People

List of all academic, research, technical and administrative staff.

For corrections, please contact the Institute Secretary below.

Institute of Evolutionary Biology staff list

Head of Institute

NameEmail AddressTelephone
Professor Josephine Pemberton iebhead@ed.ac.uk +44 (0) 131 650 5505

Institute Secretary

NameEmail AddressTelephone
Kath Tracey Kath.Tracey@ed.ac.uk +44 (0) 131 650 5456

Building Manager

NameEmail AddressTelephone
Dr David Brown David.Brown@ed.ac.uk +44 (0) 131 650 5453

Administrative Staff

NamePositionEmail AddressTelephone
David Bonas Edinburgh Genomics Business Manager david.bonas@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 7804
Carole Ferrier Postgraduate Secretary Carole.Ferrier@ed.ac.uk +44 (0) 131 650 5455
Jayne Glendinning School Research Administrator Jayne.Glendinning@ed.ac.uk +44 (0) 131 650 7274
Andrew Lainson Business Administrative Assistant - Edinburgh Genomics andrew.lainson@ed.ac.uk +44(0)131 651 3633
Ana Serrano Administrative Assistant - Edinburgh Genomics Ana.Serrano@ed.ac.uk +44(0)131 651 3633
Sophie Warlow Sequencing Technician sophie.warlow@ed.ac.uk

Academic Staff and Principal Investigators

NameResearch InterestEmail Address
BELL, Matthew Dr Evolution of social conflict Matt.Bell@ed.ac.uk
BLAXTER, Mark Professor The biology and evolution of nematodes, including the analysis of genes and gene families in the model nematode Caenorhabditis elegans Mark.Blaxter@ed.ac.uk
BROWN, Sam Dr Social evolution of microbial virulence Sam.Brown@ed.ac.uk
COLEGRAVE, Nick Dr Evolution of adaptation and diversity N.Colegrave@ed.ac.uk
COLLINS, Sinead Dr Adaptation in complex environments s.collins@ed.ac.uk
CUNNINGHAM, Emma Dr Evolutionary and behavioural ecology of reproductive strategies. Life-history evolution in particular, how life history decisions are affected by parasitism and disease. Sexual selection and sexual conflict e.cunningham@ed.ac.uk
ENNOS, Richard Professor Evolution and adaptation in plants and fungi rennos@ed.ac.uk
FRENCH, Vernon Dr Senior Lecturer Vernon.French@ed.ac.uk
GHARBI, Karim Dr SNP and QTL mapping karim.gharbi@ed.ac.uk
HADFIELD, Jarrod Dr Evolutionary quantitative genetics j.hadfield@ed.ac.uk
JONES, Martin Dr Evolutionary bioinformatics martin.jones@ed.ac.uk
KEIGHTLEY, Peter Professor The evolutionary impact of new mutations. The evolutionary analysis of genome sequences. Complex trait genetics
KNOTT, Sara Dr Genetics of complex traits s.knott@ed.ac.uk
KRUUK, Loeske Professor Life history evolution and quantitative genetics in natural populations, particularly wild vertebrate populations Loeske.Kruuk@ed.ac.uk
LEIGH-BROWN, Andrew Professor Genetic variation and evolution of HIV, particularly the evolution of drug resistance A.J.Leigh-Brown@ed.ac.uk
LEWIS, Sue Dr Population ecology, particularly the impact of individual variation on population processes Sue.Lewis@ed.ac.uk
LITTLE, Tom Professor The evolutionary implications of parasitism and disease on host populations tom.little@ed.ac.uk
LOHSE, Konrad Dr Population genomics and speciation Konrad.Lohse@ed.ac.uk
MOORAD, Jacob Dr Evolution of ageing Jacob.Moorad@ed.ac.uk
NURNBERGER, Beate Dr Senior Research Fellow B.Nurnberger@ed.ac.uk
NUSSEY, Daniel Dr Evolutionary ecology and genetics of ageing and phenotypic plasticity dan.nussey@ed.ac.uk
OBBARD, Darren Dr The evolution of insect viruses and insect immune systems darren.obbard@ed.ac.uk
PEDERSEN, Amy Dr The ecology and evolution of infectious diseases; particularly co-infection dynamics in wild mammals and disease emergence Amy.Pedersen@ed.ac.uk
PEMBERTON, Josephine Professor Using molecular techniques to investigate issues in behaviour, ecology and evolution in natural populations J.Pemberton@ed.ac.uk
PHILLIMORE, Albert Dr Ecology and evolution on a macro-scale Albert.Phillimore@ed.ac.uk
RAMBAUT, Andrew Professor Molecular evolution and molecular epidemiology of RNA viruses; Computational techniques in molecular phylogenetics and evolution a.rambaut@ed.ac.uk
REECE, Sarah Dr What makes a successful parasite Sarah.Reece@ed.ac.uk
ROSS, Laura Genetic conflict Laura.Ross@ed.ac.uk
SHARP, Paul Professor Evolution of viruses; evolution of bacterial genomes paul.sharp@ed.ac.uk
SILVERTOWN, Jonathan Professor Professor/PI jsilvert@staffmail.ed.ac.uk
SILVERTOWN, Jonathan Professor Professor/PI jsilvert@staffmail.ed.ac.uk
SMISETH, Per Dr Evolution of parental care, parent-offspring conflict, sexual conflict and sibling competition per.t.smiseth@ed.ac.uk
STONE, Graham Professor Molecular ecology of insect-plant interactions Graham.Stone@ed.ac.uk
TWYFORD, Alex Dr NERC Research Fellow alex.twyford@ed.ac.uk
WALLING, Craig Dr Evolutionary ecology particularly sexual selection and the maintenance of genetic variation in life history traits craig.walling@ed.ac.uk
WALSH, Patrick Dr Behavioural ecology and animal cognition: life history responses to environmental factors, and the cognitive requirements of avian nest building. Patrick.Walsh@ed.ac.uk
WOOLHOUSE, Mark Professor Infectious Disease Epidemiology Mark.Woolhouse@ed.ac.uk

