Quantitative Biology, Biochemistry and Biotechnology

Staff profiles

List of all academic, research, technical and administrative staff.

For corrections, please contact the Institute Secretary below.

Institute of Quantitative Biology, Biochemistry and Biotechnology staff list

  • R = Edinburgh Research Explorer profile
  • V = Research in a Nutshell video

Head of Institute

NameEmail AddressTelephone
BARLOW, Paul Prof Paul.Barlow@ed.ac.uk +44 (0) 131 650 4727

Institute Secretary

NameEmail AddressTelephone
BISHOP, Louise Louise.bishop@ed.ac.uk +44 (0) 131 650 5366

Building Manager

NameEmail AddressTelephone
MCMILLAN, George George.McMillan@ed.ac.uk +44 (0) 131 650 5438

Academic Staff and Principal Investigators

NameResearch InterestEmail
AUER, Manfred Prof Innovative drug discovery manfred.auer@ed.ac.uk V
BARLOW, Paul Prof Paul.Barlow@ed.ac.uk
BLAKELY, Garry Dr Site-specific recombination in bacteria Garry.Blakely@ed.ac.uk
BRAMHAM, Janice Dr Structure and dynamics of biological macromolecules Janice.Bramham@ed.ac.uk
COOK, Atlanta Dr Complexes in RNA metabolism Atlanta.Cook@ed.ac.uk
FREE, Andrew Dr Microbial communities and their applications in biotechnology and medicine Andrew.Free@ed.ac.uk
FRENCH, Christopher Prof Biosensors, biomass conversion, gene assembly C.French@ed.ac.uk V
GALLAGHER, Maurice Prof Bacterial physiology and vaccine development MP.Gallagher@ed.ac.uk
GRANNEMAN, Sander Dr Ribosome biosynthesis sgrannem@staffmail.ed.ac.uk
GRIMA, Ramon Dr Modelling stochastic processes Ramon.Grima@ed.ac.uk
HORSFALL, Louise Dr Microbial biotechnology and synthetic biology Louise.Horsfall@ed.ac.uk
HOUSTON, Douglas Dr Computational drug discovery DouglasR.Houston@ed.ac.uk
MCLAUGHLIN, Paul Dr Paul.McLaughlin@ed.ac.uk
MILLAR, Andrew Prof Systems biology and biological clocks Andrew.Millar@ed.ac.uk V
REID, Graeme Prof Graeme.Reid@ed.ac.uk
RICHARDSON, Julia Dr Structural biology of molecular machines acting on DNA Julia.Richardson@ed.ac.uk
ROSSER, Susan Prof Susan.Rosser@ed.ac.uk
SWAIN, Peter Prof Systems biology of cellular decision-making peter.swain@ed.ac.uk
TAYLOR, Paul Dr Computational drug discovery P.Taylor@ed.ac.uk
WALKINSHAW, Malcolm Prof Protein-ligand interactions M.Walkinshaw@ed.ac.uk
WALLACE, Stephen Dr stephen.wallace@ed.ac.uk
WANG, Baojun Dr Synthetic biology, Systems biology, Designing customised gene circuits for novel biosensing and bioremediation applications Baojun.Wang@ed.ac.uk
WEAR, Martin Dr Martin.Wear@ed.ac.uk

Honorary and Visiting Staff

NamePositionEmail Address
GILMORE, Linda Dr Honorary Fellow linda.gilmore@ed.ac.uk
MICHELS, Paul Professor Visiting Professor paul.michels@ed.ac.uk
MUETZELFELDT, Robert Honorary Fellow -
SAWYER, Lindsay Professor Professor Emeritus l.sawyer@ed.ac.uk
TYERS, Michael Professor Visiting Professor m.tyers@ed.ac.uk

