Biological Sciences

People

List of all academic, research, technical and administrative staff.

For corrections, please contact the Institute Secretary below.

Institute of Stem Cell Research staff list

  • R = Edinburgh Research Explorer profile
  • V = Research in a Nutshell video

Head of Institute

NameEmail AddressTelephone
O'CARROLL, Donal Prof donal.ocarroll@ed.ac.uk +44 (0) 131 651 9631

Institute Secretary

NameEmail AddressTelephone
NEAL, Sarah S.J.Neal@ed.ac.uk +44 (0) 131 651 9514

Building Manager

NameEmail AddressTelephone

Administrative Staff

NamePositionEmail AddressTelephone
BARFOOT, Jan Dr Communications, Public Engagement & Outreach Manager J.Barfoot@ed.ac.uk +44 (0) 131 651 9545
FRASER, Grant Stores Support +44 (0) 131
GORDON, Julie Administrative Assistant Julie.Gordon@ed.ac.uk +44 (0) 131 651 9518
HERVY, Katia ES Communications Database Developer katia.hervy@ed.ac.uk +44 (0) 131 651 9507
NEAL, Sarah PA to the Associate Director S.J.Neal@ed.ac.uk +44 (0) 131 651 9514
O'CONNOR, Vaila Finance Administrator vaila.o'connor@ed.ac.uk +44 (0) 131 651 9517
SOUTHWORTH, Cathy Dr Communications, Public Engagement & Outreach Manager Cathy.Southworth@ed.ac.uk +44 (0) 131 651 9508

Academic Staff and Principal Investigators

NameResearch InterestEmail
BLACKBURN, Clare Prof Thymus generation and regeneration C.Blackburn@ed.ac.uk
CHAMBERS, Ian Prof Embryonic Stem Cell Biology I.Chambers@ed.ac.uk
KUNATH, Tilo Dr Mechanisms of neurodegeneration Tilo.Kunath@ed.ac.uk V
LOWELL, Sally Dr Embryonic stem cell differentiation sally.lowell@ed.ac.uk
MEDVINSKY, Alexander Prof Ontogeny of Haematopoietic Stem Cells A.Medvinsky@ed.ac.uk
O'CARROLL, Donal Prof RNA function in germ and stem cell biology donal.ocarroll@ed.ac.uk
SMITH, Andrew Dr Stem cell genome engineering Andrew.Smith@ed.ac.uk
SOUFI, Abdenour Dr Chromatin structure and cellular identity Abdenour.Soufi@ed.ac.uk
TOMLINSON, Simon Dr Stem Cell Bioinformatics simon.tomlinson@ed.ac.uk
WILSON, Val Prof Early Embryo Development V.Wilson@ed.ac.uk

Honorary and Visiting Staff

NamePositionEmail Address

Research Staff

NameGroup / PositionEmail
BARAKAT, Tashin Stefan Dr Chambers Group / Marie Curie Experienced Researcher Stefan.Barakat@ed.ac.uk
BRIONES, Alberto Dr Blackburn Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate Alberto.Briones@ed.ac.uk
CARRIERI, Claudia O'Carroll Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate ccarrier@exseed.ed.ac.uk
DRUMMOND, Nicola Kunath Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate Nicola.Drummond@ed.ac.uk
HENDERSON, Timothy Blackburn Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate Timothy.Henderson@ed.ac.uk
KARAGIANNI, Eleni Dr V. Wilson Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate ekaragia@exseed.ed.ac.uk
LIGGAT, Kirsten Chambers Group / Research Assistant kliggat@exseed.ed.ac.uk
MALAGUTI, Mattias Lowell Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate Mattias.Malaguti@ed.ac.uk
MARQUES DE LIMA, Maria Dr Soufi Group / DWRF Fellow mmarque3@exseed.ed.ac.uk
MCGARVEY, Alison Chambers Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate amcgarv2@exseed.ed.ac.uk
MORGAN, Marcos Dr O'Carroll Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate mmorgan2@exseed.ed.ac.uk
MUCH, Christian Dr O'Carroll Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate cmuch@exseed.ed.ac.uk
MULLIN, Nick Dr Chambers Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate Nick.Mullin@ed.ac.uk
OZKAN, Burak Dr Soufi Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate bozkan@exseed.ed.ac.uk
ROBERTS, Gareth Dr Soufi Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate gareth.roberts@ed.ac.uk
ROSSI, Fiona / Head of Flow Cytometry Fiona.Rossi@ed.ac.uk
RYBTSOV, Stanislav Dr Medvinsky Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate S.Rybtsov@ed.ac.uk
SEVERI, Francesco Dr O'Carroll Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate Francesco.Severi@ed.ac.uk
SINGH DOLT, Karamjit Dr Kunath Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate Karamjit.Singh-Dolt@ed.ac.uk
VASILIAUSKAITE, Lina Dr O'Carroll Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate lvasilia@exseed.ed.ac.uk
VENTURA DE OLIVEIRA MOREIRA, Pedro Dr O'Carroll Group / Senior Lab/Research Manager pmoreira@exseed.ed.ac.uk
VERNAY, Bertrand Dr / Centre Imaging Facility Manager Bertrand.Vernay@ed.ac.uk
WYMEERSCH, Filip Dr V. Wilson Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate Filip.Wymeersch@ed.ac.uk
ZHANG, Man Dr Chambers Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate mzhang33@exseed.ed.ac.uk
ZHANG, Jingchao Dr Chambers Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate Jingchao.Zhang@ed.ac.uk
ZOCH, Ansgar Dr O'Carroll Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate azoch@exseed.ed.ac.uk

