People

Staff list

List of all academic, research, technical and administrative staff.

For corrections, please contact the Institute Secretary below.

Institute of Stem Cell Research staff list

Head of Institute

NameEmail AddressTelephone
Professor Alexander Medvinsky A.Medvinsky@ed.ac.uk +44 (0) 131 651 9556

Institute Secretary

NameEmail AddressTelephone
Kelly Douglas Kelly.Douglas@ed.ac.uk +44 (0) 131 651 9515

Building Manager

NameEmail AddressTelephone

Administrative Staff

NamePositionEmail AddressTelephone
Dr Jan Barfoot Public Engagement Group J.Barfoot@ed.ac.uk +44 (0) 131 651 9545
Kate Doherty Eurostemcell Communication & Website Development Mgr kdoherty@staffmail.ed.ac.uk
Jayne Glendinning School Research Administrator Jayne.Glendinning@ed.ac.uk +44 (0) 131 650 7274
Katia Hervy EU Project Assistant katia.hervy@ed.ac.uk +44 (0) 131 651 9507
Emma Kemp EU Project Communications Manager emma.kemp@ed.ac.uk +44 (0) 131 651 9509
Catherine Southworth Communications, Public Engagement & Outreach Manager Cathy.Southworth@ed.ac.uk +44 (0) 131 651 9508

Academic Staff and Principal Investigators

NameResearch InterestEmail Address
BLACKBURN, Clare Professor Developmental Immunology C.Blackburn@ed.ac.uk
BLIN, Guillaume Dr Sir Henry Wellcome Postdoctoral Fellow Guillaume.Blin@ed.ac.uk
BRICKMAN, Joshua Dr Embryonic Patterning Josh.Brickman@ed.ac.uk
CHAMBERS, Ian Professor Embryonic Stem Cell Biology I.Chambers@ed.ac.uk
KAJI, Keisuke Dr Biology of Reprogramming Keisuke.Kaji@ed.ac.uk
KUNATH, Tilo Dr Early Embryonic Lineages Tilo.Kunath@ed.ac.uk
LOWELL, Sally Dr Cell Differentiation sally.lowell@ed.ac.uk
MEDVINSKY, Alexander Professor Ontogeny of Haematopoietic Stem Cells A.Medvinsky@ed.ac.uk
SMITH, Andrew Dr Genome Engineering Andrew.Smith@ed.ac.uk
TOMLINSON, Simon Dr Stem Cell Bioinformatics simon.tomlinson@ed.ac.uk
WILSON, Val Dr Early Embryo Development V.Wilson@ed.ac.uk

Honorary and Visiting Staff

NamePositionEmail Address

Research Staff

NameGroup / PositionEmail Address
Valeria Berno Imaging Facility ManagerValeria.Berno@ed.ac.uk
Anahi Binagui-Casas Marie-Curie Early Stage Researcherabinagui@staffmail.ed.ac.uk
Maurice Canham Kunath Group (Postdoctoral Research Associate)M.Canham@ed.ac.uk
Fatima Cavaleri Kunath Group (Postdoctoral Research Associate)fcavaler@staffmail.ed.ac.uk
Nicola Drummond Kunath GroupNicola.Drummond@ed.ac.uk
Niamh Fanning Medvinsky Group (MC Early Stage Researcher)nfanning@staffmail.ed.ac.uk
Nicola Festuccia Chambers Group (Research Assistant)nicola.festuccia@ed.ac.uk
Vincent Frontera Postdoctoral Research Associatevfronter@staffmail.ed.ac.uk
Javier Gonzalez Lendinez Early Stage Researcher
Sabrina Gordon-Keylock Medvinsky Group (Postdoctoral Research Associate)s.gordon-keylock@ed.ac.uk
Fella Hammachi Brickman Group (Postdoctoral Research Associate)Fella.Hammachi@ed.ac.uk
David Hills Medvinsky Group (Postdoctoral Research Associate)David.Hills@ed.ac.uk
Andrejs Ivanovs Postdoctoral Research AssociateAndrejs.Ivanovs@ed.ac.uk
Violetta Karwacki-Neisius Chambers Group (Postdoctoral Research Associate)vkneisiu@staffmail.ed.ac.uk
Joe Mee Transgenic Service managerP.J.Mee@ed.ac.uk
Tapan Mistri Research Fellowtapan.mistri@ed.ac.uk
Nicholas Mullin Chambers Group (Postdoctoral Research Associate)Nick.Mullin@ed.ac.uk
Kathy O'Neill Blackburn Group (Postdoctoral Research Associate)koneill@staffmail.ed.ac.uk
Stanislav Rybtsov Medvinsky Group (Postdoctoral Research Associate)srybtsov@staffmail.ed.ac.uk
Natalia Rybtsova Medvinsky Group (research Assistant)Natalia.Rybtsova@ed.ac.uk
Jordi Senserrich Velasco FellowshipJordi.Senserrich@ed.ac.uk
Karamjit Singh-Dolt Research AssociateKaramjit.Singh-Dolt@igmm.ed.ac.uk
Celine Souilhol Medvinsky Group (Postdoctoral Research Associate)celine.souihol@ed.ac.uk
Anestis Tsakiridis V. Wilson Group (Postdoctoral Research Associate)A.Tsakiridis@ed.ac.uk
Sviatlana Ulyanchanka Blackburn Group (Postdoctoral Research Associate)sulyanch@exseed.ed.ac.uk
Marielle Van Deemter Postdoctoral Research Associatev1mvande@staffmail.ed.ac.uk
Filip Wymeersch Postdoctoral Research FellowFilip.Wymeersch@ed.ac.uk
Xinzhi Zhou Lowell GroupXinzhi.Zhou@ed.ac.uk