Research Staff

NameGroup / PositionEmail
ANDREOU, Andreas French Group / Research Assistant aandreo2@exseed.ed.ac.uk
ARMSTRONG, Lee Richardson Group / Research Assistant Lee.Armstrong@ed.ac.uk
BLACKBURN, Elizabeth Walkinshaw Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate e.a.blackburn@ed.ac.uk
BROWN, Russell Wang Lab / PDRA Russell.Brown@ed.ac.uk
CLARK, Ivan Swain Group / Experimental Officer Ivan.Clark@ed.ac.uk
DORNAN, Jacqueline Dr Walkinshaw Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate J.Dornan@ed.ac.uk
DUDEKULA, Khadar Walkinshaw Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate Khadar.Dudekula@ed.ac.uk
ECHAVARRI-BRAVO, Virginia Dr Horsfall Lab / Postdoctoral Research Associate Virginia.Echavarri@ed.ac.uk
EDMUNDSON, Matthew Dr Horsfall Lab / Postdoctoral Research Associate medmunds@exseed.ed.ac.uk
EGGINGTON, Ian Horsfall Lab / Research Assistant Ian.Eggington@ed.ac.uk
GWYNNE, Peter Gallagher Lab / Postdoctoral research associate pgwynne@exseed.ed.ac.uk
HOLMES, Rebecca Dr Rosser Group / PDRA rholmes@staffmail.ed.ac.uk
HOLYOAKE, Louise Wang Lab / Postdoctoral Research Associate lholyoak@exseed.ed.ac.uk
HONSBEIN, Annegret Dr Rosser Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate Annegret.Honsbein@ed.ac.uk
JAYACHANDRAN, Uma Dr Cook Lab / Research Assistant ujayacha@exseed.ed.ac.uk
JENSEN, Mai-Britt Dr Rosser Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate Mai-Britt.Jensen@ed.ac.uk
JOHNSTON, Emily Dr Rosser Group / PDRA Emily.Johnston@ed.ac.uk
KASPROWICZ, Aleksandra Dr Cook Lab / Postdoctoral Research Associate Aleksandra.Kasprowicz@ed.ac.uk
KERR, Lorraine Dr / Commercial Relations Manager Lorraine.Kerr@ed.ac.uk
KLEINJAN, Dirk Dr Rosser Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate Dirk-Jan.Kleinjan@ed.ac.uk
KOSZELA, Joanna Dr Auer Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate Joanna.Koszela@ed.ac.uk
KRUUSVEE, Valdeko Dr Cook Lab / Postdoctoral Research Associate Valdeko.Kruusvee@ed.ac.uk
MANN, Stefan Dr Auer Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate Stefan.Mann@ed.ac.uk
MCNAE, Iain Walkinshaw Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate Iain.McNae@ed.ac.uk
MERRICK, Christine Rosser Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate Christine.Merrick@ed.ac.uk
MONTANO GUTIERREZ, Luis Swain Group / Research Assistant lmontano@exseed.ed.ac.uk
MOSES, Tessa Dr Rosser Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate Tessa.Moses@ed.ac.uk
NOWICKI, Matthew Walkinshaw Group / Senior EPPF Protein Technologist matthew.nowicki@ed.ac.uk
PANTIDOS, Nikolaos Horsfall Lab / Research Assistant Nikolaos.Pantidos@ed.ac.uk
PEREZ PI, Irene Auer Group / Research Assistant iperez2@exseed.ed.ac.uk
PHAM, Nhan Dr Auer Group / Laboratory & Optics Research Manager Nhan.Pham@ed.ac.uk
PIETSCH, Julian Dr Swain Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate Julian.Pietsch@ed.ac.uk
PINTO, Filipe Dr Wang Lab / Postdoctoral Research Associate Filipe.Pinto@ed.ac.uk
PRADO, Karine Dr Millar Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate Karine.Prado@ed.ac.uk
SHAVE, Steven Dr Auer Group / Senior Researcher, Computational Sciences S.Shave@ed.ac.uk
SOU, Si Nga Dr Rosser Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate Si.Sou@ed.ac.uk
TRUBITSYNA, Maryia Dr Rosser Group / Lab Manager/PDRA M.Trubitsyna@ed.ac.uk
ZIELINSKI, Tomasz Dr Millar Group / Computational Resource Manager Tomasz.Zielinski@ed.ac.uk

Technical Research Staff

NameGroup / PositionEmail
BILAL, Tsabieh Walkinshaw Group / Research Technician tbilal@exseed.ed.ac.uk
BRUCE, Sandra Walkinshaw Group / Lab Manager / Senior Research Technician Sandra.Bruce@ed.ac.uk
CAMPBELL, Gaynor Dr Auer Group / Research Technician Gaynor.Campbell@ed.ac.uk
CAPENESS, Michael Horsfall Lab / Research Technician Michael.Capeness@ed.ac.uk
COWAN, Connor / Modern Apprentice - Lab Technician In Biotechnology ccowan@exseed.ed.ac.uk
FARQUHAR, Iseabail Swain Group / Research Technician Iseabail.Farquhar@ed.ac.uk
FLORANCE, Hannah Dr Walkinshaw Group / Metabolics Specialist Hannah.Florance@ed.ac.uk
FURNISS, James Halliday Group / Research Technician James.Furniss@ed.ac.uk
IMRIE, Lisa Walkinshaw Group / Proteomics Facility Operator Lisa.Imrie@ed.ac.uk
MALIK, Divya Dr Walkinshaw Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate Divya.Malik@ed.ac.uk
PAGET, Jane Rosser Group / Research Technician Jane.Paget@ed.ac.uk
SALVO-CHIRNSIDE, Eliane Millar Group / KPF Deputy Lab Manager Eliane.Chirnside@ed.ac.uk
STRATHDEE, Fiona Free Group / Research Technician fiona.strathdee@ed.ac.uk
THORNTON, Ella Wang Lab / Research Technician ethornt2@exseed.ed.ac.uk
VARZANDEH, Simon Bramham Lab / Research Technician svarzand@exseed.ed.ac.uk
WARDROPE, Caroline Dr Rosser Group / Research Technician C.Wardrope@ed.ac.uk

