Smarten up your card

Staff members will be able to exchange their University card for a new smartcard at a series of roadshows run by Information Services.

University smartcard

The roadshows will be running at various University locations from January to March.

Staff, students and visitors who still need to exchange their existing card can drop in at their convenience.

Roadshow schedule

Roadshows will be held at the following dates and locations:

  • Tuesday 17 January - Friday 20 January, Main Library foyer, George Square
  • Monday 23 January - Friday 27 January, Main Library foyer, George Square
  • Monday 30 January ¬- Friday 3 February, Darwin/Swann foyer (outside Darwin Library), King’s Buildings
  • Monday 13 February - Friday 17 February, Main Library foyer, George Square
  • Monday 20 February - Thursday 23 February, Main Library foyer, George Square
  • Monday 27 February ¬- Friday 2 March, Darwin/Swann foyer (outside Darwin Library), King’s Buildings
  • March (dates to be announced) - Little France and the Western General Hospital

The roadshows will typically run from 9.30am to 4.30pm.

Staff should remember to bring their existing card.

Smartcard benefits

More than half of the University’s staff, students and visitors have now replaced their card with the new smartcard.

The smartcard contains a microchip, which can be used for cashless catering and contactless door entry, where facilities exist, and speed lane access to the Main Library.

Existing access to services including library facilities, gym membership and building access permissions will automatically carry across to your new card.

Related links

Accessibility menu