People

List of all academic, research, technical and administrative staff.

For corrections, please contact the Institute Secretary below.

Institute of Evolutionary Biology staff list

Head of Institute

NameEmail AddressTelephone
Professor Josephine Pemberton iebhead@ed.ac.uk +44 (0) 131 650 5505

Institute Secretary

NameEmail AddressTelephone
Kath Tracey Kath.Tracey@ed.ac.uk +44 (0) 131 650 5456

Building Manager

NameEmail AddressTelephone
Dr David Brown David.Brown@ed.ac.uk +44 (0) 131 650 5453

Administrative Staff

NamePositionEmail AddressTelephone
David Bonas Edinburgh Genomics Business Manager david.bonas@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 7804
Carole Ferrier Postgraduate Secretary Carole.Ferrier@ed.ac.uk +44 (0) 131 650 5455
Jayne Glendinning School Research Administrator Jayne.Glendinning@ed.ac.uk +44 (0) 131 650 7274
Andrew Lainson Business Administrative Assistant - Edinburgh Genomics andrew.lainson@ed.ac.uk +44(0)131 651 3633
Ana Serrano Administrative Assistant - Edinburgh Genomics Ana.Serrano@ed.ac.uk +44(0)131 651 3633
Sophie Warlow Sequencing Technician sophie.warlow@ed.ac.uk

Academic Staff and Principal Investigators

NameResearch InterestEmail Address
BELL, Matthew Dr Evolution of social conflict Matt.Bell@ed.ac.uk
BLAXTER, Mark Professor The biology and evolution of nematodes, including the analysis of genes and gene families in the model nematode Caenorhabditis elegans Mark.Blaxter@ed.ac.uk
BROWN, Sam Dr Social evolution of microbial virulence Sam.Brown@ed.ac.uk
COLEGRAVE, Nick Dr Evolution of adaptation and diversity N.Colegrave@ed.ac.uk
COLLINS, Sinead Dr Adaptation in complex environments s.collins@ed.ac.uk
CUNNINGHAM, Emma Dr Evolutionary and behavioural ecology of reproductive strategies. Life-history evolution in particular, how life history decisions are affected by parasitism and disease. Sexual selection and sexual conflict e.cunningham@ed.ac.uk
ENNOS, Richard Professor Evolution and adaptation in plants and fungi rennos@ed.ac.uk
FRENCH, Vernon Dr Senior Lecturer Vernon.French@ed.ac.uk
GHARBI, Karim Dr SNP and QTL mapping karim.gharbi@ed.ac.uk
HADFIELD, Jarrod Dr Evolutionary quantitative genetics j.hadfield@ed.ac.uk
JONES, Martin Dr Evolutionary bioinformatics martin.jones@ed.ac.uk
KEIGHTLEY, Peter Professor The evolutionary impact of new mutations. The evolutionary analysis of genome sequences. Complex trait genetics
KNOTT, Sara Dr Genetics of complex traits s.knott@ed.ac.uk
KRUUK, Loeske Professor Life history evolution and quantitative genetics in natural populations, particularly wild vertebrate populations Loeske.Kruuk@ed.ac.uk
LEIGH-BROWN, Andrew Professor Genetic variation and evolution of HIV, particularly the evolution of drug resistance A.J.Leigh-Brown@ed.ac.uk
LEWIS, Sue Dr Population ecology, particularly the impact of individual variation on population processes Sue.Lewis@ed.ac.uk
LITTLE, Tom Professor The evolutionary implications of parasitism and disease on host populations tom.little@ed.ac.uk
LOHSE, Konrad Dr Population genomics and speciation Konrad.Lohse@ed.ac.uk
MOORAD, Jacob Dr Evolution of ageing Jacob.Moorad@ed.ac.uk
NURNBERGER, Beate Dr Senior Research Fellow B.Nurnberger@ed.ac.uk
NUSSEY, Daniel Dr Evolutionary ecology and genetics of ageing and phenotypic plasticity dan.nussey@ed.ac.uk
OBBARD, Darren Dr The evolution of insect viruses and insect immune systems darren.obbard@ed.ac.uk
PEDERSEN, Amy Dr The ecology and evolution of infectious diseases; particularly co-infection dynamics in wild mammals and disease emergence Amy.Pedersen@ed.ac.uk
PEMBERTON, Josephine Professor Using molecular techniques to investigate issues in behaviour, ecology and evolution in natural populations J.Pemberton@ed.ac.uk
PHILLIMORE, Albert Dr Ecology and evolution on a macro-scale Albert.Phillimore@ed.ac.uk
RAMBAUT, Andrew Professor Molecular evolution and molecular epidemiology of RNA viruses; Computational techniques in molecular phylogenetics and evolution a.rambaut@ed.ac.uk
REECE, Sarah Dr What makes a successful parasite Sarah.Reece@ed.ac.uk
ROSS, Laura Genetic conflict Laura.Ross@ed.ac.uk
SHARP, Paul Professor Evolution of viruses; evolution of bacterial genomes paul.sharp@ed.ac.uk
SILVERTOWN, Jonathan Professor Professor/PI jsilvert@staffmail.ed.ac.uk
SMISETH, Per Dr Evolution of parental care, parent-offspring conflict, sexual conflict and sibling competition per.t.smiseth@ed.ac.uk
STONE, Graham Professor Molecular ecology of insect-plant interactions Graham.Stone@ed.ac.uk
WALLING, Craig Dr Evolutionary ecology particularly sexual selection and the maintenance of genetic variation in life history traits craig.walling@ed.ac.uk
WALSH, Patrick Dr Behavioural ecology and animal cognition: life history responses to environmental factors, and the cognitive requirements of avian nest building. Patrick.Walsh@ed.ac.uk
WOOLHOUSE, Mark Professor Infectious Disease Epidemiology Mark.Woolhouse@ed.ac.uk

