Immunology and Infection

Staff profiles

List of all academic, research, technical and administrative staff.

For corrections, please contact the Institute Secretary below.

Institute of Immunology and Infection Research staff list

  • R = Edinburgh Research Explorer profile
  • V = Research in a Nutshell video

Head of Institute

NameEmail AddressTelephone
MATTHEWS, Keith Prof iiirhead@ed.ac.uk +44 (0) 131 651 3639

Institute Secretary

NameEmail AddressTelephone
SHIELDS, Roz r.shields@ed.ac.uk +44 (0) 131 650 5464

Building Manager

NameEmail AddressTelephone
BROWN, David Dr David.Brown@ed.ac.uk +44 (0) 131 650 5453

Administrative Staff

NamePositionEmail AddressTelephone
HURST, Jennifer Administrative Assistant jennifer.hurst@ed.ac.uk +44 (0) 131 651 3688
KOKOWSKA, Kasia Centre Manager - CIIE Kasia.Kokowska@ed.ac.uk +44 (0) 131 650 3683
SNAITH, Hilary Dr Executive Manager, EID Hilary.Snaith@ed.ac.uk +44 (0) 131 651 3688

Academic Staff and Principal Investigators

NameResearch InterestEmail
ALLEN, Judi Prof Immune modulation & effector mechanisms induced by helminths J.Allen@ed.ac.uk V
ARNOT, David Prof Malaria molecular biology, epidemiology and vaccines D.E.Arnot@ed.ac.uk R
BUCK, Amy Dr Micro-RNA function in the host-pathogen context a.buck@ed.ac.uk R V
CAVANAGH, David Dr Human immune response to antigens from the erythrocytic stage of Plasmodium falciparum, with the aim of developing effective vaccines targeting these parasite proteins David.Cavanagh@ed.ac.uk R
GRAY, David Prof Immunological memory and T-B cell interactions D.Gray@ed.ac.uk R V
IVENS, Aladair Dr Bioinformatics for genome analysis Al.Ivens@ed.ac.uk R
MACIAS RIBELA, Sara Dr Sara.Maciasribela@ed.ac.uk R
MAIZELS, Rick Prof Immune modulating molecules of helminths Rick.Maizels@ed.ac.uk R
MATTHEWS, Keith Prof Cell biology of African trypanosomes keith.matthews@ed.ac.uk R V
MUTAPI, Francisca Dr Immunoepidemiology of human schistosomiasis F.Mutapi@ed.ac.uk V
POTOCNIK, Alexandre Dr Alexandre.Potocnik@ed.ac.uk R
ROWE, Alex Prof Cell biology of malaria infection and disease Alex.Rowe@ed.ac.uk R V
SAVILL, Nick Dr Epidemiology and evolution of infectious diseases nick.savill@ed.ac.uk R
SCHNAUFER, Achim Dr Mitochondrial biology of trypanosomatid parasites Achim.Schnaufer@ed.ac.uk
SPENCE, Phil Dr Plasmodium virulence and immunity to malaria Philip.Spence@ed.ac.uk R
SZOOR, Balazs Dr Phosphatases in parasite biology Balazs.Szoor@ed.ac.uk R
TAYLOR, Matthew Dr Priming and maintenance of regulatory and effector T cell responses during chronic helminth infections Matthew.Taylor@ed.ac.uk R V
THOMPSON, Joanne Dr Molecular biology of malaria parasites Joanne.Thompson@ed.ac.uk
ZAISS, Dietmar Dr Function of the EGF-R signalling pathway in the immune system Dietmar.Zaiss@ed.ac.uk R V
ZAMOYSKA, Rose Prof Regulation of T cell differentiation, activation and homeostasis Rose.Zamoyska@ed.ac.uk V

Honorary and Visiting Staff

NamePositionEmail Address
ALLEN, Judith Professor Honorary Professor J.Allen@ed.ac.uk
BABIKER, Hamza Dr Honorary Fellow H.Babiker@ed.ac.uk
BARTLEY, David Dr Honorary Lecturer -
CARTER, Richard Professor Senior Honorary Professorial Fellow R.Carter@ed.ac.uk
DRESSER, David Dr Honorary Fellow david.dresser@btinternet.com
MAIZELS, Rick Professor Honorary Professor Rick.Maizels@ed.ac.uk
NISBET, Alasdair Dr Honorary Fellow -

