List of all academic, research, technical and administrative staff.

For corrections, please contact the Institute Secretary below.

Institute of Structural and Molecular Biology staff list

Head of Institute

NameEmail AddressTelephone
Professor Paul Barlow +44 (0) 131 650 4727

Institute Secretary

NameEmail AddressTelephone
Louise Bishop +44 (0) 131 650 5366

Building Manager

NameEmail AddressTelephone
George McMillan +44 (0) 131 650 5438

Administrative Staff

NamePositionEmail AddressTelephone
Toni Jenkins Postgraduate Programme Administrator +44 (0) 131 650 7366

Academic Staff and Principal Investigators

NameResearch InterestEmail Address
AUER, Manfred Professor Innovative drug discovery
BARLOW, Paul Professor Professor of Structural Biology
BOETTCHER, Bettina Professor Cryo-EM of macromolecular complexes
BRAMHAM, Janice Dr Structure and dynamics of biological macromolecules
COOK, Atlanta Dr Complexes in RNA metabolism
GRANNEMAN, Sander Dr Ribosome biosynthesis
GRIMA, Ramon Dr Modelling stochastic processes
HALLIDAY, Karen Dr Biochemistry & Metabolomics. Plant Development & Evolution
HOUSTON, Douglas Dr Computational drug discovery
LE BIHAN, Thierry Dr Kinetic paramaterization
MARLES-WRIGHT, Jon Dr signal processing
MCLAUGHLIN, Paul Dr Senior Lecturer
MILLAR, Andrew Professor Systems biology and biological clocks
MOLINA, Nacho Dr Computational biology and evolutionary genomics
REID, Graeme Professor Professor of Molecular Microbiology/ Dean of Learning & Teaching
RICHARDSON, Julia Dr Structural biology of DNA transposition
SPAGNOLO, Laura Dr Large biological assemblies
SWAIN, Peter Professor Stochastic biology
TAYLOR, Paul Dr Computational drug discovery
WALKINSHAW, Malcolm Professor Protein-ligand interactions

Honorary and Visiting Staff

NamePositionEmail Address
Professor Tony Crowther Visiting Professor
Dr Linda Gilmore Honorary Fellow
Professor Paul Michels Visiting Professor
Professor Lindsay Sawyer Professor Emeritus
Professor Michael Tyers Visiting Professor

Research Staff

NameGroup / PositionEmail Address
Elizabeth Blackburn Postdoctoral Research Associate
Dr Yin Hoon Chew Millar Group (Postdoctoral Research Associate)
Dr Claudia Cianci Grima Group (Postdoctoral Research Associate)
Ivan Clark Experimental Officer
Matthew Crane Postdoctoral Research Associate
Dr Andrew Cronshaw Rappsilber Group (.)
Peter Dodd Postdoctoral Research Associate
Jacqueline Dornan Postdoctoral Research Associate
Heather Grey Richardson Group (Research Assistant)
Dr Matthew Hindle Millar Group (Postdoctoral Research Associate)
Sarah Hodge Experimental Officer
Sebastian Jaramillo Riveri SynthSys (Research Associate in Numerical Modelling)
Dr Uma Jayachandran Cook Lab (Research Assistant)
Dr Lorraine Kerr SynthSys (Synthsys Project Manager - Experiments)
Dr Galina Lebedeva SynthSys (Synthsys Project Manager - Modelling)
Dr Cihan Makbul Postdoctoral Research Associate
Dr Iain McNae Postdoctoral Research Associate
Dimitrios Milios Research Associate
Zeenat Noordally Postdoctoral Research Associate
Dr Mathew Nowicki Postdoctoral Research Associate
Nicolas Oury SynthSys
Dr Nham Pham Auer Group (Postdoctoral Research Associate)
Lindsay Ramage Swain Group (Scientific Curator)
Daniel Seaton SynthSys (Mathematical Modeller)
Steven Shave Research Fellow Combinatorial Chemistry
Dr Hildegard Tekotte Postdoctoral Research Associate
Dr Gabriela Toledo Ortiz Halliday Group (Postdoctoral Research Associate)
Dr Rob van Nues Granneman Group (Postdoctoral Research Associate)
Steven Watterson SynthSys
Martin Wear Protein Production Facility Manager
Andrea Weisse Swain Group (Post Doc)
Jan Wildenhain Tyers Group (Data Management System Developer)
Dr Yvette Wilson Postdoctoral Research Associate

Technical Staff

NameGroup / PositionEmail Address
Kirsten Altenbach Marles-Wright Group (Research Technician)
Dr Joanna Brown Boettcher Group (Technologist)
Sandra Bruce Walkinshaw Group (Lab Manager)
Nick Gray Walkinshaw Group (Research Technician)
Aileen Greig Tyers Group (Research Technician)
Lisa Imrie Proteomics Facility Operator
James Kinkead Walkinshaw Group (Research Technician)
Katalin Kis
Eliane Salvo-Chirnside SynthSys (Senior Research Technician)
Kelly Stewart Halliday Group (Technician)
Li-hsuan Yen Walkinshaw Group (Research Technician)

PhD Students

NameGroup / PositionEmail Address
Elco Bakker Swain Group
Elena Burlacu Granneman Group
Giuseppe Cannone Spagnolo Group
Yiyuan Chen Walkinshaw Group
Peter Fernandes Walkinshaw Group
Ashwin Ganpudi Halliday Group
Charis Georgiou Walkinshaw Group
Harriet Jones Halliday Group
Christos Josephides Swain Group
Rocky Kindt Grima Group
Johanna Krahmer Millar Group
Bruno Martins Swain Group
Neil McKenzie Walkinshaw Group
Alice Mitchell Walkinshaw Group
Gemma Mudd Auer Group
Ankita Naithani Walkinshaw Group
James Parker Spagnolo Group
Andreas Piehler Swain Group
David Schnoerr Grima Group
Stephen Smith Grima Group
David Toner Grima Group
Simon Varzandeh Richardson Group
Maa Vigbedor
Urszula Wolkowicz Cook Lab
Andromachi Xypnitou Walkinshaw Group
Deyue Yang Halliday Group
Meng Yuan Walkinshaw Group
Argyris Zardilis Millar Group

Accessibility menu