People

List of all academic, research, technical and administrative staff.

For corrections, please contact the Institute Secretary below.

Institute of Stem Cell Research staff list

Head of Institute

NameEmail AddressTelephone
Professor Alexander Medvinsky A.Medvinsky@ed.ac.uk +44 (0) 131 651 9556

Institute Secretary

NameEmail AddressTelephone
Kelly Douglas Kelly.Douglas@ed.ac.uk +44 (0) 131 651 9515

Building Manager

NameEmail AddressTelephone

Administrative Staff

NamePositionEmail AddressTelephone
Dr Jan Barfoot Public Engagement Group J.Barfoot@ed.ac.uk +44 (0) 131 651 9545
Kate Doherty Eurostemcell Communication & Website Development Mgr kdoherty@staffmail.ed.ac.uk
Jayne Glendinning School Research Administrator Jayne.Glendinning@ed.ac.uk +44 (0) 131 650 7274
Katia Hervy EU Project Assistant katia.hervy@ed.ac.uk +44 (0) 131 651 9507
Emma Kemp EU Project Communications Manager emma.kemp@ed.ac.uk +44 (0) 131 651 9509
Catherine Southworth Blackburn group Cathy.Southworth@ed.ac.uk +44 (0) 131 651 9508

Academic Staff and Principal Investigators

NameResearch InterestEmail Address
BLACKBURN, Clare Professor Developmental Immunology C.Blackburn@ed.ac.uk
BLIN, Guillaume Dr Sir Henry Wellcome Postdoctoral Fellow Guillaume.Blin@ed.ac.uk
BRICKMAN, Joshua Dr Embryonic Patterning Josh.Brickman@ed.ac.uk
CHAMBERS, Ian Professor Embryonic Stem Cell Biology I.Chambers@ed.ac.uk
KAJI, Keisuke Dr Biology of Reprogramming Keisuke.Kaji@ed.ac.uk
KUNATH, Tilo Dr Early Embryonic Lineages Tilo.Kunath@ed.ac.uk
LOWELL, Sally Dr Cell Differentiation sally.lowell@ed.ac.uk
MEDVINSKY, Alexander Professor Ontogeny of Haematopoietic Stem Cells A.Medvinsky@ed.ac.uk
SMITH, Andrew Dr Genome Engineering Andrew.Smith@ed.ac.uk
TOMLINSON, Simon Dr Stem Cell Bioinformatics simon.tomlinson@ed.ac.uk
WILSON, Val Dr Early Embryo Development V.Wilson@ed.ac.uk

Honorary and Visiting Staff

NamePositionEmail Address

Research Staff

NameGroup / PositionEmail Address
Valeria Berno Imaging Facility Manager Valeria.Berno@ed.ac.uk
Anahi Binagui-Casas Marie-Curie Early Stage Researcher abinagui@staffmail.ed.ac.uk
William Bowring Tomlinson Group (Senior Bioinformatics Software Developer) Will.Bowring@ed.ac.uk
Maurice Canham Kunath Group (Postdoctoral Research Associate) M.Canham@ed.ac.uk
Fatima Cavaleri Kunath Group (Postdoctoral Research Associate) fcavaler@staffmail.ed.ac.uk
Nicola Drummond Kunath Group Nicola.Drummond@ed.ac.uk
Niamh Fanning Medvinsky Group (MC Early Stage Researcher) nfanning@staffmail.ed.ac.uk
Nicola Festuccia Chambers Group (Research Assistant) nicola.festuccia@ed.ac.uk
Vincent Frontera Postdoctoral Research Associate vfronter@staffmail.ed.ac.uk
Javier Gonzalez Lendinez Early Stage Researcher
Sabrina Gordon-Keylock Medvinsky Group (Postdoctoral Research Associate) s.gordon-keylock@ed.ac.uk
Florian Halbritter Postdoctoral Research Associate florian.halbritter@ed.ac.uk
Fella Hammachi Brickman Group (Postdoctoral Research Associate) Fella.Hammachi@ed.ac.uk
David Hills Medvinsky Group (Postdoctoral Research Associate) David.Hills@ed.ac.uk
Yali Huang Research Assistant yhuang23@staffmail.ed.ac.uk
Andrejs Ivanovs Postdoctoral Research Associate Andrejs.Ivanovs@ed.ac.uk
Violetta Karwacki-Neisius Chambers Group (Postdoctoral Research Associate) vkneisiu@staffmail.ed.ac.uk
Adam Laing Brickman Group (Postdoctoral Research Associate) Adam.Laing@ed.ac.uk
Anna Liakhovitskaia Medvinsky Group (Postdoctoral Research Associate) aliakhov@staffmail.ed.ac.uk
Joe Mee Transgenic Service manager P.J.Mee@ed.ac.uk
Tapan Mistri Research Fellow tapan.mistri@ed.ac.uk
Nicholas Mullin Chambers Group (Postdoctoral Research Associate) Nick.Mullin@ed.ac.uk
Kathy O'Neill Blackburn Group (Postdoctoral Research Associate) koneill@staffmail.ed.ac.uk
Stanislav Rybtsov Medvinsky Group (Postdoctoral Research Associate) srybtsov@staffmail.ed.ac.uk
Natalia Rybtsova Medvinsky Group (research Assistant) Natalia.Rybtsova@ed.ac.uk
Jordi Senserrich Velasco Fellowship Jordi.Senserrich@ed.ac.uk
Karamjit Singh-Dolt Research Associate Karamjit.Singh-Dolt@igmm.ed.ac.uk
Celine Souilhol Medvinsky Group (Postdoctoral Research Associate) celine.souihol@ed.ac.uk
Anestis Tsakiridis V. Wilson Group (Postdoctoral Research Associate) A.Tsakiridis@ed.ac.uk
Sviatlana Ulyanchanka Blackburn Group (Postdoctoral Research Associate) sulyanch@exseed.ed.ac.uk
Marielle Van Deemter Postdoctoral Research Associate v1mvande@staffmail.ed.ac.uk
Amy Van Deusen Research Assistant Amy.VanDeusen@ed.ac.uk
Filip Wymeersch Postdoctoral Research Fellow Filip.Wymeersch@ed.ac.uk
Xinzhi Zhou Lowell Group Xinzhi.Zhou@ed.ac.uk

