Cell Biology

Staff profiles

List of all academic, research, technical and administrative staff.

For corrections, please contact the Institute Secretary below.

Institute of Cell Biology staff list

  • R = Edinburgh Research Explorer profile
  • V = Research in a Nutshell video

Head of Institute

NameEmail AddressTelephone
HARDWICK, Kevin Prof Kevin.Hardwick@ed.ac.uk +44 (0) 131 650 7091

Institute Secretary

NameEmail AddressTelephone
BISHOP, Louise Louise.bishop@ed.ac.uk +44 (0) 131 650 5366

Building Manager

NameEmail AddressTelephone
MCMILLAN, George George.McMillan@ed.ac.uk +44 (0) 131 650 5438

Administrative Staff

NamePositionEmail AddressTelephone
FANOURGIAKI, Maria Science Communicator Maria.Fanourgiaki@ed.ac.uk +44 (0) 131 651 7521
FLEMING, Carolyn Centre Administrative Assistant Carolyn.Fleming@ed.ac.uk +44 (0) 131 650 7071
JELLEMA, Claire Midlothian Science Festival Manager/Administrator cjellema@exseed.ed.ac.uk +44 (0) 131
KEER-KEER, Sarah WTCCB Public Engagement Manager skkeer@staffmail.ed.ac.uk +44 (0) 131 650 5384
PATERSON, Janet Dr SIBE Deputy Director Janet.Paterson@ed.ac.uk +44 (0) 131 650 7123
STRUTHERS, Christine PA to Prof. Adrian Bird Christine.Struthers@ed.ac.uk +44 (0) 131 650 5668
TRAILL, Karen Dr Centre Manager for WTCCB Karen.Traill@ed.ac.uk +44 (0) 131 650 5933

Academic Staff and Principal Investigators

NameResearch InterestEmail
ALLSHIRE, Robin Prof Chromosome segregation: centromeric chromatin and kinetochore assembly Robin.Allshire@ed.ac.uk V
ARULANANDAM, Arockia J. Dr Structural Biology of Cell Division Jeyaprakash.Arulanandam@ed.ac.uk
BAYNE, Elizabeth Dr Non-coding RNAs and chromatin modification in genome regulation elizabeth.bayne@ed.ac.uk
BEGGS, Jean Prof mRNA splicing and links to transcription J.Beggs@ed.ac.uk
BIRD, Adrian Prof Reading the DNA methylation signal A.Bird@ed.ac.uk V
BUONOMO, Sara Dr Sara.Buonomo@ed.ac.uk
CACHAT, Elise Dr Mammalian synthetic biology, synthetic morphology & patterning Elise.Cachat@ed.ac.uk
CAI, Patrick Dr synthetic genomics; design automation; Yizhi.Cai@ed.ac.uk
EARNSHAW, Bill Prof Mitotic chromosome transactions Bill.Earnshaw@ed.ac.uk V
EL KAROUI, Meriem Dr DNA repair in bacteria at the single cell level Meriem.Elkaroui@ed.ac.uk
FINNEGAN, David Prof Transposable elements David.Finnegan@ed.ac.uk V
GORYACHEV, Andrew Prof Spatial aspects of cell signalling Andrew.Goryachev@ed.ac.uk
HARDWICK, Kevin Prof Mitosis and the spindle checkpoint Kevin.Hardwick@ed.ac.uk V
HEUN, Patrick Dr Patrick.Heun@ed.ac.uk
INTERTHAL, Heidrun Dr Repair of covalent protein-DNA complexes heidrun.interthal@ed.ac.uk
LEACH, David Prof Replication, Recombination and Genome Stability D.Leach@ed.ac.uk V
MAKOVETS, Svetlana Dr Telomere biology Sveta.Makovets@ed.ac.uk
MARSTON, Adele Prof Mechanisms of chromosome segregation adele.marston@ed.ac.uk V
MCQUEEN, Heather Dr Dosage compensation, epigenetics and sex determination H.McQueen@ed.ac.uk
MICHLEWSKI, Gracjan Dr Regulation of microRNA biogenesis Gracjan.Michlewski@ed.ac.uk
OHKURA, Hiroyuki Prof Chromosome segregation H.Ohkura@ed.ac.uk V
PILIZOTA, Teuta Dr Biophysics, bacterial stress response and measurements of single cell physiological changes Teuta.Pilizota@ed.ac.uk
RAPPSILBER, Juri Prof Protein organisation and composition of chromatin in normal and breast cancer cells juri.rappsilber@ed.ac.uk V
SAWIN, Ken Prof Microtubule organisation and cell polarity Ken.Sawin@ed.ac.uk
SCHIRMER, Eric Dr Influence of the nuclear envelope on cell differentiation and genome architecture E.Schirmer@ed.ac.uk V
STANCHEVA, Irina Dr Epigenetic gene silencing in normal cells and cancer I.Stancheva@ed.ac.uk V
TELFER, Evelyn Prof Ovarian development Evelyn.Telfer@ed.ac.uk
TOLLERVEY, David Prof RNA processing and degradation D.Tollervey@ed.ac.uk V
VOIGT, Philipp Dr Philipp.Voigt@ed.ac.uk
WELBURN, Julie Dr Regulation of microtubules in mitosis Julie.Welburn@ed.ac.uk V