Honorary and Visiting Staff

NamePositionEmail Address
Professor Nicholas Barton Visiting Professor N.Barton@ed.ac.uk
Dr Susan Brotherstone Honorary Fellow S.Brotherstone@ed.ac.uk
Dr Lutz Bunger Honorary Fellow Lutz.Bunger@sac.ac.uk
Professor Brian Charlesworth Senior Honorary Professorial Fellow brian.charlesworth@ed.ac.uk
Professor Deborah Charlesworth Senior Honorary Professorial Fellow deborah.charlesworth@ed.ac.uk
Dr Francis Daunt Honorary Fellow
Dr John Deag Honorary Fellow J.Deag@ed.ac.uk
Professor William G Hill Professor Emeritus W.G.Hill@ed.ac.uk
Professor Andrew Illius Professor Emeritus a.illius@ed.ac.uk
Dr Lee Innes Honorary Fellow
Dr Peter Jones Honorary Fellow Peter.Jones@ed.ac.uk
Professor Aubrey Manning OBE Professor Emeritus A.Manning@ed.ac.uk
Dr Martyn Murray Honorary Fellow m.murray@ed.ac.uk

Research Staff

NameGroup / PositionEmail Address
Camillo Berenos Pemberton Group (Postdoctoral Research Associate) Camillo.Berenos@ed.ac.uk
Roberta Bergero Deborah Charlesworth Group (Postdoctoral Research Associate) R.Bergero@ed.ac.uk
Jose Campos Deborah Charlesworth Group (Research Fellow) jcampos@staffmail.ed.ac.uk
Laetitia Canini Research Associate laetitia.canini@ed.ac.uk
Timothee Cezard Blaxter Group (Bioinformatician) Timothee.Cezard@ed.ac.uk
Eva Deinum Postdoctoral Research Associate Eva.Deinum@ed.ac.uk
Dr Godefroy Devevey Pedersen Group (Postdoctoral Research Associate) Godefroy.Devevey@ed.ac.uk
Dr Jennie Garbutt Little Group (Post Doc) J.Garbutt@ed.ac.uk
Helen Gunter Blaxter Group (Environmental Genomics Project Manager) helen.gunter@ed.ac.uk
Damien Hicks Stone Group (Research Associate) Damien.Hicks@ed.ac.uk
Rebecca Holland Nussey Group (Research Assistant) rholland@staffmail.ed.ac.uk
Dr Jisca Huisman Pemberton Group (Postdoctoral Research Associate) Jisca.Huisman@ed.ac.uk
Dr Susan Johnston Pemberton Group (Postdoctoral Research Associate) Susan.Johnston@ed.ac.uk
Dr Crispin Jordan Ennos Group (Postdoctoral Research Associate) Crispin.Jordan@ed.ac.uk
Jerome Kelleher Barton Group (Research Fellow) jerome.kelleher@ed.ac.uk
Dr Heidi Kuehne Collins Group (Research Assistant) h.kuehne@ed.ac.uk
Dr Diane Lawrence Collins Group (Postdoctoral Research Associate) dlawren2@staffmail.ed.ac.uk
Alexandra Marshall Blaxter Group (Bioinformatician) Alex.Marshall@ed.ac.uk
Lynsey McInnes Stone Group (Postdoctoral Research Associate) Lynsey.McInnes@ed.ac.uk
Andrew Morgan Keightley Group (Postdoctoral Research Associate) Andrew.Morgan@ed.ac.uk
Rob Ness Keightley Group (Postdoctoral Research Associate) Rob.Ness@ed.ac.uk
James Nicholls Stone Group (Research Fellow) james.nicholls@ed.ac.uk
Aidan O'Donnell Reece Group (Research Assistant) aodonne3@staffmail.ed.ac.uk
Bert Overduin Bioinformatician bert.overduin@ed.ac.uk
Jill Pilkington Pemberton Group (Research Associate) J.Pilkington@ed.ac.uk
Dr Lindsey Plenderleith Sharp Group (Postdoctoral Research Fellow) Lindsey.Plenderleith@ed.ac.uk
