Biological Sciences


List of all academic, research, technical and administrative staff.

For corrections, please contact the Institute Secretary below.

Institute of Immunology and Infection Research staff list

Head of Institute

NameEmail AddressTelephone
Professor Keith Matthews +44 (0) 131 651 3639

Institute Secretary

NameEmail AddressTelephone
Roz Shields +44 (0)131 650 5464

Building Manager

NameEmail AddressTelephone
Dr David Brown +44 (0) 131 650 5453

Administrative Staff

NamePositionEmail AddressTelephone
Jayne Glendinning School Research Administrator +44 (0) 131 650 7274
Jennifer Hurst Administrative Assistant +44(0)131-650-3688
Kasia Kokowska CIIE Centre Manager +44 (0) 131 650 3683
Mairead Rae Postgraduate Programme Administrator +44 (0) 131 650 5455
Hilary Snaith Executive Manager, Edinburgh Infectious Diseases +44 (0)131 651 3688

Academic Staff and Principal Investigators

NameResearch InterestEmail Address
ALLEN, Judith Professor Immune modulation & effector mechanisms induced by helminths
BUCK, Amy Dr Micro-RNA function in the host-pathogen context
CAVANAGH, David Dr Human immune response to antigens from the erythrocytic stage of Plasmodium falciparum, with the aim of developing effective vaccines targeting these parasite proteins
GRAY, David Professor Immunological memory and T-B cell interactions
IVENS, Alasdair Dr Bioinformatics for genome analysis
MACIAS RIBELA, Sara Chancellor's Fellow
MAIZELS, Rick Professor Immune modulating molecules of helminths
MATTHEWS, Keith Professor Cell biology of African trypanosomes
MUTAPI, Francisca Dr Immunoepidemiology of human schistosomiasis
POTOCNIK, Alexandre Dr Chancellor's Fellow
ROWE, Alex Professor Cell biology of malaria infection and disease
SAVILL, Nicholas Dr Epidemiology and evolution of infectious diseases
SCHNAUFER, Achim Dr Mitochondrial biology of trypanosomatid parasites
SPENCE, Philip Dr Plasmodium virulence and immunity to malaria
SZOOR, Balazs Dr Phosphatases in parasite biology
TAYLOR, Matthew Dr Priming and maintenance of regulatory and effector T cell responses during chronic helminth infections
THOMPSON, Joanne Dr Molecular biology of malaria parasites
ZAISS, Dietmar Dr Function of the EGF-R signalling pathway in the immune system
ZAMOYSKA, Rose Professor Regulation of T cell differentiation, activation and homeostasis

Honorary and Visiting Staff

NamePositionEmail Address
Dr Hamza Babiker Honorary Fellow
Dr David Bartley Honorary Lecturer
Dr David Dresser Honorary Fellow
Dr Alasdair Nisbet Honorary Fellow

Research Staff

NameGroup / PositionEmail Address
Yvonne Adams Rowe Group (Visitor)
Simon Babayan CIIE (CIIE Junior Fellowship)
Tom Barr Gray
Natalie Blair Postgraduate Research
Jess Borger Research
Sheila Brown Gray
Rebecca Brownlie Zamoyska
Stefano Caserta Zamoyska
Dr Alessandro Ceroni Post
Margo Chase-Topping
Peter Cook MacDonald
Graeme Cowan Cavanagh
Paul Dickinson Buck Group (Project Manager)
Karen Fairlie-Clarke Graham
Celine Garcia Zamoyska Group (Research Assistant)
Ashfaq Ghumra Rowe
Matthew Gould Schnaufer Lab (Postdoctoral Research Associate)
Katie Hamilton Fevre
James Hewitson Maizels
Steve Jenkins Allen
Johanna Knipper Postdoctoral Research
Sarah Knowles
Gabbi Lindergard Thomson
Luke McNally Research
Seanna McTaggart Obbard Group (CIIE Junior Fellowship)
Janice Murray Maizels
Norman Nausch Mutapi
Dr Sema Nickbakhsh EpiGroup (Research Fellow)
Alex Phythian-Adams MacDonald Group (Research Fellow)
Dr Eva Rico Vidal Postdoctoral Research
Dr Federico Rojas Matthews
Dominik Ruckerl Allen
Stephanie Ryan Maizels Group (Research Assistant)
Jayanthi Santhanam
Marios Sardis Schnaufer Lab (Postdoctoral Research Associate )
Dr Claudia Schaffner Schnaufer Lab (Postdoctural Research Associate)
Katie Smith Maizels
Dr Danielle Smyth Postdoctoral Research
Karolina Subrtova Schnaufer Lab (Postdoctoral Research Associate)
Tara Sutherland Allen
Dr Thomas Tan Post
Pegine Walrad Matthews
Dr Martin Waterfall Flow Cytometry
Kim Wilson Research

Technical Staff

NameGroup / PositionEmail Address
Sheelagh Duncan Allen Group
Alison Fulton Taylor Group
Katrina Gordon Buck Group (Research Technician)
Laurence Hall Schnaufer Lab
Yvonne Harcus Maizels Group
Marissa Lear Research Technician
Niolette McGill Research Technician
Dianne Murray Matthews Group
Juan Quintana Alcala Research Technician
Rinku Rajan MacDonald Group
Donald Smith Research Technician
Claire Sweenie Rowe Group
Julie Wilson Research Technician
David Wright
Xiaoyan Zou Research Technician

PhD Students

NameGroup / PositionEmail Address
Jennifer Agyekum Thomson Group (PhD Student)
Gloria Amegatcher PhD Student
Laura Appleby Mutapi Group (PhD Student)
Yvonne Azasi Rowe Group (PhD Student)
Cara Bray PhD Student
Melanie Buehlmann Matthews Group (PhD Student)
Gillian Coakley Buck Group (PhD Student)
Annie Cook Fevre Group (PhD Student)
Sinclair Cooper Savill Group (PhD Student)
Will De Glanville Fevre Group (PhD Student)
Caroline Dewar Schnaufer Lab (PhD Student)
Kelwalin Dhanasarnsombut Cavanagh Group (PhD Student)
Lian Doble Fevre Group (PhD Student)
Kara Filbey Maizels Group (PhD Student)
Anna Hoy Buck Group (PhD Student: Biomedical Sciences)
Denys Janes Savill Group (PhD Student)
Laura Jeacock Schnaufer Lab (PhD Student)
Chris Johnston Maizels Group (PhD Student)
Andrea Kemter Maizels Group (PhD Student)
Nouf Laqtom Buck Group (PhD Student: Biomedical Sciences)
Divya Malik Allen Group (PhD Student)
Angela Marley Maizels Group (PhD Student)
Lindsay Mcdonald Matthews Group (PhD Student)
Rachel Milne Matthews Group (PhD Student)
Janice Murray Maizels Group (PhD Student)
Laure Petit Fevre Group (PhD Student)
Pairoa Praihirunkit Thomson Group (PhD Student)
Eleanor Silvester Matthews Group (PhD Student)
Kaija Stockner Zamoyska Group (PhD Student)
Olivia Swann Rowe Group (PhD Student)
Marta Trub Gray Group (PhD Student)
Welcome Wami Mutapi Group (PhD Student)
Lauren Webb MacDonald Group (PhD Student)