Honorary and Visiting Staff

NamePositionEmail Address
BISHOP, John Professor Emeritus Professor Scotlbisjo@aol.com
BOWNES, Mary Professor Emerita Professor of Developmental Biology. Vice Principal - Community Engagement (part time) Mary.Bownes@ed.ac.uk
DONACHIE, W D Professor Professor Emeritus
HARRINGTON, Lea Professor Visiting Professor l.harrington@ed.ac.uk
KILBEY, Brian J Professor Professor Emeritus
MARCH, John Dr Honorary Fellow John.March@bigdna.co.uk
SAUNDERS, D S Professor Professor Emeritus
SUTHERLAND, Ian W Professor Professor Emeritus
TYERS, Michael Professor Visiting Professor m.tyers@ed.ac.uk
WARD, Bruce Dr Honorary Fellow Bruce.Ward@ed.ac.uk

Research Staff

NameGroup / PositionEmail
ABRAMCZYK, Dariusz Dr Cai Lab / Postdoctoral Research Associate dabramcz@exseed.ed.ac.uk
ALEXANDER-HOWDEN, Beatrice Bird Group / Research Assistant Beatrice.Alexander-Howden@ed.ac.uk
ANDRADE-ZAPATA, Irene Dr Heun Lab / Postdoctoral Research Associate Irene.Andrade@ed.ac.uk
ASHRAF, Sanju Dr Sawin Group / Research Assistant sashraf2@exseed.ed.ac.uk
AUCHYNNIKAVA, Tatsiana Allshire Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate t.auchynnikava@sms.ed.ac.uk
AZEROGLU, Benura Dr Leach Group / Postdoctoral research associate B.Azeroglu@ed.ac.uk
BAO, Xun Dr Sawin Group / Research Assistant xbao@exseed.ed.ac.uk
BARRASS, David Beggs Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate David.Barrass@ed.ac.uk
BASTOS, Ricardo Dr Ohkura Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate rbastos@exseed.ed.ac.uk
BELSOM, Adam Rappsilber Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate Adam.Belsom@ed.ac.uk
BLYTH, Julie Marston Group / Research Assistant Julie.Blyth@ed.ac.uk
BOBKOV, Georg Dr Heun Lab / Postdoctoral Research Associate G.Bobkov@ed.ac.uk
BOREK, Weronika Marston Group / Research Assistant Weronika.Borek@ed.ac.uk
BRESSON, Stefan Tollervey Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate Stefan.Bresson@ed.ac.uk
CARLONI, Roberta Dr Allshire Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate Roberta.Carloni@ed.ac.uk
CHOLEWA-WACLAW, Justyna Dr Bird Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate J.Cholewa@ed.ac.uk
CLARKSON, Yvonne Telfer Group / Research Associate Y.L.Clarkson@ed.ac.uk
COMBE, Colin Dr Rappsilber Group / Web-based Data Visualisation Specialist Colin.Combe@ed.ac.uk
CONNELLY, John Dr Bird Group / Research Assistant John.Connelly@ed.ac.uk
CULLEN, Fiona Ohkura Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate F.Cullen@ed.ac.uk
CZAPIEWSKI, Rafal Dr Schirmer Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate Rafal.Czapiewski@ed.ac.uk
DARMON, Elise Dr Leach Group / Snr Postdoc / Lab Manager Elise.Darmon@ed.ac.uk
DAU, Therese Dr Rappsilber Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate Therese.Dau@ed.ac.uk
DE LAS HERAS, Jose Dr Schirmer Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate J.delasHeras@ed.ac.uk
DE LUCAS ARIAS, Susana Dr Beggs Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate S.Delucas@ed.ac.uk
DE SOUSA, Dina Bird Group / Research Assistant d.desousa@ed.ac.uk
