School of GeoSciences

Contact Us

Detailed information on how to find us and who to contact.

On this page:

Prospective Students

General Enquiries 

Find Us 

School management and administration key contacts 

 

Prospective Students

Undergraduate enquiries and applications

Undergraduate applications or admission enquiries should be submitted via the online form.

For general enquiries or enquiries regarding programme content, please contact:

Ecological Science programmes: ecological.sciences@ed.ac.uk

Environmental Geoscience, Geology, Geophysics programmes: earth.sciences@ed.ac.uk

Geography programmes: geography@ed.ac.uk

 

Postgraduate Taught Masters enquiries and applications 

Postgraduate Taught Masters applications or admission enquiries should be submitted via the online form.

For enquiries regarding the programme content, please contact: geos.postgrad@ed.ac.uk

 

Postgraduate Research Enquiries

For enquiries regarding postgraduate research studies, please contact: pgrsupport.geos@ed.ac.uk

General Enquiries

 

Find Us

The school is distributed in several buildings across the King’s Buildings and Central Area campuses of the University. 

The Grant Institute, the Crew Building and the John Murray Laboratories are located at King's Buildings, the campus around two miles south of the city centre.  The Head of School and the main administrative offices are in the Grant Institute.

The Institute of Geography and the Drummond Library are in High School Yards, near Old College in the historic Old Town of Edinburgh.

Grant Institute

  • Postal and Physical Address:  The King's Buildings, James Hutton Road, Edinburgh EH9 3FE

Crew Building

Postal and Physical Address:  The King's Buildings, Alexander Crum Brown Road, Edinburgh EH9 3FF

Institute of Geography

Postal and Physical Address:  Drummond Street, Edinburgh EH8 9XP

 

Cockburn Museum

The Cockburn Museum at King's Buildings holds an extensive collection of geological specimens and historical objects which is open to the public. 

 

The University provides Campus maps and  accessibility guides for the campuses and buildings.  
 
 
 

School Management and Administration

Role Person Phone number Email
Head of School Professor Simon Kelley +44 (0) 131 650 2537 hos.geos@ed.ac.uk
Director of Professional Services  Tracey Dart +44 (0) 131 651 7159 Tracey.Dart@ed.ac.uk
Deputy Head of School  Professor Kathryn Whaler +44 (0) 131 650 4904 Kathy.Whaler@ed.ac.uk
PA to Head of School and HoRIs  Consuelo Fox +44 (0) 131 651 7068 Connie.fox@ed.ac.uk
Administrative Services Manager Katie Jeffrey  +44 (0) 131 650 7737 Katie.Jeffrey@ed.ac.uk
Senior Personal Tutor and School Curriculum Approval Officer Dr Caroline Nichol +44 (0) 131 650 7729 Caroline.Nichol@ed.ac.uk
Director of Research   Professor Ian Main  +44 (0) 131 650 4911 Ian.Main@ed.ac.uk
Research Support Services Manager Rosanna Maccagnano +44 (0) 131 650 7541 rosanna.maccagnano@ed.ac.uk
Head of Facilities Professor Kate Heal +44 (0) 131 650 5420 K.heal@ed.ac.uk
Director of Teaching  Dr Linda Kirstein +44 (0) 131 650 4838 hoto.geos@ed.ac.uk
Head of Student Services  Sarah McAllister +44 (0) 131 650 4917 Sarah.Mcallister@ed.ac.uk
Director of PGR Dr Marc Metzger  +44 (0) 131 651 4446 Marc.Metzger@ed.ac.uk 
Head of Earth and Planetary Science Research Institute  Dr Bryne Ngwenya +44 (0) 131 650 8507 Bryne.Ngwenya@ed.ac.uk
Head of Global Change Research Institute  Professor Mathew Williams  +44 (0) 131 650 7776 Mat.Williams@ed.ac.uk
Head of Geography and the Lived Environment Research Institute  Professor Iain Woodhouse +44 (0) 131 650 2527 i.h.woodhouse@ed.ac.uk
Health and Safety Manager  Rosie Russell

+44 (0) 131 650 4906  /

 +44 (0) 7779442318

Rosie.Russell@ed.ac.uk
Physical Resources Manager 

Dr. Matthew Ball

+44 (0) 131 650 7010

Matt.Ball@ed.ac.uk
Finance Manager  Richard Carr  +44 (0) 131 650 2286 Richard.Carr@ed.ac.uk
Research Finance Manager  Brendan Martin +44 (0) 131 650 4843 Brendan.Martin@ed.ac.uk
IT Service Manager  Christopher Place  +44 (0) 131 650 2542 C.J.Place@ed.ac.uk
Business Development Executive Stuart Simmons +44 (0) 131 650 8516 Stuart.Simmons@ed.ac.uk