Honorary and Visiting Staff

NamePositionEmail Address
Professor Nicholas Barton Visiting Professor N.Barton@ed.ac.uk
Dr Susan Brotherstone Honorary Fellow S.Brotherstone@ed.ac.uk
Dr Lutz Bunger Honorary Fellow Lutz.Bunger@sac.ac.uk
Professor Brian Charlesworth Senior Honorary Professorial Fellow brian.charlesworth@ed.ac.uk
Professor Deborah Charlesworth Senior Honorary Professorial Fellow deborah.charlesworth@ed.ac.uk
Dr Francis Daunt Honorary Fellow
Dr John Deag Honorary Fellow J.Deag@ed.ac.uk
Professor William G Hill Professor Emeritus W.G.Hill@ed.ac.uk
Professor Andrew Illius Professor Emeritus a.illius@ed.ac.uk
Dr Lee Innes Honorary Fellow
Dr Peter Jones Honorary Fellow Peter.Jones@ed.ac.uk
Professor Aubrey Manning OBE Professor Emeritus A.Manning@ed.ac.uk
Dr Martyn Murray Honorary Fellow m.murray@ed.ac.uk

Research Staff

NameGroup / PositionEmail Address
Camillo Berenos Pemberton Group (Postdoctoral Research Associate)Camillo.Berenos@ed.ac.uk
Roberta Bergero Deborah Charlesworth Group (Postdoctoral Research Associate)R.Bergero@ed.ac.uk
Jose Campos Deborah Charlesworth Group (Research Fellow)jcampos@staffmail.ed.ac.uk
Laetitia Canini Research Associatelaetitia.canini@ed.ac.uk
Timothee Cezard Blaxter Group (Bioinformatician)Timothee.Cezard@ed.ac.uk
Eva Deinum Postdoctoral Research AssociateEva.Deinum@ed.ac.uk
Dr Godefroy Devevey Pedersen Group (Postdoctoral Research Associate)Godefroy.Devevey@ed.ac.uk
Dr Jennie Garbutt Little Group (Post Doc)J.Garbutt@ed.ac.uk
Helen Gunter Blaxter Group (Environmental Genomics Project Manager)helen.gunter@ed.ac.uk
Damien Hicks Stone Group (Research Associate)Damien.Hicks@ed.ac.uk
Rebecca Holland Nussey Group (Research Assistant)rholland@staffmail.ed.ac.uk
Dr Jisca Huisman Pemberton Group (Postdoctoral Research Associate)Jisca.Huisman@ed.ac.uk
Dr Susan Johnston Pemberton Group (Postdoctoral Research Associate)Susan.Johnston@ed.ac.uk
Dr Crispin Jordan Ennos Group (Postdoctoral Research Associate)Crispin.Jordan@ed.ac.uk
Jerome Kelleher Barton Group (Research Fellow)jerome.kelleher@ed.ac.uk
Dr Heidi Kuehne Collins Group (Research Assistant)h.kuehne@ed.ac.uk
Dr Diane Lawrence Collins Group (Postdoctoral Research Associate)dlawren2@staffmail.ed.ac.uk
Alexandra Marshall Blaxter Group (Bioinformatician)Alex.Marshall@ed.ac.uk
