People

Staff list

List of all academic, research, technical and administrative staff.

For corrections, please contact the Institute Secretary below.

Institute of Structural and Molecular Biology staff list

Head of Institute

NameEmail AddressTelephone
Professor Paul Barlow Paul.Barlow@ed.ac.uk +44 (0) 131 650 4727

Institute Secretary

NameEmail AddressTelephone
Louise Bishop Louise.Bishop@ed.ac.uk +44 (0) 131 650 5366

Building Manager

NameEmail AddressTelephone
George McMillan George.McMillan@ed.ac.uk +44 (0) 131 650 5438

Administrative Staff

NamePositionEmail AddressTelephone

Academic Staff and Principal Investigators

NameResearch InterestEmail Address
AUER, Manfred Professor Innovative drug discovery manfred.auer@ed.ac.uk
BARLOW, Paul Professor Professor of Structural Biology Paul.Barlow@ed.ac.uk
BOETTCHER, Bettina Professor Cryo-EM of macromolecular complexes bettina.boettcher@ed.ac.uk
BRAMHAM, Janice Dr Structure and dynamics of biological macromolecules Janice.Bramham@ed.ac.uk
COOK, Atlanta Dr Complexes in RNA metabolism Atlanta.Cook@ed.ac.uk
GRANNEMAN, Sander Dr Ribosome biosynthesis sgrannem@staffmail.ed.ac.uk
GRIMA, Ramon Dr Modelling stochastic processes Ramon.Grima@ed.ac.uk
HALLIDAY, Karen Dr Biochemistry & Metabolomics. Plant Development & Evolution karen.halliday@ed.ac.uk
HOUSTON, Douglas Dr Computational drug discovery DouglasR.Houston@ed.ac.uk
LE BIHAN, Thierry Dr Kinetic paramaterization thierry.lebihan@ed.ac.uk
MARLES-WRIGHT, Jon Dr signal processing Jon.Marles-Wright@ed.ac.uk
MCLAUGHLIN, Paul Dr Senior Lecturer Paul.McLaughlin@ed.ac.uk
MILLAR, Andrew Professor Systems biology and biological clocks Andrew.Millar@ed.ac.uk
MOLINA, Nacho Dr Computational biology and evolutionary genomics Nacho.Molina@ed.ac.uk
REID, Graeme Professor Professor of Molecular Microbiology/ Dean of Learning & Teaching G.A.Reid@ed.ac.uk
RICHARDSON, Julia Dr Structural biology of DNA transposition Julia.Richardson@ed.ac.uk
SPAGNOLO, Laura Dr Large biological assemblies laura.spagnolo@ed.ac.uk
SWAIN, Peter Professor Stochastic biology peter.swain@ed.ac.uk
TAYLOR, Paul Dr Computational drug discovery P.Taylor@ed.ac.uk
WALKINSHAW, Malcolm Professor Protein-ligand interactions Malcolm.Walkinshaw@ed.ac.uk

Honorary and Visiting Staff

NamePositionEmail Address
Professor Tony Crowther Visiting Professor
Dr Linda Gilmore Honorary Fellow linda.gilmore@ed.ac.uk
Professor Paul Michels Visiting Professor paul.michels@ed.ac.uk
Professor Lindsay Sawyer Professor Emeritus l.sawyer@ed.ac.uk
Professor Michael Tyers Visiting Professor m.tyers@ed.ac.uk

Research Staff

NameGroup / PositionEmail Address
Elizabeth Blackburn Postdoctoral Research Associatee.a.blackburn@ed.ac.uk
Dr Yin Hoon Chew Millar Group (Postdoctoral Research Associate)YinHoon.Chew@ed.ac.uk
Dr Claudia Cianci Grima Group (Postdoctoral Research Associate)ccianci@staffmail.ed.ac.uk
Ivan Clark Experimental OfficerIvan.Clark@ed.ac.uk
Matthew Crane Swain Group (Postdoctoral Research Associate)M.Crane@ed.ac.uk
Dr Andrew Cronshaw Rappsilber Group (.)Andrew.Cronshaw@ed.ac.uk
Peter Dodd Postdoctoral Research AssociateP.Dodd@ed.ac.uk
Jacqueline Dornan Postdoctoral Research AssociateJacqui.Dornan@ed.ac.uk
Heather Grey Richardson Group (Research Assistant)Heather.Grey@ed.ac.uk
Dr Matthew Hindle Millar Group (Postdoctoral Research Associate)Matthew.Hindle@ed.ac.uk
Sarah Hodge Experimental Officersarah.hodge@ed.ac.uk
Sebastian Jaramillo Riveri SynthSys (Research Associate in Numerical Modelling)sjaramil@staffmail.ed.ac.uk
Dr Uma Jayachandran Cook Lab (Research Assistant)ujayacha@staffmail.ed.ac.uk
Dr Lorraine Kerr SynthSys (Synthsys Project Manager - Experiments)Lorraine.Kerr@ed.ac.uk
Dr Galina Lebedeva SynthSys (Synthsys Project Manager - Modelling)galina.lebedeva@ed.ac.uk
Dr Cihan Makbul Postdoctoral Research Associatecmakbul@staffmail.ed.ac.uk
Dr Iain McNae Postdoctoral Research AssociateIain.McNae@ed.ac.uk
Dimitrios Milios Research Associatedmilios@exseed.ed.ac.uk
Zeenat Noordally Postdoctoral Research AssociateZeenat.Noordally@ed.ac.uk
Dr Mathew Nowicki Postdoctoral Research Associatematthew.nowicki@ed.ac.uk
Nicolas Oury SynthSysNicolas.Oury@ed.ac.uk
Dr Nham Pham Auer Group (Postdoctoral Research Associate)Nhan.Pham@ed.ac.uk
Lindsay Ramage Swain Group (Scientific Curator)Lindsay.Ramage@ed.ac.uk
Daniel Seaton SynthSys (Mathematical Modeller)dseaton@staffmail.ed.ac.uk
Steven Shave Research Fellow Combinatorial ChemistryS.Shave@ed.ac.uk
Dr Hildegard Tekotte Postdoctoral Research AssociateH.Tekotte@ed.ac.uk
Dr Gabriela Toledo Ortiz Halliday Group (Postdoctoral Research Associate)gtoledo@staffmail.ed.ac.uk
Dr Rob van Nues Granneman Group (Postdoctoral Research Associate)Rob.Van-Nues@ed.ac.uk
Steven Watterson SynthSyss.watterson@ed.ac.uk
Martin Wear Protein Production Facility ManagerMartin.Wear@ed.ac.uk
Andrea Weisse Swain Group (Post Doc)Andrea.Weisse@ed.ac.uk
Jan Wildenhain Tyers Group (Data Management System Developer)Jan.Wildenhain@ed.ac.uk
Dr Yvette Wilson Postdoctoral Research Associateywilson@staffmail.ed.ac.uk