Technical Research Staff

NameGroup / PositionEmail
COLBY, Dougie Chambers Group / Cell Culture Technician Dougie.Colby@ed.ac.uk
CRYER, Claire Dr / Flow Cytometry Operator Claire.Cryer@ed.ac.uk
GORDON-KEYLOCK, Sabrina Dr Medvinsky Group / Training Manager s.gordon-keylock@ed.ac.uk
HALL-PONSELE, Elisa Soufi Group / Research Technician elisa.hallponsele@ed.ac.uk
HENDERSON, Helen / Tissue Culture Technician Helen.Henderson@ed.ac.uk
MIGUELES, Rosa Lowell Group / Research Technician mmiguele@staffmail.ed.ac.uk
PEDDIE, Diana Blackburn Group / Research Technician Diana.Peddie@ed.ac.uk
STENHOUSE, Frances Blackburn Group / Research Technician Frances.Stenhouse@ed.ac.uk
THOMSON, Marilyn / Tissue Culture Technician marilyn.thomson@ed.ac.uk
WILKIE, Ron V. Wilson Group / Research Technician Ron.Wilkie@ed.ac.uk

PhD Students

NameGroup / PositionEmail Address
ANNA KAROLINA, Punovuori Lowell Group / PhD Student A.K.Punovuori@sms.ed.ac.uk
BILOTKACH, Kateryna Medvinsky Group / PhD Student s1165047@sms.ed.ac.uk
BINAGUI-CASAS, Anahi Medvinsky Group / PhD Student A.Binagui-Casas@ed.ac.uk
CODINO, Azzurra O'Carroll Group / PhD Student s1532530@sms.ed.ac.uk
CROSSE, Edie Medvinsky Group / PhD Student s1532897@sms.ed.ac.uk
EASTERBROOK, Jenny Medvinsky Group / PhD Student s0092601@sms.ed.ac.uk
GONZALEZ LENDINEZ, Javier Medvinsky Group / PhD Student s1125538@sms.ed.ac.uk
KARAGIANNI, Eleni V. Wilson Group / PhD Student s1143994@sms.ed.ac.uk
KOUSA, Anastacia Tomlinson Group / PhD Student s1148079@sms.ed.ac.uk
LIU, Dong (Frank) Blackburn Group / PhD Student s0905405@sms.ed.ac.uk
MCCARTEN, Katrina O'Carroll Group / PhD Student s1531952@sms.ed.ac.uk
MCGARVEY, Alison Tomlinson Group / PhD Student s1239001@sms.ed.ac.uk
MCWHINNIE, Fergus Kunath Group / PhD Student s0814253@sms.ed.ac.uk
MORLEY, Victoria Kunath Group / PhD Student s0346782@sms.ed.ac.uk
PANTIER, Raphael Chambers Group / PhD Student r.pantier@ed.ac.uk
PEGG, Amy Lowell Group / PhD Student s1164135@sms.ed.ac.uk
PEREZ PI, Irene Kunath Group / PhD Student s1270721@sms.ed.ac.uk
ROUSE , Paul Blackburn Group / PhD Student s1532522@sms.ed.ac.uk
SAINI, Hina Tomlinson Group / PhD Student s0967458@sms.ed.ac.uk
TAMAGNO, Sara Medvinsky Group / PhD Student Sara.Tamagno@ed.ac.uk
TATAR, Tulin Chambers Group / PhD Student T.Tatar@ed.ac.uk
WATSON , Julia V. Wilson Group / PhD Student julia.watson@ed.ac.uk