Staff profiles

Staff list

List of all academic, research, technical and administrative staff.

For corrections, please contact the Institute Secretary below.

Institute of Immunology and Infection Research staff list

Head of Institute

Name Email Address Telephone
Professor Keith Matthews iiirhead@ed.ac.uk +44 (0) 131 651 3639

Institute Secretary

Name Email Address Telephone
Patricia Dougall Pat.Dougall@ed.ac.uk +44 (0) 131 650 5464

Building Manager

Name Email Address Telephone
Dr David Brown David.Brown@ed.ac.uk +44 (0) 131 650 5453

Administrative Staff

Name Position Email Address Telephone
Carole Ferrier Postgraduate Secretary Carole.Ferrier@ed.ac.uk +44 (0) 131 650 5455
Jayne Glendinning School Research Administrator Jayne.Glendinning@ed.ac.uk +44 (0) 131 650 7274
Jennifer Hurst Administrative Assistant jennifer.hurst@ed.ac.uk +44(0)131-650-3688
Kasia Kokowska CIIE Centre Manager Kasia.Kokowska@ed.ac.uk +44 (0) 131 650 3683
Hilary Snaith Executive Manager, Edinburgh Infectious Diseases Hilary.Snaith@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 3688

Academic Staff and Principal Investigators

Name Research Interest Email Address
ALLEN, Judith Professor Immune modulation & effector mechanisms induced by helminths J.Allen@ed.ac.uk
BUCK, Amy Dr Micro-RNA function in the host-pathogen context a.buck@ed.ac.uk
CAVANAGH, David Dr Human immune response to antigens from the erythrocytic stage of Plasmodium falciparum, with the aim of developing effective vaccines targeting these parasite proteins David.Cavanagh@ed.ac.uk
FEVRE, Eric Dr Epidemiology of zoonotic and emerging diseases Eric.Fevre@ed.ac.uk
GRAY, David Professor Immunological memory and T-B cell interactions D.Gray@ed.ac.uk
IVENS, Alasdair Dr Bioinformatics for genome analysis Al.Ivens@ed.ac.uk
MAIZELS, Rick Professor Immune modulating molecules of helminths Rick.Maizels@ed.ac.uk
MATTHEWS, Keith Professor Cell biology of African trypanosomes keith.matthews@ed.ac.uk
MUTAPI, Francisca Dr Immunoepidemiology of human schistosomiasis F.Mutapi@ed.ac.uk
POTOCNIK, Alexandre Chancellor's Fellow Alexandre.Potocnik@ed.ac.uk
ROWE, Alex Professor Cell biology of malaria infection and disease Alex.Rowe@ed.ac.uk
SAVILL, Nicholas Dr Epidemiology and evolution of infectious diseases nick.savill@ed.ac.uk
SCHNAUFER, Achim Dr Mitochondrial biology of trypanosomatid parasites Achim.Schnaufer@ed.ac.uk
SIMMONDS, Peter Professor Professor of Virology Peter.Simmonds@ed.ac.uk
SPENCE, Philip Dr Plasmodium virulence and immunity to malaria Philip.Spence@ed.ac.uk
SZOOR, Balazs Dr Phosphatases in parasite biology Balazs.Szoor@ed.ac.uk
TAYLOR, Matthew Dr Priming and maintenance of regulatory and effector T cell responses during chronic helminth infections Matthew.Taylor@ed.ac.uk
THOMPSON, Joanne Dr Molecular biology of malaria parasites Joanne.Thompson@ed.ac.uk
VAZQUEZ-BOLAND, Jose Professor Mechanisms of intracellular parasitism, bacterial pathogenesis jvbgroup@ed.ac.uk
ZAISS, Dietmar Dr Function of the EGF-R signalling pathway in the immune system Dietmar.Zaiss@ed.ac.uk
ZAMOYSKA, Rose Professor Regulation of T cell differentiation, activation and homeostasis Rose.Zamoyska@ed.ac.uk

Honorary and Visiting Staff

Name Position Email Address
Dr Hamza Babiker Honorary Fellow H.Babiker@ed.ac.uk
Professor Richard Carter Senior Honorary Professorial Fellow R.Carter@ed.ac.uk
Dr David Dresser Honorary Fellow david.dresser@btinternet.com