PhD Students

NameGroup / PositionEmail Address
AGUILERA MILLACURA, Juan Feliipe French Group / PhD Student J.F.Aguilera-Millacura@sms.ed.ac.uk
BAKKER, Elco Swain Group / PhD Student s1135844@sms.ed.ac.uk
BRYSON, James Rosser Group / PhD Student s1436794@sms.ed.ac.uk
CHEN, Yiyuan Walkinshaw Group / PhD Student s1165209@sms.ed.ac.uk
DALE, Matthew Rosser Group / PhD Student s1434789@sms.ed.ac.uk
FERNANDES, Peter Walkinshaw Group / PhD Student s1475113@sms.ed.ac.uk
GALE, Grant Wang Lab / PhD Student G.A.R.Gale@sms.ed.ac.uk
GANPUDI, Ashwin Halliday Group / PhD Student ashwin.ganpudi@ed.ac.uk
GUKOVA, Alina Richardson Group / PhD Student a.g.gukova@sms.ed.ac.uk
GUPTA, Abhishek Grima Group / PhD Student s1478186@sms.ed.ac.uk
HARVEY, Pascoe Rosser Group / PhD Student s1342417@sms.ed.ac.uk
HO, Yuan Wang Lab / PhD Student Y.H.T.Ho@sms.ed.ac.uk
HUSSAIN, Ejaz / PhD Student s1686277@sms.ed.ac.uk
IRVINE, Amy Free Group / PhD Student A.L.Irvine@sms.ed.ac.uk
JOBLING, Kelly Blakely Lab / PhD Student s0457747@sms.ed.ac.uk
KINDT, Rocky Free Group / PhD Student s1269542@sms.ed.ac.uk
LILLEY, Charlotte Horsfall Lab / PhD Student s1102051@sms.ed.ac.uk
LIU, Yang Wang Lab / PhD Student Y.Liu-187@sms.ed.ac.uk
MANZANARO MORENO, Nahuel Swain Group / PhD Student N.Manzanaro-Moreno@sms.ed.ac.uk
MARTINS, Bruno Swain Group / PhD Student s0880566@sms.ed.ac.uk
MCDONALD, Michael Free Group / PhD Student M.A.McDonald@sms.ed.ac.uk
MCKENZIE, Neil Walkinshaw Group / PhD Student s0895818@sms.ed.ac.uk
MIGUEL, Cueva Horsfall Lab / PhD Student m.e.cueva@sms.ed.ac.uk
MUDD, Gemma Auer Group / PhD Student s1064242@sms.ed.ac.uk
NWANKWO, Ndubuisi Christopher French Group / PhD Student s1357472@sms.ed.ac.uk
ROBERTS, David Blakely Lab / PhD Student s0681057@sms.ed.ac.uk
SACHS, Daniel Rosser Group / PhD Student D.Sachs-2@sms.ed.ac.uk
SIVASUBRAMANIAM, Pratheesan Wang Lab / PhD Student p.siva@ed.ac.uk
SMITH, Stephen Grima Group / PhD Student s1436741@sms.ed.ac.uk
TEBAY, Zara Horsfall Lab / PhD Student Z.A.Tebay@sms.ed.ac.uk
TONER, David Grima Group / PhD Student s0962658@sms.ed.ac.uk
VALENZUELA ORTEGA, Marcos French Group / PhD Student M.Valenzuela-Ortega@sms.ed.ac.uk
VARZANDEH, Simon Richardson Group / PhD Student s1239002@sms.ed.ac.uk
VETTER, Beatrice Rosser Group / PhD Student Beatrice.Vetter@ed.ac.uk
WAN, Xinyi Wang Lab / PhD Student s1204172@sms.ed.ac.uk
XYPNITOU, Andromachi Walkinshaw Group / PhD Student s1266282@sms.ed.ac.uk
ZARAZUA-ARVIZU, Efrain Horsfall Lab / PhD Student s1362505@sms.ed.ac.uk
ZARDILIS, Argyris Millar Group / PhD Student s1437009@sms.ed.ac.uk