Roman Popat Brown Group (Research Fellow) Roman.Popat@ed.ac.uk
Thibaud Porphyre EpiGroup (Research Fellow) T.Porphyre@ed.ac.uk
Dr Suo Qiu Deborah Charlesworth Group (Postdoctoral Research Associate) Suo.Qiu@ed.ac.uk
Maia Rabaa EpiGroup (Research Fellow) Maia.Rabaa@ed.ac.uk
Charlotte Repton Reece Group (Research Assistant) Charlotte.Repton@ed.ac.uk
Carolyn Riddell GenePool (Sequencing Technician) criddell@staffmail.ed.ac.uk
Judith Risse Bioinformatician judith.risse@ed.ac.uk
Evie Rynkiewicz Pedersen Group (Sponsored Researcher) erynkiew@staffmail.ed.ac.uk
Petra Schneider Reece Group (CIIE Junior Fellowship) Petra.Schneider@ed.ac.uk
Ana Serrano GenePool (Administrative Assistant - Edinburgh Genomics) Ana.Serrano@ed.ac.uk
Frazer Sinclair Stone Group (Seasonal Fieldworker) fsincla2@staffmail.ed.ac.uk
Stuart Taylor GenePool (Bioinformatician) S.J.Taylor@ed.ac.uk
Marian Thomson GenePool (Sequencing Technician) Marian.Thomson@ed.ac.uk
Urmi Trivedi GenePool (Lead Bioinformatician) urmi.trivedi@ed.ac.uk
Dr Pedro Vale Obbard Group (Research Fellow) Pedro.Vale@ed.ac.uk
Bram van Bunnik EpiGroup (Research Fellow) Bram.vanBunnik@ed.ac.uk
Dr Fergal Waldron Obbard Group (Research Assistant) Fergal.Waldron@ed.ac.uk
Ernest Walzel Blaxter Group (Bioinformatician (Programmer)) ewalzel@staffmail.ed.ac.uk
Melissa Ward EpiGroup (Post-Doc) Melissa.Ward@ed.ac.uk
Kathryn Watt Nussey Group (Lab Manager) kwatt2@staffmail.ed.ac.uk
Ian White Research Associate i.m.s.white@ed.ac.uk
Paul Wikramaratna Rambaut Group (Postdoctoral Research Associate) Paul.Wikramaratna@ed.ac.uk
Philip Wilson Little Group (Research Assistant) phil.wilson@ed.ac.uk
Gonzalo Yebra Postdoctoral Research Associate Gonzalo.Yebra@ed.ac.uk

Technical Staff

NameGroup / PositionEmail Address
Martyn Baker Kruuk Group (Research Support Technician) Martyn.Baker@ed.ac.uk
Helen Borthwick Brian Charlesworth Group (Research Technician) Helen.Borthwick@ed.ac.uk
Cathlene Eland GenePool (Sequencing Technologist) Cathlene.Eland@ed.ac.uk
Andrew Gillies GenePool (Sequencing Service Technician) Andrew.Gillies@ed.ac.uk
David Keszenman Pereyra GenePool (Sequencing Support Officer) dkpereyr@staffmail.ed.ac.uk
Stewart Laing GenePool (Sequencing Technologist) Stewart.Laing@ed.ac.uk
Tony Miles Blaxter Group (Sequencing Technologist) Tony.Miles@ed.ac.uk
Elizabeth Mittel Hadfield Group (Technician) e.mittel@ed.ac.uk
Anna Montazam GenePool (Sequencing Service Technician) Anna.Montazam@ed.ac.uk
Ronnie Mooney Reece Group (Research Technician) Ronnie.Mooney@ed.ac.uk
Alison Morris Kruuk Group (Senior Research Technician) Ali.Morris@ed.ac.uk
Sean Morris Kruuk Group (Research Support Technician (field based)) sean.morris@ed.ac.uk
Jenna Nichols GenePool (Sample Preperation Manager) J.Paxton@ed.ac.uk
Pierre Ouvrard Stone Group (Seasonal Fieldworker) pouvrard@staffmail.ed.ac.uk
Ashleigh Whiffin Research Technician awhiffin@staffmail.ed.ac.uk
Nicola Wrobel GenePool (Sequencing Service Technician) Nicola.Wrobel@ed.ac.uk

