List of all academic, research, technical and administrative staff.

For corrections, please contact the Institute Secretary below.

Institute of Stem Cell Research staff list

Head of Institute

NameEmail AddressTelephone
Professor Alexander Medvinsky +44 (0) 131 651 9556

Institute Secretary

NameEmail AddressTelephone
Kelly Douglas +44 (0) 131 651 9515

Building Manager

NameEmail AddressTelephone

Administrative Staff

NamePositionEmail AddressTelephone
Dr Jan Barfoot Public Engagement Group +44 (0) 131 651 9545
Kate Doherty Eurostemcell Communication & Website Development Mgr
Jayne Glendinning School Research Administrator +44 (0) 131 650 7274
Katia Hervy EU Project Assistant +44 (0) 131 651 9507
Emma Kemp EU Project Communications Manager +44 (0) 131 651 9509
Catherine Southworth Communications, Public Engagement & Outreach Manager +44 (0) 131 651 9508

Academic Staff and Principal Investigators

NameResearch InterestEmail Address
BLACKBURN, Clare Professor Developmental Immunology
BLIN, Guillaume Dr Sir Henry Wellcome Postdoctoral Fellow
BRICKMAN, Joshua Dr Embryonic Patterning
CHAMBERS, Ian Professor Embryonic Stem Cell Biology
KAJI, Keisuke Dr Biology of Reprogramming
KUNATH, Tilo Dr Early Embryonic Lineages
LOWELL, Sally Dr Cell Differentiation
MEDVINSKY, Alexander Professor Ontogeny of Haematopoietic Stem Cells
SMITH, Andrew Dr Genome Engineering
TOMLINSON, Simon Dr Stem Cell Bioinformatics
WILSON, Val Dr Early Embryo Development

Honorary and Visiting Staff

NamePositionEmail Address

Research Staff

NameGroup / PositionEmail Address
Valeria Berno Imaging Facility Manager
Anahi Binagui-Casas Marie-Curie Early Stage Researcher
Maurice Canham Kunath Group (Postdoctoral Research Associate)
Fatima Cavaleri Kunath Group (Postdoctoral Research Associate)
Nicola Drummond Kunath Group
Niamh Fanning Medvinsky Group (MC Early Stage Researcher)
Nicola Festuccia Chambers Group (Research Assistant)
Vincent Frontera Postdoctoral Research Associate
Javier Gonzalez Lendinez Early Stage Researcher
Sabrina Gordon-Keylock Medvinsky Group (Postdoctoral Research Associate)
Florian Halbritter Postdoctoral Research Associate
Fella Hammachi Brickman Group (Postdoctoral Research Associate)
David Hills Medvinsky Group (Postdoctoral Research Associate)
Andrejs Ivanovs Postdoctoral Research Associate
Violetta Karwacki-Neisius Chambers Group (Postdoctoral Research Associate)
Joe Mee Transgenic Service manager
Tapan Mistri Research Fellow
Nicholas Mullin Chambers Group (Postdoctoral Research Associate)
Kathy O'Neill Blackburn Group (Postdoctoral Research Associate)
Stanislav Rybtsov Medvinsky Group (Postdoctoral Research Associate)
Natalia Rybtsova Medvinsky Group (research Assistant)
Jordi Senserrich Velasco Fellowship
Karamjit Singh-Dolt Research Associate
Celine Souilhol Medvinsky Group (Postdoctoral Research Associate)
Anestis Tsakiridis V. Wilson Group (Postdoctoral Research Associate)
Sviatlana Ulyanchanka Blackburn Group (Postdoctoral Research Associate)
Marielle Van Deemter Postdoctoral Research Associate
Amy Van Deusen Research Assistant
Filip Wymeersch Postdoctoral Research Fellow
Xinzhi Zhou Lowell Group

Technical Staff

NameGroup / PositionEmail Address
Douglas Colby Chambers Group (Cell Culture Technician)
Helen Henderson Tissue Culture Technician
Eilidh Livingstone Blackburn Group (Research Technician)
Carylyn Marek-Johnston V. Wilson Group
Mark Marsden CRM Centre Technical Manager
Diana Peddie Blackburn Group (Research Technician)
Rosa Portero Migueles Brickman Group
Jonathan Rans Tissue Culture Manager
Lynsey Robertson Transgenic Service Technician
Fiona Rossi Head of Flow Cytometry
Frances Stenhouse Blackburn Group (Research Technician)
Marilyn Thomson Tissue Culture Technician
Bertrand Vernay Centre Imaging Facility Manager
Ronald Wilkie V. Wilson Group (Research Technician)
Suling Zhao Medvinsky Group (Laboratory Manager)

PhD Students

NameGroup / PositionEmail Address
Kathryn Anderson Brickman Group
Antoniana Batsivari Medvinsky Group
Kateryna Bilotkach Medvinsky Group
Sara Brightwell Kaji Group
Hina Dalal Tomlinson Group
Nicola Drummond Kunath Group
Jenny Easterbrook Medvinsky Group
Niamh Fanning Medvinsky Group
Alessia Gagliardi Chambers Group
Duncan Godwin Tomlinson Group
Javier Gonzalez Lendinez Medvinsky Group
Yali Huang V. Wilson Group
Eleni Karagianni V. Wilson Group
Suresh Kaushik Smith Group
Chia-Yi Lin Lowell Group
Mattias Malaguti Lowell Group
Alison McGarvey Tomlinson Group
Aidan McGlinchey Tomlinson Group
Emily McHale Kunath Group
Sophie Morgani Brickman Group
James O'Malley Kaji Group
Daria Paruzina Medvinsky Group
Amy Pegg Lowell Group
Irene Perez Pi Kunath Group
Tyson Ruetz Kaji Group
Woranop Sukparangsi Brickman Group
Luca Tosti Kaji Group
Sviatlana Ulyanchanka Blackburn Group
Harsh Vaidya Blackburn Group
Frederick Wong V. Wilson Group
Ratsuda Yapom Kunath Group
Jingchao Zhang Chambers Group
Yiding Zhao Medvinsky Group

Accessibility menu