DELAN-FORINO, Clementine Dr Tollervey Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate Clementine.Delan-Forino@ed.ac.uk
DUDNAKOVA, Tatiana Dr Tollervey Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate Tanya.Dudnakova@ed.ac.uk
DUNN-DAVIES, Hywel Dr Tollervey Group / Bioinformatician Hywel.Dunn-Davies@ed.ac.uk
EL-HAGE, Aziz Dr Tollervey Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate Aziz.Elhage@ed.ac.uk
ENERVALD, Elin Dr Buonomo Group / Marie Curie Experienced Researcher Elin.Enervald@ed.ac.uk
FARCAS, Anca Dr Heun Lab / Postdoctoral Research Associate Anca.Farcas@ed.ac.uk
FERNANDEZ, Maria Dr Arulanandam Group / Research Assistant Mariaalba.Abad@ed.ac.uk
FISCHER, Lutz Rappsilber Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate l.fischer@ed.ac.uk
GALANDER, Stefan Dr Marston Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate sgaland2@exseed.ed.ac.uk
GARCIA-RUIZ, Eva Dr Cai Lab / Technologist egarcia2@exseed.ed.ac.uk
GLUSZEK-KUSTUSZ, Agata Welburn Group / Research Assistant agluszek@exseed.ed.ac.uk
GRAHAM, Martin Dr Rappsilber Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate Martin.Graham@ed.ac.uk
GUY, Jacqueline Dr Bird Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate J.Guy@ed.ac.uk
HARTSWOOD, Eve Beggs Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate Eve.Hartswood@ed.ac.uk
HASAN, Mahedi Dr Leach Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate A.M.M.Hasan@ed.ac.uk
HELWAK, Aleksandra Dr Tollervey Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate ahelwak@staffmail.ed.ac.uk
KELLY, David Dr Tollervey Group / COIL Manager Dkelly2@staffmail.ed.ac.uk
KERR, Alastair Dr Tollervey Group / Bioinformatician Alastair.Kerr@ed.ac.uk
KOERNER, Martha Dr Bird Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate M.Koerner@ed.ac.uk
KULASEGARAN SHYLINI, Raghavendran Dr Allshire Group / Research Associate Raghav.Kulasegaran@ed.ac.uk
KUSTATSCHER, Georg Dr Rappsilber Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate georg.kustatscher@ed.ac.uk
LEDA, Marcin Dr Goryachev Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate mleda@staffmail.ed.ac.uk
LEONG, Su Dr Sawin Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate Suling.Leong@ed.ac.uk
LEPORE, Alessia Dr El Karoui Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate Alessia.Lepore@ed.ac.uk
LUO, Yisha / Programmer Isaac.Luo@ed.ac.uk
LYST, Matthew Bird Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate mlyst@staffmail.ed.ac.uk
MAKRANTONI, Vaso Dr Marston Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate Vasso.Makrantoni@ed.ac.uk
MANN, Stefan Dr Tollervey Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate Stefan.Mann@ed.ac.uk
MARESCOTTI, Manuela Dr Heun Lab / Postdoctoral Research Associate M.Marescotti@ed.ac.uk
MARTELLA, Andrea Dr Cai Lab / Postdoctoral Research Associate Andrea.Martella@ed.ac.uk
MAY, Karen Dr Hardwick Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate karen.may@ed.ac.uk
MCHUGH, Toni Dr Welburn Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate Toni.McHugh@ed.ac.uk
MCLAUGHLIN, Marie Telfer Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate M.McLaughlin@ed.ac.uk