Research Staff

NameGroup / PositionEmail
BLAIR, Natalie Zaiss Group / Research Assistant Natalie.Blair@ed.ac.uk R
CHHATBAR, Kashyap Buck Group / Bioinformatician kashyap.c@ed.ac.uk
CHOW, Franklin Wang-ngai Dr Buck Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate f.chow@ed.ac.uk
COWAN, Graeme Dr Gray Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate Graeme.Cowan@ed.ac.uk R
DEWAR, Caroline Schnaufer Lab / Postdoctoral Research Associate
DICKINSON, Paul Dr Buck Group / Project Manager Paul.Dickinson@ed.ac.uk
GARCIA, Celine Zamoyska Group / Research Assistant cgarcia@exseed.ed.ac.uk R
HAUPT, Sonja Zamoyska Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate Sonja.Haupt@ed.ac.uk
KNIPPER, Johanna Dr Taylor Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate johanna.knipper@ed.ac.uk
LEE, Kim Cavanagh Group / Research Assistant Kim.Wilson@ed.ac.uk
LOPEZ VIDAL, Javier Matthews Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate Javier.LopezVidal@ed.ac.uk
MCCASKILL, Jana Dr Buck Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate Jana.McCaskill@ed.ac.uk
MCNALLY, Luke Matthews Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate Luke.McNally@ed.ac.uk
MINUTTI, Carlos Munoz Zaiss Group / PDRA Carlos.Minutti@ed.ac.uk
MISKINYTE REIS, Migla Dr Schnaufer Lab / Postdoctoral Research Associate Migla.Miskinyte@ed.ac.uk
MURRAY, Janice Dr Mutapi Group / Research Assistant J.Murray@ed.ac.uk R
NAHRENDORF, Wiebke Dr Spence Group / Post Doctoral Researcher Wiebke.Nahrendorf@ed.ac.uk
RAVASZ, Mate Dr Zamoyska Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate mate.ravasz@ed.ac.uk
ROJAS, Federico Dr Matthews Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate Federico.Rojas@ed.ac.uk R
SARDIS, Marios Dr Schnaufer Lab / Postdoctoral Research Associate Marios.Sardis@ed.ac.uk
SILVESTER, Eleanor Matthews Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate Eleanor.Silvester@ed.ac.uk
SINTON, Matthew Zaiss Group / Research Assistant Matthew.Sinton@ed.ac.uk
SUBRTOVA, Karolina Dr Schnaufer Lab / Postdoctoral Research Associate Karolina.Subrtova@ed.ac.uk
TAN, Thomas Dr Zamoyska Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate Thomas.Tan@ed.ac.uk
TRUB, Marta Dr Zamoyska Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate Marta.Trub@ed.ac.uk
VIDAL, Eva Dr Matthews Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate eva.rico@ed.ac.uk R
WATERFALL, Martin Dr Matthews Group / Head of Flow Cytometry Martin.Waterfall@ed.ac.uk R
WITTEVELDT, Jeroen Dr Macias-Ribela Lab / Postdoctoral Research Associate Jeroen.Witteveldt@ed.ac.uk R

Technical Research Staff

NameGroup / PositionEmail
FULTON, Alison Taylor Group / Research Technician a.fulton@ed.ac.uk
GAWRON, Katarzyna / Research Technician Katarzyna.Gawron@ed.ac.uk
GORDON, Katrina Dr Buck Group / Research Technician K.Gordon@ed.ac.uk R
LEAR, Marissa Buck Group / Research Technician mlear@exseed.ed.ac.uk
LOGAN, Nicola Zaiss Group / Research Technician nicola.logan@ed.ac.uk
MOONEY, Ronnie Matthews Group / Research Technician Ronnie.Mooney@ed.ac.uk
MURRAY, Dianne Dr Matthews Group / Manager for Multiuser Microscopy Unit dianne.murray@ed.ac.uk
ROBERTSON, Elaine Buck Group / Research Technician Elaine.Robertson@ed.ac.uk
SMITH, Donald Dr Matthews Group / Research Technician D.B.Smith@ed.ac.uk
WALLIS, Julie Dr Schnaufer Lab / Research Technician Julie.Wallis@ed.ac.uk
WILSON, Julie Matthews Group / Research Technician Julie.Wilson@ed.ac.uk
WRIGHT, David Zamoyska Group / Research Technician David.Wright@ed.ac.uk
ZOU, Xiaoyan Zamoyska Group / Research Technician

PhD Students

NameGroup / PositionEmail Address
AMEGATCHER, Gloria PhD Student g.amegatcher@ed.ac.uk
AZASI, Yvonne Rowe Group / PhD Student s1164877@sms.ed.ac.uk
BRAY, Cara PhD Student C.Bray-2@sms.ed.ac.uk
CAMPBELL, Sharon PhD Student S.M.Campbell-10@sms.ed.ac.uk
COAKLEY, Gillian Buck Group / PhD Student s1260472@sms.ed.ac.uk
COOPER, Sinclair Savill Group / PhD Student s1269293@sms.ed.ac.uk
EYOH, Enwono PhD Student E.Eyoh@sms.ed.ac.uk
JANES, Denys Savill Group / PhD Student s0792549@sms.ed.ac.uk
MCCRAE, Jame PhD Student J.C.McCrae@sms.ed.ac.uk
MCWILLIAM, Kirsty PhD Student K.R.McWilliam@sms.ed.ac.uk
MILNE, Kathryn PhD Student K.H.Milne@sms.ed.ac.uk
NWOKE, Eze PhD Student E.C.Nwoke@sms.ed.ac.uk
SILVESTER, Eleanor Matthews Group / PhD Student s1164644@sms.ed.ac.uk
SWANN, Olivia Rowe Group / PhD Student s0198216@sms.ed.ac.uk
TOIVAKKA, Matilda PhD Student M.Toivakka@sms.ed.ac.uk
WATSON, Samir PhD Student S.F.Watson@sms.ed.ac.uk
WU, Xuhang PhD Student X.Wu-29@sms.ed.ac.uk