Biomedical Sciences

Academic staff based in Centres

Contact details and links to profiles of BMS Academic staff in Centres

 

Name

Title

Email

Phone

Centre 

Research interest

B

         
Dr Till Bachmann Reader and Online MSc Programme Director Till.bachmann@ed.ac.uk 0131 242 9438 DIPM Diagnostics, biosensors, and pathogen detection.
Prof Catherina Becker Director of CNR and Professor of Neural Development and Regeneration  Catherina.Becker@ed.ac.uk 0131 242 7983 CNR Zebrafish
Dr Thomas Becker Senior Lecturer/Programme Director Thomas.becker@ed.ac.uk 0131 242 6225 CNR Zebrafish, regeneration
Prof Peter Brophy Professor P.Brophy@ed.ac.uk 0131 242 7981 CNR Nervous system, neurons
Dr Emanuel Busch Chancellors Fellow Emanuel.Busch@ed.ac.uk 0131 651 1727 CIP Signalling, neurones & networks

C

         
Prof Michael Cousin

Professor of Neuronal Cell Biology and Head of Pre-Clinical Research at the Muir Maxwell Epilepsy Centre

M.Cousin@ed.ac.uk 0131 650 3259 CIP Presynaptic function and dysfunction; neurotransmitter release, synaptic vesicle endocytosis

D

         
Prof Jamie Davies

Professor of Experimental Anatomy

Jamie.Davies@ed.ac.uk 0131 650 2999 CIP Organ Development, Tissue Engineering, Synthetic Biology, Bioinformatic support for all of the above
Dr Michael Daw

Edinburgh-Zhejiang Lecturer

Michael.Daw@ed.ac.uk 0131 650 3722 CIP Cortical development, Synaptic function and plasticity, GABAergic transmission
Dr Barry Denholm Lecturer Barry.Denholm@ed.ac.uk 0131 650 9880 CIP Development, degeneration & regeneration
Dr Maria Doitsidou Chancellors Fellow Maria.Doitsidou@ed.ac.uk 0131 651 1727 CIP Development, degeneration & regeneration
Dr Ian Duguid

Wellcome Trust Senior Research Fellow

Ian.Duguid@ed.ac.uk 0131 650 3113 CIP Glutamate receptors
Prof Mayank Dutia

Professor of Systems Neurophysiology

M.B.Dutia@ed.ac.uk 0131 650 3252 CIP Signalling, neurones & networks

E

         
Prof Mark Evans

Professor of Cellular Pharmacology

Mark.evans@ed.ac.uk 0131 651 1501 CIP AMP-activated protein kinase

F

         
Dr Peter Flatman

Senior Lecturer in Physiology

Peter.Flatman@ed.ac.uk 0131 650 3254 CIP Cotransporters
Prof Susan Fleetwood-Walker

Professor of Sensory Neuroscience

S.M.Fleetwood-Walker@ed.ac.uk 0131 651 1696 CIP Analgesics
Dr Vassiliki Fotaki

Postdoctoral Researcher/Principal Investigator

V.Fotaki@ed.ac.uk 0131 651 1707 CIP Development, degeneration & regeneration

G

         
Prof Peter Ghazal  Professor of Molecular Genetics and Biomedicine P.Ghazal@ed.ac.uk 0131 242 6284 DIPM Mechanisms and principles of our resilience to infection from early life
Prof Tom Gillingwater

Professor of Anatomy

T.Gillingwater@ed.ac.uk 0131 650 3724 CIP Degeneration, SMA
Dr Christos Gkogkas Chancellors Fellow Christos.Gkogkas@ed.ac.uk 0131 650 3507 CIP Signalling, neurones & networks
Dr Sebastian Greiss Chancellors Fellow S.Greiss@ed.ac.uk 0131 651 1727 CIP Signalling, neurones & networks

H

         
Prof Jürgen Haas  Director, DIPM  Juergen.haas@ed.ac.uk 0131 242 6859 DIPM Genetic polymorphisms
Dr Patrick Hadoke Senior Academic Fellow in Pharmacology Patrick.hadoke@ed.ac.uk 0131 242 6742 CVS Atherosclerosis, Angiogenesis, glucocorticoids, androgens, stem cells, imaging.
Dr Andrew Hall Reader A.Hall@ed.ac.uk 0131 650 3263 CIP Chondrocytes, Osteoarthritis
Prof Giles Hardingham