Technical Staff

NameGroup / PositionEmail Address
Douglas Colby Chambers Group (Cell Culture Technician) Dougie.Colby@ed.ac.uk
Helen Henderson Tissue Culture Technician Helen.Henderson@ed.ac.uk
Carylyn Marek-Johnston V. Wilson Group carylyn.marekj@ed.ac.uk
Mark Marsden CRM Centre Technical Manager Mark.Marsden@ed.ac.uk
Diana Peddie Blackburn Group (Research Technician) Diana.Peddie@ed.ac.uk
Rosa Portero Migueles Brickman Group mmiguele@staffmail.ed.ac.uk
Jonathan Rans Tissue Culture Manager J.Rans@ed.ac.uk
Lynsey Robertson Transgenic Service Technician lrobert2@staffmail.ed.ac.uk
Fiona Rossi Head of Flow Cytometry fiona.rossi@ed.ac.uk
Frances Stenhouse Blackburn Group (Research Technician) Frances.Stenhouse@ed.ac.uk
Marilyn Thomson Tissue Culture Technician marilyn.thomson@ed.ac.uk
Ronald Wilkie V. Wilson Group (Research Technician) Ron.Wilkie@ed.ac.uk
Suling Zhao Medvinsky Group (Laboratory Manager) Su.Ling.Zhao@ed.ac.uk

PhD Students

NameGroup / PositionEmail Address
Kathryn Anderson Brickman Group s0973457@sms.ed.ac.uk
Antoniana Batsivari Medvinsky Group s1032129@sms.ed.ac.uk
Kateryna Bilotkach Medvinsky Group s1165047@sms.ed.ac.uk
Sara Brightwell Kaji Group s0451592@sms.ed.ac.uk
Hina Dalal Tomlinson Group s0967458@sms.ed.ac.uk
Nicola Drummond Kunath Group s0233221@sms.ed.ac.uk
Jenny Easterbrook Medvinsky Group s0092601@sms.ed.ac.uk
Niamh Fanning Medvinsky Group s0977197@sms.ed.ac.uk
Alessia Gagliardi Chambers Group s0926274@sms.ed.ac.uk
Duncan Godwin Tomlinson Group s1143922@sms.ed.ac.uk
Javier Gonzalez Lendinez Medvinsky Group s1125538@sms.ed.ac.uk
Yali Huang V. Wilson Group s0958518@sms.ed.ac.uk
Eleni Karagianni V. Wilson Group s1143994@sms.ed.ac.uk
Suresh Kaushik Smith Group s1048859@sms.ed.ac.uk
Chia-Yi Lin Lowell Group s1038619@sms.ed.ac.uk
Mattias Malaguti Lowell Group s0566908@sms.ed.ac.uk
Alison McGarvey Tomlinson Group s1239001@sms.ed.ac.uk
Aidan McGlinchey Tomlinson Group s0880195@sms.ed.ac.uk
Emily McHale Kunath Group s1239332@sms.ed.ac.uk
Sophie Morgani Brickman Group s0913062@sms.ed.ac.uk
James O'Malley Kaji Group s0898117@sms.ed.ac.uk
Daria Paruzina Medvinsky Group s1016420@sms.ed.ac.uk
Amy Pegg Lowell Group s1164135@sms.ed.ac.uk
Irene Perez Pi Kunath Group s1270721@sms.ed.ac.uk
Tyson Ruetz Kaji Group s1113133@sms.ed.ac.uk
Woranop Sukparangsi Brickman Group s0970243@sms.ed.ac.uk
Luca Tosti Kaji Group s1237008@sms.ed.ac.uk
Sviatlana Ulyanchanka Blackburn Group s0971165@sms.ed.ac.uk
Harsh Vaidya Blackburn Group s0976049@sms.ed.ac.uk
Frederick Wong V. Wilson Group s0946694@sms.ed.ac.uk
Ratsuda Yapom Kunath Group s0972526@sms.ed.ac.uk
Jingchao Zhang Chambers Group s1157586@sms.ed.ac.uk
Yiding Zhao Medvinsky Group s0928590@sms.ed.ac.uk

Accessibility menu