Related links

Universitas 21 joint PhD programme

Edinburgh is set to launch a jointly-awarded PhD programme with 13 of the world's leading universities.

Universitas 21 group

Universitas 21 Annual Presidents' Meeting and AGM, Korea, May 2009.

Principal Professor Sir Timothy O'Shea signed a memorandum of understanding in Seoul in May 2009 pledging to set up the programme.

Other universities which will take part in the programme are:

Professor Sir Timothy O'Shea signing memorandum

Professor Sir Timothy O'Shea signs the memorandum of understanding.

  • University of Auckland
  • University of Birmingham
  • University of British Columbia
  • University of Delhi
  • University of Glasgow
  • University of Hong Kong
  • University of Melbourne
  • University of Nottingham
  • University of Queensland
  • University of Virginia
  • University College Dublin
  • Korea University
  • McGill University

The memorandum calls for the universities to increase research collaboration through jointly-awarded PhD programmes.

The scheme will help Edinburgh attract high quality postgraduate researchers from anywhere in the world, to train as researchers here and at one of the partner institutions.

Accessibility menu