MCVEY, Alexander Pilizota Lab / Postdoctoral Research Associate A.F.McVey@ed.ac.uk
MEDINA, Bethan Dr Arulanandam Group / Research Assistant Bethan.Medina@ed.ac.uk
O'BRIEN, Kathryn Ohkura Group / Research Assistant Kathryn.O'Brien@ed.ac.uk
PESENTI, Elisa Dr Earnshaw Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate epesenti@exseed.ed.ac.uk
PETFALSKI, Elisabeth Tollervey Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate E.Petfalski@ed.ac.uk
PIDOUX, Alison Dr Allshire Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate Alison.Pidoux@ed.ac.uk
PLATANI, Melpi Dr Earnshaw Group / Senior Researcher / Lab Manager m.platani@ed.ac.uk
REMNANT, Lucy Earnshaw Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate Lucy.Remnant@ed.ac.uk
ROBERTSON, Daniel / Bionformatics Support Officer Daniel.Robertson@ed.ac.uk
ROME, Pierre Dr Ohkura Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate Pierre.Rome@ed.ac.uk
ROURE, Virginie Dr Heun Lab / Postdoctoral Research Associate Virginie.Roure@ed.ac.uk
ROY CHOUDHURY, Nila Michlewski Group / Research Assstant Nila.RoyChoudhury@ed.ac.uk
SANI, Emanuela Beggs Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate Ema.Sani@ed.ac.uk
SCHINDLER, Daniel Dr Cai Lab / Postdoctoral Research Associate Daniel.Schindler@ed.ac.uk
SEHGAL, Anuj Stancheva Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate Anuj.Sehgal@ed.ac.uk
SHAH, Ruth Bird Group / Research Assistant rshah@exseed.ed.ac.uk
SHCHEPACHEV, Vadim Dr Tollervey Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate Vadim.Shchepachev@ed.ac.uk
SHUKLA, Manushubh Dr Allshire Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate Manu.Shukla@ed.ac.uk
SPANOS, Christos Dr Rappsilber Group / Proteomics Facility Manager Christos.Spanos@ed.ac.uk
STRACHAN, Joanna Dr Bayne Lab / Postdoctoral Research Associate Jo.Strachan@ed.ac.uk
SU, Xue (Bessie) Dr Marston Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate xue.su@ed.ac.uk
TAY, Ye Dee Dr Sawin Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate Yedee.Tay@ed.ac.uk
THAKUR, Harish Dr Sawin Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate hthakur@exseed.ed.ac.uk
TILLOTSON, Anne Rebekah Bird Group / Research Assistant atillots@exseed.ed.ac.uk
TOLLIS, Sylvain Dr Schirmer Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate Sylvian.Tollis@ed.ac.uk
TONG, Pin Dr Allshire Group / Bioinformatician ptong@exseed.ed.ac.uk
TUROWSKI, Tomasz Dr Tollervey Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate T.Turowski@ed.ac.uk
VAN NUES, Rob Dr Bayne Lab / Postdoctoral Research Associate Rob.Van-Nues@ed.ac.uk
VARGIU, Giulia Dr Earnshaw Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate Giulia.Vargiu@ed.ac.uk
WEBB, Kimberley Voigt Lab / Research Assistant Kim.Webb@ed.ac.uk
WEBB, Shaun / Bioinformatics Support Provider shaun.webb@ed.ac.uk
WHITE, Sharon Dr Allshire Group / Research Assistant Sharon.A.White@ed.ac.uk
ZOU, Juan Dr Rappsilber Group / Proteomics Data Analysis Manager j.zou@ed.ac.uk
ZULKOWER, Valentin Dr / Biological Software Engineer vzulkowe@exseed.ed.ac.uk