Research Staff

Name Group / Position Email Address
Yvonne Adams Rowe Group (Visitor) Yvonne.Adams@ed.ac.uk
Simon Babayan CIIE (CIIE Junior Fellowship) S.Babayan@ed.ac.uk
Tom Barr Gray Group Tom.Barr@ed.ac.uk
Natalie Blair Postgraduate Research Assistant Natalie.Blair@ed.ac.uk
Jess Borger Research Fellow jborger1@staffmail.ed.ac.uk
Sheila Brown Gray Group Sheila.Brown@ed.ac.uk
Rebecca Brownlie Zamoyska Group Rebecca.Brownlie@ed.ac.uk
Stefano Caserta Zamoyska Group stefano.caserta@ed.ac.uk
Dr Alessandro Ceroni Post Doc aceroni@staffmail.ed.ac.uk
Margo Chase-Topping EpiGroup margo.chase@ed.ac.uk
Kashyap Chhatbar Bioinformatician kashyap.c@ed.ac.uk
Peter Cook MacDonald Group peter.cook@ed.ac.uk
Graeme Cowan Cavanagh Group Graeme.Cowan@ed.ac.uk
Karen Fairlie-Clarke Graham Group Karen.Fairlie-Clarke@ed.ac.uk
Celine Garcia Zamoyska Group (Research Assistant) cgarcia@exseed.ed.ac.uk
Ashfaq Ghumra Rowe Group aghumra@staffmail.ed.ac.uk
Matthew Gould Schnaufer Lab (Postdoctoral Research Associate) Matt.Gould@ed.ac.uk
Katie Hamilton Fevre Group katie.hamilton@ed.ac.uk
James Hewitson Maizels Group james.hewitson@ed.ac.uk
Steve Jenkins Allen Group stephen.jenkins@ed.ac.uk
Lucy Jones Allen Group (Postdoctoral research fellow) lucy.jones@ed.ac.uk
Johanna Knipper Postdoctoral Research Associate johanna.knipper@ed.ac.uk
Sarah Knowles sarah.knowles@ed.ac.uk
Gabbi Lindergard Thomson Group g.lindergard@ed.ac.uk
Binny Manonmony Matthews Group (Postdoctoral Research Associate) Binny.Mony@ed.ac.uk
Luke McNally Research Fellow Luke.McNally@ed.ac.uk
Seanna McTaggart Obbard Group (CIIE Junior Fellowship) smctagga@staffmail.ed.ac.uk
Janice Murray Maizels Group J.Murray@ed.ac.uk
Norman Nausch Mutapi Group nnausch@staffmail.ed.ac.uk
Dr Sema Nickbakhsh EpiGroup (Research Fellow) Sema.Nickbakhsh@ed.ac.uk
Alex Phythian-Adams MacDonald Group (Research Fellow) Alex.Phythian-Adams@ed.ac.uk
Dr Eva Rico Vidal Postdoctoral Research Associate Eva.Rico@ed.ac.uk
Dr Federico Rojas Matthews Group Federico.Rojas@ed.ac.uk
Dominik Ruckerl Allen Group dominik.ruckerl@ed.ac.uk
Stephanie Ryan Maizels Group (Research Assistant) S.Ryan@ed.ac.uk
Robert Salmond Senior Research Fellow robert.salmond@ed.ac.uk
Jayanthi Santhanam jsanthan@staffmail.ed.ac.uk
Dr Fabio Simbari fsimbari@staffmail.ed.ac.uk
Katie Smith Maizels Group K.Smith@ed.ac.uk
Dr Danielle Smyth Postdoctoral Research Associate Danielle.Smyth@ed.ac.uk
Tara Sutherland Allen Group Tara.Sutherland@ed.ac.uk
Dr Thomas Tan Post Doc Thomas.Tan@ed.ac.uk
Pegine Walrad Matthews Group Pegine.Walrad@ed.ac.uk
Dr Martin Waterfall Flow Cytometry Manager Martin.Waterfall@ed.ac.uk
Kim Wilson Research Assistant Kim.Wilson@ed.ac.uk

