Biological Sciences


List of all academic, research, technical and administrative staff.

For corrections, please contact the Institute Secretary below.

Institute of Stem Cell Research staff list

Head of Institute

NameEmail AddressTelephone
Professor Donal O'Carroll

Institute Secretary

NameEmail AddressTelephone
Sarah Neal

Building Manager

NameEmail AddressTelephone

Administrative Staff

NamePositionEmail AddressTelephone
Dr Jan Barfoot Public Engagement Group +44 (0) 131 651 9545
Kate Doherty Eurostemcell Communication & Website Development Mgr
Kelly Douglas Postgraduate Secretary +44 (0) 131 651 9515
Jayne Glendinning School Research Administrator +44 (0) 131 650 7274
Julie Gordon Administrative Assistant
Katia Hervy EU Project Assistant +44 (0) 131 651 9507
Emma Kemp EU Project Communications Manager +44 (0) 131 651 9509
Catherine Southworth Communications, Public Engagement & Outreach Manager +44 (0) 131 651 9508

Academic Staff and Principal Investigators

NameResearch InterestEmail Address
BLACKBURN, Clare Professor Developmental Immunology
BLIN, Guillaume Dr Sir Henry Wellcome Postdoctoral Fellow
BRICKMAN, Joshua Dr Embryonic Patterning
CHAMBERS, Ian Professor Embryonic Stem Cell Biology
KAJI, Keisuke Dr Biology of Reprogramming
KUNATH, Tilo Dr Early Embryonic Lineages
LOWELL, Sally Dr Cell Differentiation
MEDVINSKY, Alexander Professor Ontogeny of Haematopoietic Stem Cells
O'CARROLL, Donal Professor Chair of Stem Cell Biology
SMITH, Andrew Dr Genome Engineering
TOMLINSON, Simon Dr Stem Cell Bioinformatics
WILSON, Val Professor Early Embryo Development

Honorary and Visiting Staff

NamePositionEmail Address

Research Staff

NameGroup / PositionEmail Address
Valeria Berno Imaging Facility
Anahi Binagui-Casas Marie-Curie Early Stage
Maurice Canham Kunath Group (Postdoctoral Research Associate)
Fatima Cavaleri Kunath Group (Postdoctoral Research Associate)
Nicola Drummond Kunath
Niamh Fanning Medvinsky Group (MC Early Stage Researcher)
Nicola Festuccia Chambers Group (Research Assistant)
Javier Gonzalez Lendinez Early Stage Researcher
Sabrina Gordon-Keylock Medvinsky Group (Postdoctoral Research Associate)
Violetta Karwacki-Neisius Chambers Group (Postdoctoral Research Associate)
Joe Mee Transgenic Service
Tapan Mistri Research
Marcos Morgan Postdoctoral Research Associate
Nicholas Mullin Chambers Group (Postdoctoral Research Associate)
Kathy O'Neill Blackburn Group (Postdoctoral Research Associate)
Stanislav Rybtsov Medvinsky Group (Postdoctoral Research Associate)
Natalia Rybtsova Medvinsky Group (research Assistant)
Jordi Senserrich Velasco
Karamjit Singh-Dolt Research
Celine Souilhol Medvinsky Group (Postdoctoral Research Associate)
Marielle Van Deemter Postdoctoral Research
Filip Wymeersch Postdoctoral Research
Xinzhi Zhou Lowell

Technical Staff

NameGroup / PositionEmail Address
Douglas Colby Chambers Group (Cell Culture Technician)
Helen Henderson Tissue Culture Technician
Carylyn Marek-Johnston V. Wilson Group
Mark Marsden CRM Centre Technical Manager
Diana Peddie Blackburn Group (Research Technician)
Rosa Portero Migueles Brickman Group
Jonathan Rans Tissue Culture Manager
Lynsey Robertson Transgenic Service Technician
Fiona Rossi Head of Flow Cytometry
Frances Stenhouse Blackburn Group (Research Technician)
Marilyn Thomson Tissue Culture Technician
Bertrand Vernay Centre Imaging Facility Manager
Ronald Wilkie V. Wilson Group (Research Technician)

PhD Students

NameGroup / PositionEmail Address
Kathryn Anderson Brickman Group (PhD Student)
Antoniana Batsivari Medvinsky Group (PhD Student: Clinical Sciences)
Kateryna Bilotkach Medvinsky Group (PhD Student)
Sara Brightwell Kaji Group (PhD Student)
Hina Dalal Tomlinson Group (PhD Student)
Nicola Drummond Kunath Group (PhD Student)
Jenny Easterbrook Medvinsky Group (PhD Student)
Niamh Fanning Medvinsky Group (PhD Student)
Alessia Gagliardi Chambers Group (PhD Student)
Duncan Godwin Tomlinson Group (PhD Student)
Javier Gonzalez Lendinez Medvinsky Group (PhD Student: Clinical Sciences)
Eleni Karagianni V. Wilson Group (PhD Student)
Suresh Kaushik Smith Group (PhD Student)
Chia-Yi Lin Lowell Group (PhD Student)
Mattias Malaguti Lowell Group (PhD Student)
Alison McGarvey Tomlinson Group (PhD Student)
Aidan McGlinchey Tomlinson Group (PhD Student)
Emily McHale Kunath Group (PhD Student)
Sophie Morgani Brickman Group (PhD Student)
James O'Malley Kaji Group (PhD Student)
Daria Paruzina Medvinsky Group (PhD Student)
Amy Pegg Lowell Group (PhD Student)
Irene Perez Pi Kunath Group (PhD Student)
Tyson Ruetz Kaji Group (PhD Student)
Woranop Sukparangsi Brickman Group (PhD Student)
Luca Tosti Kaji Group (PhD Student: Clinical Sciences)
Harsh Vaidya Blackburn Group (PhD Student)
Frederick Wong Lowell Group (Research Assistant)
Ratsuda Yapom Kunath Group (PhD Student: Clinical Sciences)
Jingchao Zhang Chambers Group (PhD Student)
Yiding Zhao Medvinsky Group (PhD Student)