Health & Safety Department

Safety staff list

On this page you will find contact details for all Health and Safety Department staff.

Health and Safety Office Charles Stewart House, 9-16, Chambers Street, Edinburgh, EH1 1NT Campus: Central Area Fax: 0131 651 4260 Email: Health.Safety@ed.ac.uk
Name Role Email Telephone
Mr Alastair Reid Director Alastair.Reid@ed.ac.uk 651 4257
Mrs Karen Darling (Mon-Thurs) Deputy Director Karen.Darling@ed.ac.uk 651 4258
Mrs Susan Burns Departmental Administrator, School Safety Adviser Susan.Burns@ed.ac.uk 650 2461
Mrs Joanna Chmielewski Administrative Support Co-ordinator Joanna.Chmielewski@ed.ac.uk 651 4255
Mrs Lorna Fraser (Mon - Wed) Administrative Support Co-ordinator Lorna.Fraser@ed.ac.uk 651 4773
Biological Safety Unit Charles Stewart House, 9-16, Chambers Street, Edinburgh, EH1 1HT Campus: Central Area Fax: 0131 651 4260 Email: Biosafety@ed.ac.uk
Name Role Email Telephone
Dr Phil Walsh University Biological Safety Adviser Phil.Walsh@ed.ac.uk 651 4245
Dr Fiona Harris Biosafety Training and Development Assistant F.Harris@ed.ac.uk 650 8013
Fire Safety Unit 9-11, Infirmary Street, Edinburgh, EH1 1NP Campus: Central Area Fax: 0131 651 4260 Email: Fire@ed.ac.uk
Name Role Email Telephone
Mr Andy Mackay University Fire Safety Adviser Andy.Mackay@ed.ac.uk 651 3051
Mr Jimmy Burns (Tues - Fri) Deputy Fire Safety Adviser Jimmy.Burns@ed.ac.uk 650 9954
Mrs Ashleigh Maule Administrative Support Co-ordinator Ashleigh.Maule@ed.ac.uk 651 1226
Mr Brian Quinn Fire Safety Co-ordinator Brian.Quinn@ed.ac.uk 651 3052
Mr Peter Rae Fire Safety Co-ordinator Peter.Rae@ed.ac.uk 650 9951
Occupational Health Unit Drummond Street Annexe, Drummond Street, Edinburgh, EH8 9XP Campus: Central Area Fax: 0131 650 9149 Email: Occupational.Health@ed.ac.uk
Name Role Email Telephone
Mrs Janet Craig (Mon - Thurs) Occupational Health Manager Janet.Craig@ed.ac.uk 651 4302
Ms Isabel Jack (Tues - Fri) Senior Occupational Health Adviser, Senior Occupational Health Adviser Isabel.Jack@ed.ac.uk 650 8192
Ms Lori Fearn (not Wed) Occupational Health Adviser Lori.Fearn@ed.ac.uk 651 4295
Mrs Helen Gilroy Occupational Health Technician, First Aider Helen.Gilroy@ed.ac.uk 650 8190
Ms Emma Pryde (mon - Thurs) Administrative Support Co-ordinator, First Aider Emma.Pryde@ed.ac.uk 650 9228
Dr Eugene Waclawski (Alternate Thursdays) Occupational Health Physician 650 8190
Ms Irene Mackenzie (Wed - Fri) Administrative Support Assistant Irene.Mackenzie@ed.ac.uk 650 8190
Ms Leslie Wann Administrative Support Assistant, First Aider Lesley.Wann@ed.ac.uk 650 8190
Ms Kathryn Main Occupational Health Adviser Kathryn.Main@ed.ac.uk 650 2512
Ms Lynsey Benton Occupational Health Screening Nurse Lynsey.Benton@ed.ac.uk 650 8052
Occupational Hygiene Unit Charles Stewart House, 9-16 Chambers Street, Edinburgh, EH1 1HT Campus: Central Area Fax: 0131 651 4260 Email: Occupational.Hygiene@ed.ac.uk
Name Role Email Telephone
Ms Candice Schmid (Mon-Thurs) Occupational Hygiene and Projects Manager Candice.Schmid@ed.ac.uk 651 4261
Radiation Protection Unit Charles Stewart House, 9-16 Chambers Street, Edinburgh, EH1 1HT Campus: Central Area Fax: 0131 651 4260 Email: Radiation@ed.ac.uk
Name Role Email Telephone
Mr Colin Farmery University Radiation Protection Adviser Colin.Farmery@ed.ac.uk 650 2818
Mr Mark Green Assistant Radiation Protection Adviser, First Aider Mark.Green@ed.ac.uk 650 2819
Dr Laura Woodward Health and Safety Technician Laura.Woodward@ed.ac.uk 651 4583
Training and Audit Unit Charles Stewart House, 9-16 Chambers Street, Edinburgh, EH1 1HT Campus: Central Area Fax: 0131 651 4260 Email: Safety.Training@ed.ac.uk
Name Role Email Telephone
Mr Lawrence Dickson Training and Audit Coordinator, First Aider Lawrence.Dickson@ed.ac.uk 651 4259
Mr John Nimmo Health and Safety (First Aid) Trainer, First Aider John.Nimmo@ed.ac.uk 651 4256
Mrs Susan Woodman Commercial and e-training Administrator, First Aider Susan.Woodman@ed.ac.uk 650 2394