Technical Staff

NameGroup / PositionEmail Address
Kirsten Altenbach Marles-Wright Group (Research Technician) Kirsten.Altenbach@ed.ac.uk
Dr Joanna Brown Boettcher Group (Technologist) Joanna.Brown@ed.ac.uk
Sandra Bruce Walkinshaw Group (Lab Manager) Sandra.Bruce@ed.ac.uk
Nick Gray Walkinshaw Group (Research Technician) N.Gray@ed.ac.uk
Aileen Greig Tyers Group (Research Technician) Aileen.Greig@ed.ac.uk
Lisa Imrie Proteomics Facility Operator Lisa.Imrie@ed.ac.uk
James Kinkead Walkinshaw Group (Research Technician) jkinkead@staffmail.ed.ac.uk
Katalin Kis Katalin.Kis@ed.ac.uk
Eliane Salvo-Chirnside SynthSys (Senior Research Technician) Eliane.Chirnside@ed.ac.uk
Kelly Stewart Halliday Group (Technician) Kelly.Stewart@ed.ac.uk
Li-hsuan Yen Walkinshaw Group (Research Technician) lyen@staffmail.ed.ac.uk

PhD Students

NameGroup / PositionEmail Address
Elco Bakker Swain Group (PhD Student) s1135844@sms.ed.ac.uk
Elena Burlacu Granneman Group (PhD Student) s1158726@sms.ed.ac.uk
Giuseppe Cannone Spagnolo Group (PhD Student) s0978189@sms.ed.ac.uk
Yiyuan Chen Walkinshaw Group (PhD Student) s1165209@sms.ed.ac.uk
Peter Fernandes Walkinshaw Group (PhD Student) s1475113@sms.ed.ac.uk
Ashwin Ganpudi Halliday Group (PhD Student) ashwin.ganpudi@ed.ac.uk
Charis Georgiou Walkinshaw Group (PhD Student) s1256551@sms.ed.ac.uk
Harriet Jones Halliday Group (PhD Student) s1063672@sms.ed.ac.uk
Christos Josephides Swain Group (PhD Student) s1038014@sms.ed.ac.uk
Rocky Kindt Grima Group (PhD Student) s1269542@sms.ed.ac.uk
Johanna Krahmer Millar Group (PhD Student) s1131083@sms.ed.ac.uk
Bruno Martins Swain Group (PhD Student) s0880566@sms.ed.ac.uk
Neil McKenzie Walkinshaw Group (PhD Student) s0895818@sms.ed.ac.uk
Alice Mitchell Walkinshaw Group (PhD Student) s0568527@sms.ed.ac.uk
Gemma Mudd Auer Group (PhD Student) s1064242@sms.ed.ac.uk
Ankita Naithani Walkinshaw Group (PhD Student) s1100715@sms.ed.ac.uk
James Parker Spagnolo Group (PhD Student) s1063980@sms.ed.ac.uk
Andreas Piehler Swain Group (MSc by Research Student) A.Piehler@sms.ed.ac.uk
David Schnoerr Grima Group (PhD Student) s1255556@sms.ed.ac.uk
Stephen Smith Grima Group (PhD Student) s1436741@sms.ed.ac.uk
David Toner Grima Group (PhD Student) s0962658@sms.ed.ac.uk
Simon Varzandeh Richardson Group (PhD Student) s1239002@sms.ed.ac.uk
Maa Vigbedor PhD Student s0897698@sms.ed.ac.uk
Urszula Wolkowicz Cook Lab (PhD Student) s0680907@sms.ed.ac.uk
Andromachi Xypnitou Walkinshaw Group (PhD Student) s1266282@sms.ed.ac.uk
Deyue Yang Halliday Group (PhD Student) s1231825@sms.ed.ac.uk
Meng Yuan Walkinshaw Group (PhD Student) s1164802@sms.ed.ac.uk
Argyris Zardilis Millar Group (PhD Student) s1437009@sms.ed.ac.uk

Accessibility menu