Technical Research Staff

NameGroup / PositionEmail
GREIG, Aileen Cai Lab / Research Technician Aileen.Greig@ed.ac.uk
LAZOU, Vasiliki Heun Lab / Research Technician V.Lazou@ed.ac.uk
LEGAL, Thibault Welburn Group / Research Technician thibault.legal@ed.ac.uk
MCLAREN, Lorna Dr El Karoui Group / Research Technician/Lab Manager Lorna.McLaren@ed.ac.uk
OKELY, Ewa Leach Group / Research Technician Ewa.Okely@ed.ac.uk
PEAT, Emma Ohkura Group / Research Technician Emma.Peat@ed.ac.uk
REED, Laura / Glass Technician / Artist lreed@exseed.ed.ac.uk
SHAH, Ruth Bird Group / Research Assistant rshah@exseed.ed.ac.uk

PhD Students

NameGroup / PositionEmail Address
AL-MURTADHA, Asma Arulanandam Group / PhD Student A.A.A.Al-Murtadha@sms.ed.ac.uk
AMIN, Priya Hardwick Group / PhD Student s1540601@sms.ed.ac.uk
ANSELM, Eduard Heun Lab / PhD Student s1475303@sms.ed.ac.uk
ARD, Ryan Allshire Group / PhD Student s1213495@sms.ed.ac.uk
BARREY, Evelyne Heun Lab / PhD Student s1475312@sms.ed.ac.uk
BARTON, Rachael Marston Group / PhD Student s0906496@sms.ed.ac.uk
BELTON, Christian Stancheva Group / PhD Student s1436757@sms.ed.ac.uk
BILLINGTON, Jamie Rosser Group / PhD Student J.A.Billington@sms.ed.ac.uk
CLOHISEY, Sara Ohkura Group / PhD Student s0976666@sms.ed.ac.uk
DEGTEV, Dmitrii Makovets Group / PhD Student D.Degtev@sms.ed.ac.uk
DIXON, Charles Schirmer Group / PhD Student C.Dixon-4@sms.ed.ac.uk
FITZ-JAMES, Maximilian Allshire Group / PhD Student M.H.Fitz-James@sms.ed.ac.uk
FITZPATRICK, Laura Bird Group / PhD Student s1581420@sms.ed.ac.uk
FOWLER, Emily Buonomo Group / PhD Student s1554182@sms.ed.ac.uk
GAUTUM, Amit Beggs Group / PhD Student s0968601@sms.ed.ac.uk
GUPTA, Tanmay Arulanandam Group / PhD Student s1227976@sms.ed.ac.uk
HEGIDE, Smitha Pilizota Lab / PhD Student s.s.hegde@sms.ed.ac.uk
IOSUB, Ira Granneman Group / PhD Student s1371288@sms.ed.ac.uk
IURCHENKO, Ielyzaveta Leach Group / PhD Student s1240443@sms.ed.ac.uk
JARAMILLO-RIVERI, Sebastian El Karoui Group / PhD Student S.I.Jaramillo-Riveri@sms.ed.ac.uk
JIMENEZ SANCHEZ, Ignacio Arulanandam Group / PhD Student I.Jimenez-Sanchez@sms.ed.ac.uk
KANIGOWSKA, Paulina Cai Lab / PhD Student s1008990@sms.ed.ac.uk
KAPITONOVA, Ekaterina Bayne Lab / PhD Student E.Kapitonova@sms.ed.ac.uk
KOTENKO, Oleksii Makovets Group / PhD Student o.kotenko@sms.ed.ac.uk
KRASNOPEEVA, Ekaterina Pilizota Lab / PhD Student s1437014@sms.ed.ac.uk
KYRIACOU, Eftychia Heun Lab / PhD Student s1475301@sms.ed.ac.uk
LE THANH, Phu Schirmer Group / PhD Student s1229181@sms.ed.ac.uk