Technical Staff

Name Group / Position Email Address
Sheelagh Duncan Allen Group sheelagh.duncan@ed.ac.uk
Alison Fulton Taylor Group a.fulton@ed.ac.uk
Katrina Gordon Buck Group (Research Technician) K.Gordon@ed.ac.uk
Laurence Hall Schnaufer Lab laurence.hall@ed.ac.uk
Yvonne Harcus Maizels Group Yvonne.Harcus@ed.ac.uk
Marissa Lear Research Technician mlear@staffmail.ed.ac.uk
Niolette McGill Research Technician nmcgill1@staffmail.ed.ac.uk
Dianne Murray Matthews Group dianne.murray@ed.ac.uk
Juan Quintana Alcala Research Technician Juan.Quintana@ed.ac.uk
Rinku Rajan MacDonald Group rinku.rajan@ed.ac.uk
Ahmed Raza Rowe Group Ahmed.Raza@ed.ac.uk
Donald Smith Research Technician D.B.Smith@ed.ac.uk
Claire Sweenie Rowe Group Claire.Sweenie@ed.ac.uk
Julie Wilson Research Technician Julie.Wilson@ed.ac.uk
David Wright david.wright@ed.ac.uk
Xiaoyan Zou Research Technician xzou@staffmail.ed.ac.uk

PhD Students

Name Group / Position Email Address
Jennifer Agyekum Thomson Group (PhD Student) s1126423@sms.ed.ac.uk
Gloria Amegatcher PhD Student g.amegatcher@ed.ac.uk
Laura Appleby Mutapi Group (PhD Student) s0198187@sms.ed.ac.uk
Yvonne Azasi Rowe Group (PhD Student) s1164877@sms.ed.ac.uk
Cara Bray PhD Student C.Bray-2@sms.ed.ac.uk
Melanie Buehlmann Matthews Group (PhD Student) s0792534@sms.ed.ac.uk
Gillian Coakley Buck Group (PhD Student) s1260472@sms.ed.ac.uk
Annie Cook Fevre Group (PhD Student) s0978529@sms.ed.ac.uk
Sinclair Cooper Savill Group (PhD Student) s1269293@sms.ed.ac.uk
Will De Glanville Fevre Group (PhD Student) s1059829@sms.ed.ac.uk
Caroline Dewar Schnaufer Lab (PhD Student) s1133025@sms.ed.ac.uk
Kelwalin Dhanasarnsombut Cavanagh Group (PhD Student) s0675947@sms.ed.ac.uk
Lian Doble Fevre Group (PhD Student) s0793917@sms.ed.ac.uk
Kara Filbey Maizels Group (PhD Student) s0232209@sms.ed.ac.uk
Anna Hoy Buck Group (PhD Student: Biomedical Sciences) s0978517@sms.ed.ac.uk
Denys Janes Savill Group (PhD Student) s0792549@sms.ed.ac.uk
Laura Jeacock Schnaufer Lab (PhD Student) s0127090@sms.ed.ac.uk
Chris Johnston Maizels Group (PhD Student) s1271810@sms.ed.ac.uk
Andrea Kemter Maizels Group (PhD Student) s1239032@sms.ed.ac.uk
Nouf Laqtom Buck Group (PhD Student: Biomedical Sciences) s0898296@sms.ed.ac.uk
Divya Malik Allen Group (PhD Student) s0813025@sms.ed.ac.uk
Angela Marley Maizels Group (PhD Student) s1135106@sms.ed.ac.uk
Lindsay Mcdonald Matthews Group (PhD Student) s1228771@sms.ed.ac.uk
Rachel Milne Matthews Group (PhD Student) s1129931@sms.ed.ac.uk
Janice Murray Maizels Group (PhD Student) s0566649@sms.ed.ac.uk
Laure Petit Fevre Group (PhD Student) s1268931@sms.ed.ac.uk
Pairoa Praihirunkit Thomson Group (PhD Student) s1157741@sms.ed.ac.uk
Diwakar Santhakumar Buck Group (PhD Student: Biomedical Sciences) s0678362@sms.ed.ac.uk
Eleanor Silvester Matthews Group (PhD Student) s1164644@sms.ed.ac.uk
Shatakshi Sood Zamoyska Group (PhD Student) s1055449@sms.ed.ac.uk
Kaija Stockner Zamoyska Group (PhD Student) s0791676@sms.ed.ac.uk
Olivia Swann Rowe Group (PhD Student) s0198216@sms.ed.ac.uk
Marta Trub Gray Group (PhD Student) s0838975@sms.ed.ac.uk
Welcome Wami Mutapi Group (PhD Student) s1065586@sms.ed.ac.uk
Lauren Webb MacDonald Group (PhD Student) s0569597@sms.ed.ac.uk

Accessibility menu