Lynsey McInnes Stone Group (Postdoctoral Research Associate)Lynsey.McInnes@ed.ac.uk
Andrew Morgan Keightley Group (Postdoctoral Research Associate)Andrew.Morgan@ed.ac.uk
Rob Ness Keightley Group (Postdoctoral Research Associate)Rob.Ness@ed.ac.uk
James Nicholls Stone Group (Research Fellow)james.nicholls@ed.ac.uk
Aidan O'Donnell Reece Group (Research Assistant)aodonne3@staffmail.ed.ac.uk
Bert Overduin Bioinformaticianbert.overduin@ed.ac.uk
Jill Pilkington Pemberton Group (Research Associate)J.Pilkington@ed.ac.uk
Dr Lindsey Plenderleith Sharp Group (Postdoctoral Research Fellow)Lindsey.Plenderleith@ed.ac.uk
Roman Popat Brown Group (Research Fellow)Roman.Popat@ed.ac.uk
Thibaud Porphyre EpiGroup (Research Fellow)T.Porphyre@ed.ac.uk
Dr Suo Qiu Deborah Charlesworth Group (Postdoctoral Research Associate)Suo.Qiu@ed.ac.uk
Maia Rabaa EpiGroup (Research Fellow)Maia.Rabaa@ed.ac.uk
Charlotte Repton Reece Group (Research Assistant)Charlotte.Repton@ed.ac.uk
Carolyn Riddell Edinburgh Genomics (Sequencing Technician)criddell@staffmail.ed.ac.uk
Judith Risse Bioinformaticianjudith.risse@ed.ac.uk
Evie Rynkiewicz Pedersen Group (Sponsored Researcher)erynkiew@staffmail.ed.ac.uk
Petra Schneider Reece Group (CIIE Junior Fellowship)Petra.Schneider@ed.ac.uk
Ana Serrano Edinburgh Genomics (Administrative Assistant - Edinburgh Genomics)Ana.Serrano@ed.ac.uk
Frazer Sinclair Stone Group (Seasonal Fieldworker)fsincla2@staffmail.ed.ac.uk
Stuart Taylor Edinburgh Genomics (Bioinformatician)S.J.Taylor@ed.ac.uk
Marian Thomson Edinburgh Genomics (Sequencing Technician)Marian.Thomson@ed.ac.uk
Urmi Trivedi Edinburgh Genomics (Lead Bioinformatician)urmi.trivedi@ed.ac.uk
Dr Pedro Vale Obbard Group (Research Fellow)Pedro.Vale@ed.ac.uk
Bram van Bunnik EpiGroup (Research Fellow)Bram.vanBunnik@ed.ac.uk
Dr Fergal Waldron Obbard Group (Research Assistant)Fergal.Waldron@ed.ac.uk
Ernest Walzel Blaxter Group (Bioinformatician (Programmer))ewalzel@staffmail.ed.ac.uk
Melissa Ward EpiGroup (Post-Doc)Melissa.Ward@ed.ac.uk
Kathryn Watt Nussey Group (Lab Manager)kwatt2@staffmail.ed.ac.uk
Ian White Research Associatei.m.s.white@ed.ac.uk
Paul Wikramaratna Rambaut Group (Postdoctoral Research Associate)Paul.Wikramaratna@ed.ac.uk
Philip Wilson Little Group (Research Assistant)phil.wilson@ed.ac.uk
Gonzalo Yebra Postdoctoral Research AssociateGonzalo.Yebra@ed.ac.uk