Technical Staff

NameGroup / PositionEmail Address
Douglas Colby Chambers Group (Cell Culture Technician) Dougie.Colby@ed.ac.uk
Helen Henderson Tissue Culture Technician Helen.Henderson@ed.ac.uk
Eilidh Livingstone Blackburn Group (Research Technician) eilidh.livingstone@ed.ac.uk
Carylyn Marek-Johnston V. Wilson Group carylyn.marekj@ed.ac.uk
Mark Marsden CRM Centre Technical Manager Mark.Marsden@ed.ac.uk
Diana Peddie Blackburn Group (Research Technician) Diana.Peddie@ed.ac.uk
Rosa Portero Migueles Brickman Group mmiguele@staffmail.ed.ac.uk
Jonathan Rans Tissue Culture Manager J.Rans@ed.ac.uk
Lynsey Robertson Transgenic Service Technician lrobert2@staffmail.ed.ac.uk
Fiona Rossi Head of Flow Cytometry fiona.rossi@ed.ac.uk
Frances Stenhouse Blackburn Group (Research Technician) Frances.Stenhouse@ed.ac.uk
Marilyn Thomson Tissue Culture Technician marilyn.thomson@ed.ac.uk
Bertrand Vernay Centre Imaging Facility Manager bertrand.vernay@ed.ac.uk
Ronald Wilkie V. Wilson Group (Research Technician) Ron.Wilkie@ed.ac.uk
Suling Zhao Medvinsky Group (Laboratory Manager) Su.Ling.Zhao@ed.ac.uk

PhD Students

NameGroup / PositionEmail Address
Kathryn Anderson Brickman Group (PhD Student) s0973457@sms.ed.ac.uk
Antoniana Batsivari Medvinsky Group (PhD Student: Clinical Sciences) s1032129@sms.ed.ac.uk
Kateryna Bilotkach Medvinsky Group (PhD Student) s1165047@sms.ed.ac.uk
Sara Brightwell Kaji Group (PhD Student) s0451592@sms.ed.ac.uk
Hina Dalal Tomlinson Group (PhD Student) s0967458@sms.ed.ac.uk
Nicola Drummond Kunath Group (PhD Student) s0233221@sms.ed.ac.uk
Jenny Easterbrook Medvinsky Group (PhD Student) s0092601@sms.ed.ac.uk
Niamh Fanning Medvinsky Group (PhD Student) s0977197@sms.ed.ac.uk
Alessia Gagliardi Chambers Group (PhD Student) s0926274@sms.ed.ac.uk
Duncan Godwin Tomlinson Group (PhD Student) s1143922@sms.ed.ac.uk
Javier Gonzalez Lendinez Medvinsky Group (PhD Student: Clinical Sciences) s1125538@sms.ed.ac.uk
Yali Huang V. Wilson Group (PhD Student) s0958518@sms.ed.ac.uk
Eleni Karagianni V. Wilson Group (PhD Student) s1143994@sms.ed.ac.uk
Suresh Kaushik Smith Group (PhD Student) s1048859@sms.ed.ac.uk
Chia-Yi Lin Lowell Group (PhD Student) s1038619@sms.ed.ac.uk
Mattias Malaguti Lowell Group (PhD Student) s0566908@sms.ed.ac.uk
Alison McGarvey Tomlinson Group (PhD Student) s1239001@sms.ed.ac.uk
Aidan McGlinchey Tomlinson Group (PhD Student) s0880195@sms.ed.ac.uk
Emily McHale Kunath Group (PhD Student) s1239332@sms.ed.ac.uk
Sophie Morgani Brickman Group (PhD Student) s0913062@sms.ed.ac.uk
James O'Malley Kaji Group (PhD Student) s0898117@sms.ed.ac.uk
Daria Paruzina Medvinsky Group (PhD Student) s1016420@sms.ed.ac.uk
Amy Pegg Lowell Group (PhD Student) s1164135@sms.ed.ac.uk
Irene Perez Pi Kunath Group (PhD Student) s1270721@sms.ed.ac.uk
Tyson Ruetz Kaji Group (PhD Student) s1113133@sms.ed.ac.uk
Woranop Sukparangsi Brickman Group (PhD Student) s0970243@sms.ed.ac.uk
Luca Tosti Kaji Group (PhD Student: Clinical Sciences) s1237008@sms.ed.ac.uk
Sviatlana Ulyanchanka Blackburn Group (PhD Student) s0971165@sms.ed.ac.uk
Harsh Vaidya Blackburn Group (PhD Student) s0976049@sms.ed.ac.uk
Frederick Wong V. Wilson Group (PhD Student) s0946694@sms.ed.ac.uk
Ratsuda Yapom Kunath Group (PhD Student: Clinical Sciences) s0972526@sms.ed.ac.uk
Jingchao Zhang Chambers Group (PhD Student) s1157586@sms.ed.ac.uk
Yiding Zhao Medvinsky Group (PhD Student) s0928590@sms.ed.ac.uk

Accessibility menu