Professor of Molecular Neurobiology

Giles.hardingham@ed.ac.uk 0131 650 7961 CIP NMDA receptors
Dr Oliver Hardt Lecturer and Chancellor's Fellow Oliver.Hardt@ed.ac.uk 0131 651 1906 CCNS Neurobiology, memory loss
Dr Leah Herrgen Principal Investigator Lherrgen@ed.ac.uk 0131 242 9448 CNR Molecular and cellular mechanisms of brain repair
Prof Karen Horsburgh Principal Investigator Karen.Horsburgh@ed.ac.uk 0131 242 6216 CNR Alzheimers disease

J

         
Dr Mandy Jackson

Senior Lecturer

Mandy.Jackson@ed.ac.uk 0131 650 7518 CIP Ataxia, cerebellum
Prof Andrew Jarman

Professor of Developmental Cell Biology

Andrew.Jarman@ed.ac.uk 0131 650 3737 CIP Transcriptional regulation of neurogenesis, Sensory development, Ciliogenesis

K

         
Prof Peter Kind Director, PWC P.Kind@ed.ac.uk 0131 651 1762 CIP Signalling, neurones & networks

L

         
Prof Gareth Leng

Professor of Experimental Physiology

Gareth.Leng@ed.ac.uk 0131 650 2869 CIP Oxytocin
Dr Paul Le Tissier Lecturer Paul.LeTissier@ed.ac.uk 0131 650 3107 CIP Signalling, neurones & networks
Dr Dawn Livingstone

Lecturer

Dawn.Livingstone@ed.ac.uk 0131 650 9880 CIP Signalling, neurones & networks
Prof David Lyons Professor of Neurobiology David.Lyons@ed.ac.uk 0131 242 7978 CNR Zebrafish
Prof Mike Ludwig

Professor of Neurophysiology

Mike.Ludwig@ed.ac.uk 0131 650 3275 CIP Oxytocin, vasopressin

M

         
Dr Sutherland Maciver

Reader

S.Maciver@ed.ac.uk 0131 650 3714 CIP Development, degeneration & regeneration
Dr John Mason Reader John.Mason@ed.ac.uk 0131 650 6820 CIP Identifying molecular mechanisms that control embryonic development of the mammalian brain
Prof Dies Meijer Professor of Cellular Neurobiology Dies.Meijer@ed.ac.uk 0131 242 6238 CNR Homeostasis, the nervous system
Dr John Menzies Edinburgh-Zhejiang Lecturer John.Menzies@ed.ac.uk 0131 651 1711 CIP Signalling, neurones & networks
Dr Rory Mitchell

Senior Lecturer

Rory.Mitchell@ed.ac.uk 0131 650 3550 CIP Therapeutics
Prof Richard Morris Director, CCNS Richard.G.M.Morris@ed.ac.uk 0131 650 3520 CCNS Memory, Alzheimers disease
Dr Joanne Murray

(Zhejiang) Academic Track Lecturer

Jmurra19@ed.ac.uk 0131 651 1711 CIP Development, degeneration & regeneration
Dr Lyndsay Murray

Lecturer in Anatomy

Lyndsay.Murray@ed.ac.uk 0131 651 5985 CIP Development, degeneration & regeneration

N

         
Prof Matthew Nolan Professor of Neural Circuits and Computation Matt.Nolan@ed.ac.uk 0131 650 9874 CIP
Electrophysiology, optogenetics, navigation, circuit disorders.  

O

         
Dr Harry Olverman Senior Lecturer H.Olverman@ed.ac.uk 0131 650 3523 CCNS Human depressive disorders
Dr Iris Oren Chancellors Fellow Iris.Oren@ed.ac.uk 0131 651 1903 CCNS Brain circuits, memory, Alzheimers Disease
Dr Emily Osterweil Chancellors Fellow Emily.Osterweil@ed.ac.uk 0131 650 3722 CIP Signalling, neurones & networks

