Literatures, Languages & Cultures

School roles and posts

Key business is undertaken through the appointment of academic staff who coordinate and represent a wide range of roles and remits, both within and beyond the School.

Head of School

Title Name Phone Email
Head of School Professor Jeremy Robbins +44 (0)131 651 3776 Jeremy.Robbins@ed.ac.uk

Heads of department

Title Name Phone Email
Head of Asian Studies Professor Joachim Gentz +44 (0)131 650 3681 joachim.gentz@ed.ac.uk
Head of Celtic and Scottish Studies Professor Rob Dunbar +44 (0)131 650 3621 rob.dunbar@ed.ac.uk
Head of the Department of European Languages and Cultures Professor Peter Dayan +44 (0)131 650 8424 peter.dayan@ed.ac.uk
Head of English Literature Dr Andrew Taylor +44 (0)131 650 4584 andrew.taylor@ed.ac.uk
Head of Islamic and Middle Eastern Studies Dr Andrew Marsham +44 (0)131 650 9872 andrew.marsham@ed.ac.uk

Academic officers

Title Name Phone Email
Undergraduate Director Dr Sabine Rolle +44 (0)131 650 3670 s.rolle@ed.ac.uk
Postgraduate Director Dr Laura Bradley +44 (0)131 650 3634 laura.bradley@ed.ac.uk
Senior Tutor Dr Will Lamb +44 (0)131 650 3624 w.lamb@ed.ac.uk
Director of Research Professor James Loxley +44 (0)131 650 3610 james.loxley@ed.ac.uk
Academic Misconduct Officer Dr Anouk Lang +44 (0)131 650 8936 anouk.lang@ed.ac.uk
Health and Safety Representative Dr José Saval +44 (0)131 650 3675 jose.saval@ed.ac.uk
Equality and Diversity Representative Dr Alexandra Smith +44 (0)131 651 1381 alexandra.smith@ed.ac.uk
Director of Quality and Convenor of School QAE Committee Dr Huw Lewis +44 (0)131 650 3676 h.lewis@ed.ac.uk
Coordinator of Adjustments Dr Neill Martin +44 (0)131 651 1981 neill.martin@ed.ac.uk
Convenor of UG Board of Studies Dr Neill Martin +44 (0)131 651 1981 neill.martin@ed.ac.uk
Library Committee Representative Dr Alan MacNiven +44 (0)131 650 3279 alan.macniven@ed.ac.uk
Knowledge Exchange & Impact Director Dr David Farrier +44 (0)131 651 7112 david.darrier@ed.ac.uk