Nicolas Oury SynthSys Nicolas.Oury@ed.ac.uk
Dr Nham Pham Auer Group (Postdoctoral Research Associate) Nhan.Pham@ed.ac.uk
Lindsay Ramage Swain Group (Scientific Curator) Lindsay.Ramage@ed.ac.uk
Daniel Seaton SynthSys (Mathematical Modeller) dseaton@staffmail.ed.ac.uk
Steven Shave Research Fellow Combinatorial Chemistry S.Shave@ed.ac.uk
Dr Hildegard Tekotte Postdoctoral Research Associate H.Tekotte@ed.ac.uk
Dr Gabriela Toledo Ortiz Halliday Group (Postdoctoral Research Associate) gtoledo@staffmail.ed.ac.uk
Dr Rob van Nues Granneman Group (Postdoctoral Research Associate) Rob.Van-Nues@ed.ac.uk
Steven Watterson SynthSys s.watterson@ed.ac.uk
Martin Wear Protein Production Facility Manager Martin.Wear@ed.ac.uk
Andrea Weisse Swain Group (Post Doc) Andrea.Weisse@ed.ac.uk
Jan Wildenhain Tyers Group (Data Management System Developer) Jan.Wildenhain@ed.ac.uk
Dr Yvette Wilson Postdoctoral Research Associate ywilson@staffmail.ed.ac.uk
Dr Tomasz Zielinski Postdoctoral Research Associate Tomasz.Zielinski@ed.ac.uk

Technical Staff

NameGroup / PositionEmail Address
Kirsten Altenbach Marles-Wright Group (Research Technician) Kirsten.Altenbach@ed.ac.uk
Sandra Bruce Walkinshaw Group (Lab Manager) Sandra.Bruce@ed.ac.uk
Nick Gray Walkinshaw Group (Research Technician) N.Gray@ed.ac.uk
Aileen Greig Tyers Group (Research Technician) Aileen.Greig@ed.ac.uk
Lisa Imrie Proteomics Facility Operator Lisa.Imrie@ed.ac.uk
James Kinkead Walkinshaw Group (Research Technician) jkinkead@staffmail.ed.ac.uk
Katalin Kis Katalin.Kis@ed.ac.uk
Vasiliki Lazou Tyers Group (Research Technician) V.Lazou@ed.ac.uk
Eliane Salvo-Chirnside SynthSys (Senior Research Technician) Eliane.Chirnside@ed.ac.uk
Kelly Stewart Halliday Group (Technician) Kelly.Stewart@ed.ac.uk

PhD Students

NameGroup / PositionEmail Address
Elco Bakker Swain Group s1135844@sms.ed.ac.uk
Elena Burlacu Granneman Group s1158726@sms.ed.ac.uk
Giuseppe Cannone Spagnolo Group s0978189@sms.ed.ac.uk
Yiyuan Chen Walkinshaw Group s1165209@sms.ed.ac.uk
Charis Georgiou Walkinshaw Group s1256551@sms.ed.ac.uk
Harriet Jones Halliday Group s1063672@sms.ed.ac.uk
Christos Josephides Swain Group s1038014@sms.ed.ac.uk
Joanna Koszela Auer Group s0964441@sms.ed.ac.uk
Johanna Krahmer Millar Group s1131083@sms.ed.ac.uk
Bruno Martins Swain Group s0880566@sms.ed.ac.uk
Neil McKenzie Walkinshaw Group s0895818@sms.ed.ac.uk
Alice Mitchell Walkinshaw Group s0568527@sms.ed.ac.uk
Gemma Mudd Auer Group s1064242@sms.ed.ac.uk
Ankita Naithani Walkinshaw Group s1100715@sms.ed.ac.uk
James Parker Spagnolo Group s1063980@sms.ed.ac.uk
David Schnoerr Grima Group s1255556@sms.ed.ac.uk
David Toner Grima Group s0962658@sms.ed.ac.uk
Simon Varzandeh Richardson Group s1239002@sms.ed.ac.uk
Maa Vigbedor   s0897698@sms.ed.ac.uk
Urszula Wolkowicz Cook Lab s0680907@sms.ed.ac.uk
Andromachi Xypnitou Walkinshaw Group s1266282@sms.ed.ac.uk
Deyue Yang Halliday Group s1231825@sms.ed.ac.uk
Li-Hsuan Yen Walkinshaw Group s0899291@sms.ed.ac.uk
Meng Yuan Walkinshaw Group s1164802@sms.ed.ac.uk

Accessibility menu