Technical Staff

NameGroup / PositionEmail Address
Martyn Baker Kruuk Group (Research Support Technician) Martyn.Baker@ed.ac.uk
Helen Borthwick Brian Charlesworth Group (Research Technician) Helen.Borthwick@ed.ac.uk
Cathlene Eland Edinburgh Genomics (Sequencing Technologist) Cathlene.Eland@ed.ac.uk
Andrew Gillies Edinburgh Genomics (Sequencing Service Technician) Andrew.Gillies@ed.ac.uk
David Keszenman Pereyra Edinburgh Genomics (Sequencing Support Officer) dkpereyr@staffmail.ed.ac.uk
Stewart Laing Edinburgh Genomics (Sequencing Technologist) Stewart.Laing@ed.ac.uk
Tony Miles Blaxter Group (Sequencing Technologist) Tony.Miles@ed.ac.uk
Anna Montazam Edinburgh Genomics (Sequencing Service Technician) Anna.Montazam@ed.ac.uk
Ronnie Mooney Reece Group (Research Technician) Ronnie.Mooney@ed.ac.uk
Alison Morris Kruuk Group (Senior Research Technician) Ali.Morris@ed.ac.uk
Sean Morris Kruuk Group (Research Support Technician (field based)) sean.morris@ed.ac.uk
Jenna Nichols Edinburgh Genomics (Sample Preperation Manager) J.Paxton@ed.ac.uk
Pierre Ouvrard Stone Group (Seasonal Fieldworker) pouvrard@staffmail.ed.ac.uk
Ashleigh Whiffin Research Technician awhiffin@staffmail.ed.ac.uk
Nicola Wrobel Edinburgh Genomics (Sequencing Service Technician) Nicola.Wrobel@ed.ac.uk