LEGAL, Thibault Welburn Group / PhD Student s1332234@sms.ed.ac.uk
LEONTIOU, Ioanna Hardwick Group / PhD Student i.leontiou@sms.ed.ac.uk
MAKAROV, Alex Schirmer Group / PhD Student s1238926@sms.ed.ac.uk
MARYSHEV, Ivan Goryachev Group / PhD Student ivan.maryshev@ed.ac.uk
MAUDLIN, Isabella Beggs Group / PhD Student s0906076@sms.ed.ac.uk
MCGIBBON, Louise Gallagher Lab / PhD Student s0967595@sms.ed.ac.uk
MCKELLAR, Stuart Granneman Group / PhD Student s1025221@sms.ed.ac.uk
MIROLI, Dario Pilizota Lab / PhD Student d.miroli@sms.ed.ac.uk
MUTAVCHIEV, Delyan Sawin Group / PhD Student s0936560@sms.ed.ac.uk
NIKALAYEVICH, Elvira Ohkura Group / PhD Student s1038605@sms.ed.ac.uk
PALDI, Flora Marston Group / PhD Student s1136783@sms.ed.ac.uk
PAPINI, Diana Earnshaw Group / PhD Student s0919679@sms.ed.ac.uk
PATON, Katie Bird Group / PhD Student s1229422@sms.ed.ac.uk
PAVLOVIC, Lidija Earnshaw Group / PhD Student s1565829@sms.ed.ac.uk
PETERS, Rosie Tollervey Group / PhD Student R.Peters-2@sms.ed.ac.uk
REPTON, Charlotte Ohkura Group / PhD Student C.H.Repton@sms.ed.ac.uk
RODRIGUEZ RODRIGUEZ, Ana Isabel Sawin Group / PhD Student s1583529@sms.ed.ac.uk
RUPPERT, Jan Earnshaw Group / PhD Student s1475455@sms.ed.ac.uk
SAIZ ROS, Natalia Schirmer Group / PhD Student s1271219@sms.ed.ac.uk
SCHADE, Georg Heun Lab / PhD Student s1475302@sms.ed.ac.uk
SILVA, Pedro Ohkura Group / PhD Student P.M.B.Silva@sms.ed.ac.uk
SINGH, Puneet Allshire Group / PhD Student s1373169@sms.ed.ac.uk
SIVAKUMAR, Aishwarya Schirmer Group / PhD Student A.Sivakumar@sms.ed.ac.uk
SPILLER, Frances Arulanandam Group / PhD Student s1432700@sms.ed.ac.uk
STANEVA, Desislava Allshire Group / PhD Student D.Staneva@sms.ed.ac.uk
STANLEY, Jonathan Gallagher Lab / PhD Student s1066398@sms.ed.ac.uk
SUKHAREUSKI, Andrei Makovets Group / PhD Student A.Sukhareuski@sms.ed.ac.uk
TERRADOT, Guillaume Pilizota Lab / PhD Student G.P.A.Terradot@sms.ed.ac.uk
TILLOTSON, Rebekah Stancheva Group / PhD Student s0700048@sms.ed.ac.uk
TODD, Hamish Goryachev Group / PhD Student s1560142@sms.ed.ac.uk
TORRES-GARCIA, Jesus Allshire Group / PhD Student J.Torres-Garcia@sms.ed.ac.uk
UBIDE, Alba Cai Lab / PhD Student s1374343@sms.ed.ac.uk
VISENTIN, Silvia PhD Student S.Visentin@sms.ed.ac.uk
WARBURTON, Marie Voigt Lab / PhD Student m.f.warburton@sms.ed.ac.uk
WICAKSONO, Britanto Stancheva Group / PhD Student B.D.Wicaksono@sms.ed.ac.uk
YASMIN, Tahirah Leach Group / PhD Student T.Yasmin@sms.ed.ac.uk
ZAOUI, Xavier El Karoui Group / PhD Student s1540307@sms.ed.ac.uk
ZHITENEVA, Alisa Earnshaw Group / PhD Student s1159674@sms.ed.ac.uk