P

         
Dr Jennifer Paxton

Lecturer in Anatomy

J.Z.Paxton@ed.ac.uk 0131 651 5250 CIP Signalling, neurones & networks
Dr Guisy Pennetta Lecturer G.Pennetta@ed.ac.uk 0131 651 3201 CIP Drosophila
Dr Kim Picozzi Senior Lecturer in Global Health and Principal Investigator Kim.Picozzi@ed.ac.uk 0131 242 9376 DIPM Global health, infectious diseases, molecular epidemiology, neglected zoonotic diseases
Dr Tom Pratt Lecturer T.Pratt@ed.ac.uk 0131 650 3732 CIP Signalling, carbohydrates, development
Prof David Price

Professor of Developmental Neurobiology

David.Price@ed.ac.uk 0131 650 3262 CIP Molecular mechanisms of early brain development

R

         
Prof Richard Ribchester Professor of Cellular Neuroscience Richard.Ribchester@ed.ac.uk 0131 650 3256 CCNS Motor neurones
Dr Nathalie Rochefort Chancellors Fellow N.Rochefort@ed.ac.uk 0131 650 3113 CIP Signalling, neurones & networks

S

         
Dr Thamarai Dorai-Schneiders Principal Investigator Thamarai.Schneiders@ed.ac.uk 0131 242 6285 DIPM Antibiotic resistance, bacteria
Dr Mariela Scortti Senior Research Fellow M.scortti@ed.ac.uk 0131 651 3624 DIPM Molecular determinants of bacterial virulence
Prof Mike Shipston Dean, Biomedical Sciences and Professor of Physiology Mike.Shipston@ed.ac.uk 0131 650 3253 CIP Signalling, neurones & networks
Dr Dirk Sieger Chancellors’s Fellow Dirk.Sieger@ed.ac.uk 0131 242 6161 CNR

Understanding the role of microglia in brain tumours.

Dr Martin Simmen Lecturer M.Simmen@ed.ac.uk 0131 651 1773 CIP

Bioinformatics, computational biology, genome analysis, biostatistics

Dr Paul Skehel Senior lecturer Paul.Skehel@ed.ac.uk 0131 651 1961 CIP Molecular mechanisms of neurodegeneration
Dr Karen Smillie Lecturer K.Smillie@ed.ac.uk 0131 651 1506 CIP Signalling, neurones & networks
Prof Norah Spears

Professor of Reproductive Physiology

Norah.Spears@ed.ac.uk 0131 650 3267 CIP

Fertility preservation

Dr Tara Spires-Jones Acting Director, CCNS Tara.Spires-Jones@ed.ac.uk 0131 651 1895 CCNS Mechanisms and reversibility of synaptic and neuronal degeneration in Alzheimer¹s disease, other degenerative brain diseases, and ageing
Dr Melanie Stefan

Edinburgh-Zhejiang Lecturer

Mstefan@ed.ac.uk 0131 651 1711 CIP Signalling, neurones & networks

T

         
Dr Simon Talbot Principal Investigator and Senior Lecturer S.Talbot@ed.ac.uk 0131 242 6282 DIPM Antibodies, chimeric T-cell receptors
Prof Evelyn Telfer   Evelyn.Telfer@ed.ac.uk   CIP Development, degeneration & regeneration
Dr Thomas Theil

Senior Lecturer

Thomas.theil@ed.ac.uk 0131 650 3721 CIP

Transcriptional regulation of neural patterning, axon pathfinding, primary cilia

Dr Carole Torsney

Lecturer

Carole.Torsney@ed.ac.uk
0131 650 9881 CIP Spinal synaptic function and plasticity, chemotherapy related neuropathic pain

W

         
Prof Sue Welburn

Professor of Medical and Veterinary Molecular Epidemiology

Sue.Welburn@ed.ac.uk 0131 650 6457 DIPM Parasites, human sleeping sickness
Dr Rolly Wiegand

Head, Confocal and Advanced Light Microscopy Facility, QMRI

U.Wiegand@ed.ac.uk 0131 650 2864 CIP Signalling, neurones & networks
Dr Emma Wood Senior Lecturer Emma.Wood@ed.ac.uk 0131 650 3531 CCNS The role of the hippocampus
Prof David Wyllie

Director of CIP and Professor of Ion Channel Physiology and Pharmacology

David.J.A.Wyllie@ed.ac.uk 0131 650 4564 CIP Signalling, neurones & networks

Z

         
Zhang, HongYan Chancellors Fellow HongYan.Zhang@ed.ac.uk 0131 242 6799 CNR

Spinal locomotor control in simple vertebrates