PhD Students

NameGroup / PositionEmail Address
Richard Allen   s1144448@sms.ed.ac.uk
Philip Birget Reece Group p.l.g.birget@sms.ed.ac.uk
Thomas Black Pemberton Group s0232918@sms.ed.ac.uk
Thomas Booker   T.R.Booker@sms.ed.ac.uk
Kay Boulton Walling Group K.Boulton@sms.ed.ac.uk
Georgina Brennan Collins Group s1163484@sms.ed.ac.uk
Liam Brierley Pedersen Group L.Brierley@sms.ed.ac.uk
Rebecca Callaby EpiGroup Rebecca.Callaby@ed.ac.uk
Lucy Carter Reece Group s0560814@sms.ed.ac.uk
Christina Coakley Cunningham Group christina.coakley@ed.ac.uk
Daniel Cornforth Brown Group s1200286@sms.ed.ac.uk
Claire Donaldson Knott Group claire.donaldson@sruc.ed.ac.uk
Kevin Donnelly Ennos Group K.Donnelly-4@sms.ed.ac.uk
Gytis Dudas Rambaut Group g.dudas@sms.ed.ac.uk
Jenn Elliott Brown Group J.K.Elliott@sms.ed.ac.uk
Julja Ernst Stone Group s0566679@sms.ed.ac.uk
Sylvie Estrela Brown Group S.Estrela@sms.ed.ac.uk
Jessica Flood EpiGroup s1066705@sms.ed.ac.uk
Hannah Froy Nussey Group H.Froy@sms.ed.ac.uk
Mizuho Fukushige EpiGroup M.Fukusige@sms.ed.ac.uk
Cheryl Gibbons EpiGroup C.L.Gibbons@sms.ed.ac.uk
Tom Godfrey Stone Group s1144240@sms.ed.ac.uk
Hanna Granroth-wilding Cunningham Group s0959837@sms.ed.ac.uk
Matthew Hall EpiGroup s1162301@sms.ed.ac.uk
Jack Hearn Blaxter Group s0790076@sms.ed.ac.uk
Jessica Hedge Rambaut Group s0976685@sms.ed.ac.uk
Emma Hodcroft Leigh-Brown Group s0967543@sms.ed.ac.uk
Athanasios Kousathanas Keightley Group s0969445@sms.ed.ac.uk
Josianne Lachapelle Colegrave Group s1213610@sms.ed.ac.uk
Sam Lewis Obbard Group s1066244@sms.ed.ac.uk
Nick Lowery Brown Group s1214906@sms.ed.ac.uk
Lu Lu Leigh-Brown Group s1065459@sms.ed.ac.uk
Sarah Mattey Smiseth Group s1061454@sms.ed.ac.uk
Maarit Mäenpää Smiseth Group s1165059@sms.ed.ac.uk
Emily Moore Pemberton Group s1053799@sms.ed.ac.uk
Reuben Nowell Sharp Group s0451486@sms.ed.ac.uk
Alyson Pavitt Pemberton Group s1141140@sms.ed.ac.uk
Richard Perry Sharp Group s0967724@sms.ed.ac.uk
Kim Prior Reece Group k.f.prior@sms.ed.ac.uk
Manon Ragonnet-cronin Leigh-Brown Group s1136422@sms.ed.ac.uk
Elisa Schaum Collins Group s1050477@sms.ed.ac.uk
Stephanie Smith Pemberton Group s0968159@sms.ed.ac.uk
Christine Tansey Phillimore Group s1164963@sms.ed.ac.uk
Annika Telford Ennos Group s1269358@sms.ed.ac.uk
Graham Thomas Blaxter Group s0898113@sms.ed.ac.uk
Eugenio Valderrama Escallon Stone Group s1130409@sms.ed.ac.uk
Becky Watson Nussey Group Rebecca.Watson@ed.ac.uk
James Westrip Bell Group s0802766@sms.ed.ac.uk
Mojca Zelnikar Leigh-Brown Group s1027648@sms.ed.ac.uk

Accessibility menu