PhD Students

NameGroup / PositionEmail Address
Richard Allen PhD Student s1144448@sms.ed.ac.uk
Philip Birget Reece Group (PhD Student) p.l.g.birget@sms.ed.ac.uk
Thomas Black Pemberton Group (PhD Student) s0232918@sms.ed.ac.uk
Thomas Booker PhD Student T.R.Booker@sms.ed.ac.uk
Kay Boulton Walling Group (PhD Student) K.Boulton@sms.ed.ac.uk
Georgina Brennan Collins Group (PhD Student) s1163484@sms.ed.ac.uk
Liam Brierley Pedersen Group (PhD Student) L.Brierley@sms.ed.ac.uk
Rebecca Callaby EpiGroup (PhD Student) Rebecca.Callaby@ed.ac.uk
Lucy Carter Reece Group (PhD Student) s0560814@sms.ed.ac.uk
Christina Coakley Cunningham Group (PhD Student) christina.coakley@ed.ac.uk
Daniel Cornforth Brown Group (PhD Student) s1200286@sms.ed.ac.uk
Claire Donaldson Knott Group (PhD Student) claire.donaldson@sruc.ed.ac.uk
Kevin Donnelly Ennos Group (PhD Student) K.Donnelly-4@sms.ed.ac.uk
Gytis Dudas Rambaut Group (PhD Student) g.dudas@sms.ed.ac.uk
Jenn Elliott Brown Group (PhD Student) J.K.Elliott@sms.ed.ac.uk
Julja Ernst Stone Group (PhD Student) s0566679@sms.ed.ac.uk
Sylvie Estrela Brown Group (PhD Student) S.Estrela@sms.ed.ac.uk
Jessica Flood EpiGroup (PhD Student) s1066705@sms.ed.ac.uk
Hannah Froy Nussey Group (PhD Student) H.Froy@sms.ed.ac.uk
Mizuho Fukushige EpiGroup (PhD Student) M.Fukusige@sms.ed.ac.uk
Cheryl Gibbons EpiGroup (PhD Student) C.L.Gibbons@sms.ed.ac.uk
Tom Godfrey Stone Group (PhD Student) s1144240@sms.ed.ac.uk
Hanna Granroth-wilding Cunningham Group (PhD Student) s0959837@sms.ed.ac.uk
Gabriela Karolina Hajduk PhD Student G.K.Hajduk@sms.ed.ac.uk
Matthew Hall EpiGroup (PhD Student) s1162301@sms.ed.ac.uk
Jack Hearn Blaxter Group (PhD Student) s0790076@sms.ed.ac.uk
Jessica Hedge Rambaut Group (PhD Student) s0976685@sms.ed.ac.uk
Emma Hodcroft Leigh-Brown Group (PhD Student) s0967543@sms.ed.ac.uk
Edward Ivimey-Cook PhD Student E.R.Ivimey-cook@sms.ed.ac.uk
Athanasios Kousathanas Keightley Group (PhD Student) s0969445@sms.ed.ac.uk
Josianne Lachapelle Colegrave Group (PhD Student) s1213610@sms.ed.ac.uk
Sam Lewis Obbard Group (PhD Student) s1066244@sms.ed.ac.uk
Rasmus Lindberg PhD Student R.T.N.Lindberg@sms.ed.ac.uk
Nick Lowery Brown Group (PhD Student) s1214906@sms.ed.ac.uk
Lu Lu Leigh-Brown Group (PhD Student) s1065459@sms.ed.ac.uk
Sarah Mattey Smiseth Group (PhD Student) s1061454@sms.ed.ac.uk
Nathan Medd PhD Student N.C.Medd@sms.ed.ac.uk
Kathryn Milne PhD Student K.H.Milne@sms.ed.ac.uk
Emily Moore Pemberton Group (PhD Student) s1053799@sms.ed.ac.uk
Maarit Mäenpää Smiseth Group (PhD Student) s1165059@sms.ed.ac.uk
Reuben Nowell Sharp Group (PhD Student) s0451486@sms.ed.ac.uk
Richard Fordjour Oppong PhD Student R.F.Oppong@sms.ed.ac.uk
William Palmer PhD Student W.H.Palmer@sms.ed.ac.uk
Alyson Pavitt Pemberton Group (PhD Student) s1141140@sms.ed.ac.uk
Richard Perry Sharp Group (PhD Student) s0967724@sms.ed.ac.uk
Kim Prior Reece Group (PhD Student) k.f.prior@sms.ed.ac.uk
Juan Quintana PhD Student J.F.Quintana-Alcala@sms.ed.ac.uk
Manon Ragonnet-cronin Leigh-Brown Group (PhD Student) s1136422@sms.ed.ac.uk
Elisa Schaum Collins Group (PhD Student) s1050477@sms.ed.ac.uk
Stephanie Smith Pemberton Group (PhD Student) s0968159@sms.ed.ac.uk
Christine Tansey Phillimore Group (PhD Student) s1164963@sms.ed.ac.uk
Annika Telford Ennos Group (PhD Student) s1269358@sms.ed.ac.uk
Graham Thomas Blaxter Group (PhD Student) s0898113@sms.ed.ac.uk
Rucha Tillu PhD Student R.A.Tillu@sms.ed.ac.uk
Eugenio Valderrama Escallon Stone Group (PhD Student) s1130409@sms.ed.ac.uk
Becky Watson Nussey Group (PhD Student) Rebecca.Watson@ed.ac.uk
James Westrip Bell Group (PhD Student) s0802766@sms.ed.ac.uk
Mojca Zelnikar Leigh-Brown Group (PhD Student) s1027648@sms.ed.ac.uk

Accessibility menu