Evolutionary Biology

IEB seminars

IEB Wednesday seminar series

Organiser: Darren Obbard (Darren.Obbard@ed.ac.uk)

The Wednesday series is usually for invited external speakers and occurs throughout the autumn and spring semesters at 2pm in LT3, Ashworth Labs (KB campus). Members of IEB invite speakers and direct them to this page so that they can choose suitable dates. Each host co-ordinates their speaker's visit, which involves setting up their presentation, introducing the talk, chairing questions, and arranging dinner afterwards. Rosalind Shields (r.shields@ed.ac.uk) in the office will make any B&B arrangements required and takes care of posters and email adverts.

Date Event

Fri, 19th May

4:00pm

Ashworth Labs

LT3

Greg Albery (IEB), Amy Sweeny (IEB) and Jonathon Silva-Jothy (IEB)

Happy Hour Seminar: "Wet n’ Wild Immunology: Deer, Mice and Flies"

Host : Craig Walling

Wed, 24th May

[Still Available]

Wed, 31st May

2:00am

Ashworth

LT3

Andy Foote (Bangor)

IEB Seminar: The Genomic History of Killer Whale Ecotypes

Host : Paul Sharp

Tue, 6th Jun

11:00pm

Ashworth

Ashworth LT3

Martina Doblin (Sydney)

IEB Extra Seminar: TBC

Host : Sinead Collins

Wed, 7th Jun

2:00pm

Ashworth

Ashworth LT3

Patricia Lopes (Zurich)

IEB Seminars: Host behaviour and disease spread in wild mice networks

Host : Pedro Vale

Wed, 14th Jun

2:00pm

Ashworth

LT3

Ellen Leffler (Oxford)

IEB Seminar: TBC

Host : Deborah Charlesworth

Wed, 20th Sep

[Still Available]

Wed, 27th Sep

[Still Available]

Wed, 4th Oct

[Still Available]

Wed, 11th Oct

[Still Available]

Wed, 18th Oct

[Still Available]

Wed, 25th Oct

[Still Available]

Wed, 1st Nov

[Still Available]

Wed, 8th Nov

[Still Available]

Wed, 15th Nov

[Still Available]

Wed, 22nd Nov

[Still Available]

Wed, 29th Nov

6:50pm

Ashworth

LT3

John McCutcheon (Montana)

IEB Seminars TBC

Host : Laura Ross

Wed, 6th Dec

2:00pm

Ashworth

LT3

(Probably Grad Student Invite)

IEB Seminars TBC

Host :

Wed, 13th Dec

[Still Available]

Happy Hour Seminar series (Spring Semester only)

Organiser: Craig Walling (craig.walling@ed.ac.uk)

This series runs in the Spring semester and is aimed at providing all members of IEB with the opportunity to talk to a more general audience than available at lab meetings and journal clubs. Happy Hour talks start at 4.00pm in LT3, Ashworth Labs (KB campus). Please volunteer to talk - there will be 1 or 2 talks per slot and we are especially keen encourage PhD students and Postdocs. When the Wednesday series is full, the Happy Hour series can also accommodate visitors that are on sabbaticals etc. to help integrate them into IEB.

rss_icon_med_40px.gif RSS Feeds from Biology

Events and seminars are available via an RSS feed. Please click the link below to subscribe.